We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Mal Pais, Costa Rica was the PERFECT vacation spot and Moana Lodge was the perfect place to stay! The areas has a great mix of activities for those who like to be adventurous but wonderful, secluded beaches for those who just want to relax.

The Moana Lodge would be perfect for a family reunion or a group of friends. The eight rooms/suites ensured a quaint atmosphere and was private enough to enjoy. We were there right before they planned to add the additional suites and restaurant the following year.

We stayed in the Deluxe Leopard room which was just perfect! At times, we could open our windows and see the monkeys above. Breakfast provided an opportunity to chat with other guests. The pool was a great spot to spend the mornings/evenings after returning from your day of activities. You can rent a quad directly from Moana, which we did for the week. Although dusty at times, it was much easier than renting a car and navigating the horrendous roads.

Aidan and Vicki have great recommendations on beaches, restaurants, and anything else that might interest you. They will arrange anything you’d like (fishing, surfing lessons, tours, taxis to the airport (airport is a stretch; landing strip is more like it).

It is definitely worth taking Aidan’s quad tour. He has great knowledge of the peninsula and provides “insider’s” insight throughout the afternoon. The waterfalls are beautiful and worth the trek. Be sure to wear more than flip flops because the rocks can be hard to navigate once your flops are wet.

Fishing was fun and afterwards the guide fillets the fish and wraps them up for you to take home. Surfing lessons from Elery were helpful but a beginner can get tired before the lesson is even over.

We took the quad over to the nature reserve for a hike. We spotted numerous butterflies and birds and a few monkeys. Ironically, when we arrived back at Moana that afternoon there were more monkeys outside our room window than what we saw at the reserve.

Horseback riding was a treat. They actually let you run the horses but be sure you are honest about your riding abilities or you’ll end up on a racer who will scare the wits out of you.

Be sure to take enough cash if possible. The bank can be a nightmare – long lines and tons of paperwork. Moana will pay for all your activities and allow you to pay them directly which is great but you can’t charge it to a credit card as you do your room.

There was a variety of food in the area – from pizza to fresh caught seafood. The soda across the street is delicious but come knowing basic Spanish or you might be out of luck. Most restaurants have an English/Spanish menu so even the novice can navigate.

We have fond memories of this vacation and it has become one of our favorites. Unfortunately, future vacations have been compared to Costa Rica and many have not met the mark. The hospitality and care provided to us at Moana Lodge will always be remembered and we hope others have the opportunity to enjoy its riches.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallieDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Owner at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2009

After almost a year of being closed I just wanted to say how pleased we were to read your recent review and reading that you had a great holiday spent here with us. We always aim to provide our guests with the holiday they wanted so it’s very rewarding when people leave with happy memories.
It was a tough decision to close for a year but we felt it was the only choice. Were finally back open, with new ocean view rooms and a new restaurant. So we hope to see you back soon so you can check out the new upgrades.
Again Id like to thank everyone for taking the time to write reviews, this means a lot to us, as it keeps us on our toes and shows that the hard work we put in is appreciated.
Gracias, Moana Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

we had a wonderful time at moana - totally recommend it. aiden and vicky (the owners) are very sweet and helpful. me and my girlfriend got a stomach bug that was going around - and vicky made us some chicken soup when we felt that we could keep something down. they also arranged some very fun activities - our favorite being the ziplining through the rain forest - and atvs to get around. they also recommended places to eat - Mary's is not to be missed.

our rooms were very comfortable and nice. well done with an african theme. the first two nights we were there - we had a standard room. very comfortable with a queen bed and a single bed. the last two nights we stayed in one of their larger rooms - with a king sized and twin bed - and a porch with a hammock. very nice!!

the only down side to moana is that it is a little far from the beach - about a 20 min walk to playa carmen. you can get to the coast in about 5 min - but not a great place to lay out or swim - more of a rocky coastline/pretty view. also, playa carmen/santa teresa is where a lot of the restaurants and shops are.

we loved mal pais and thought it was so amazing/relaxing that we went back 7 months later - unfortunately moana was closed for some renovations/additions - but aiden was helpful in suggesting other places for us to stay!

we would love to go back and stay at moana again. we had an amazing time there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losangelesjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

In fairness to a fellow irish man ( pity he's a Leinster man and not a Munster man) , AIdan and Vicki have found a special hide-away resort that will blow you away once you arrive. You always want to have that get away from it all holiday and find that special place , then luck no further . This place has it all if you want , the rooms are perfect in the forest setting . There's a real African feel and the howling Monkeys add to this every morning. The staff are excellent , friendly and always there if you need something or help with anything. The communal breakfast idea is perfect to get to know the other guests and of course there's the pool. The sorrunding area is perfect with really nice resturants and of course the perfect beaches which are only five minutes walk. There's also lots of activities in the area especailly great to get that canopy tour.It was our first time in CR and we had a 3 week plan to travel and get to see as much as possilbe. We booked here for 3 nights with connections onwards but had to re-arrange everything once I got here. So we ended up spending 7 nights here and then we had to leave. Now being back at home in the doom and gloomy weather and recession.I think of Mal Pais and where I stayed which made this a holiday not to forget , and yes I will be going back there for at least a two week stay soon as I can. Can't wait to hang around the new hill-top bar every evening having a few with the sun set going down.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

congrats to Vicky and Aidan!!!! new bambino coming!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ire-travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Stayed here in Dec to Jan 09 for relaxing start to a honeymoon. Everyone made us feel so welcome and nothing was overlooked or out of place. Credit given to the owners who have and are still working hard to further improve facilities here in the lush cool settings 200 yards from the nearest cove.

We spent weeks here and hence saw the staff dealing with helping out the guests across a longer period of time. As it's developing slightly we are sure this place will get to be a real gem. Great memories of the times here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarknCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Moana Lodge. The Hotel owners were very friendly and welcoming. We found the Hotel to be very peaceful and quiet...exactly what we were looking for. There are only 7 rooms on the property and a nice pool which was kept very clean.

The breakfasts that were cooked every morning were great. its sort of a group breakfast (at least it seemed that way when we were there) which I enjoyed. It allowed us to chat with others hotel guests as well as the hotel staff.

I would highly recommend the Moana for anyone staying in the Mal Pias area. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive or less into town.

In my opinion the hotel seemed to be appropriately priced for the amenities and location.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jwoolfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Great place to stay... as all the reviews state before me!!

We stayed 5 night at Moana Lodge over Christmas and really enjoyed our visit. Aiden is helpful, friendly and keen to make sure that you enjoy your stay at the lodge. Aiden and his wife Vicky organised drinks for all the guests on Christmas day evening was a really thoughtful extra.

The rooms are extremely clean and atmospheric with the African theme as a tasteful addition. The breakfasts were really great and different every day. Nothing to complain about.

Some new rooms and a restuarant are currently being built that will give the Lodge some amazing views.

Great place - you won't be disappointed..

Stayed: December 2008
Thank katma_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing