We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for a little more than a week and loved the room, the grounds, the restaurant and the staff. The views were incredible as well. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel for our Mal Pais vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    64
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
279
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Moana lodge in mid December of 2013. What a great find! We stayed in one of the lower rooms, but after being there if you can, absolutely get one of the suites located above the trees, the view is unbelievable. Lucky for us they designed the lodge so everyone has an opportunity to catch this view from the restaurant. The staff is very nice and helpful, the breakfast and dinner views are unbeatable, and we had a great stay at Moana lodge. Also if you get the chance the hidden beach south of the hotel is awesome, tucked away behind the big rock you can see on the left from the restaurant. There is a fantastic tidepool there and nice quiet laid back spot to chill. They do have a couple of naughty dogs that were sort of mascots, that had a habit of barking at night, but other than that the place was great.

Oh, and Bruno... we never could get the hot tub to work but the pool and the hanging beds were awesome.
Cheers
Russ & Karen

Room Tip: Go high for the fantastic view, i think the dogs would be less noticeable up there too....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My partner and I just came back from the most amazing holiday in Costa Rica. We've managed to see the almost the whole part of Pacific coast, traveling mostly by car and a bit by plane. We stayed at 5 hotels in total and Moana was one of them. This lodge is a little heaven in wild Costa Rica! We had junior suite and were wowed by the room design and unbelievable view! The whole lodge is built on a steep hill so there are many steps but little exercise never hurt anyone plus it's soo worth it. I would definitely recommend one of the junior suites on the top as they have the best view of the sea. Mal Pais is a charming little town with gorgeous beach St Teresa just 5min drive from Moana lodge. Although it's best to visit the beach in the early morning with low tide. Also Montezuma is very close, (took us 20min by car) if you feel like exploring a bit more. The staff is super friendly and helpful, food is excellent, wifi is working perfectly in the lounge/restaurant area. Manager Bruno was one of the nicest guys we met on our travel trough CR and he made us feel right at home. We would definitely be coming back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent experience!!!
beautiful hotel, pool, room's and a very good restaurant where you can take the breakfast.. dinner... or just a drink in the sunset!
the staff are very kind!!!
Very good energy... to stay in vacations in Malpais/ Santa teresa!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

After two weeks travelling we chose Moana Lodge for a restful stay prior to returning to San Jose, and Moana Lodge was a great choice.I had first heard of Moana Lodge on the "Amatuer Traveller" podcast about Costa Rica and they gave a positive review so that was a good reason for us to choose Moana Lodge.We had the standard rooms and they were very clean and comfortable,in a great setting and all for a fair price. As other reviews have mentioned it is on a hillside with with stairs to negotiate, but it shouldn't be a problem for anyone with a reasonable level of finess.Besidses you wouldn't get to eat the beautiful meals and experience the sensational view from the Papaya restaurant without a little effort. The pool area is also lovely and relaxing as well. A special mention to Bruno and the staff who were all very helpfull and easy to get on with. All in all a great place to stay in Mal Pais.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Moana Lodge is beautiful. The hotel is on a hillside with spectacular views. They seem to have taken the natural landscape into account with the construction of the lodge, so it feels like you're a part of the jungle.

The staff is super friendly and they made us feel right at home. Plus, the food and drinks at Papaya are fantastic. Definitely stay at Moana. You won't regret it. Pura vida!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Moana Lodge. The hotel was clean, the rooms were beautifully decorated, the hotel was surrounded by lots of greenery and the staff was always very helpful when I needed anything or had questions. Actually, I'd say they went out of there way to be helpful. The location was perfect for what I was looking for (close to my friends wedding, close to the beach and only a 15 minute walk along the beach to get to town). The internet connection was better than I thought it would be which is pretty important because I needed to check in with the office and I was able to make Skype calls without any problems. One night I lounged by the pool in only a bathing suit from just before sunset until an hour after sunset without even one mosquito bit. Usually I'm the first person to get bitten so I was happily surprised. I'm not sure if it is like this all year round but it was nice to have it while I was there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScissorBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Property: Hotel Moana
Address: Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing