We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable home base for adventures in Mal Pais”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
“Comfortable home base for adventures in Mal Pais”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed for 9 days at Moana in one of the standard rooms. They are lower on the hillside, so don't have an ocean view, but were great for us as we were only in the room at night to sleep. There are great views to be had from the bigger rooms further up the hillside and from the restaurant patio. The room was very comfortable with A/C and a nice front porch. The pool and grounds are meticulously maintained, a natural part of the local environment and beautiful. Aidan and Vicky were quick to respond to any questions or requests we had and we enjoyed chatting with Aidan in the evening at the restaurant's bar. We rented a Quad ATV for the week to get around and it turned out to be a really fun part of our trip. Aidan set up surf lessons, a snorkeling tour to Isla Tortuga, the quad rental and made great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The 4 wheel drive road from Mal Pais to Cabuya was really fun, scenic and a great way to get to Montezuma or the entrance to the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve. The complimentary coffee and breakfasts for guests were really good. We ate breakfast at Moana everyday that we were there and had dinner there 3 times during our stay. The dinners were prepared fresh, visually appealing and very tasty. The lodge's location was perfect for us, as it is central to many adventure opportunities, close enough to make Santa Teresa very accessible, but not close enough to be disturbed by the noisy nightlife. We highly recommend Moana to anyone and plan to go back soon ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucegreen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    64
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
275
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was a very wonderful and different experience. The lodge was surrounded by natural beauty. Rooms were wonderfully decorated and clean. The restaurant was excellent (we are in the restaurant business and picky eaters) and we could not find fault in any of the meals we ate. We stayed at the lodge for two nights and ate at the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. Food was great and service was good. Aidan (the owner) was very friendly and pleasant to deal with. The views from the restaurant were quite beautiful. We would definitely go back for more!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The best nights sleep I had in months, the room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It is well worth the walk up to the restaurant to see the sun set in the evening; breathtaking views, and the staff were so friendly and accommodating . The food was delicious and the mojitos were outstanding. The beach is only a short walk across the road and there are all kinds of beautiful birds, flowers, and animals everywhere. I loved it. I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katalyst_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

This hotel is excellent. If you can afford it, I strongly recommend you to stay in the honeymoon suite. The room is fantastic and the views amazing.

We had to move to a deluxe room after night one as the honeymoon suite was already booked. Deluxe rooms are very nice too although without the view!

The food in the restaurant was excellent too.

Hotel will organize trips and taxis for you although you pay a little more for the convenience.

Beach is a short walk away and it's a charming walk along the beach into town. Pool area is great too with wildlife to observe from your lounger.

Heartily recommend although come prepared to climb lots of steps although the view and sunsets are worth it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This was our fourth time in CR, and the second time in Malpais, lodging at the Moana Lodge.

Indeed, Malpais is famous because of its beaches and surfers...but moreover, Malpais is different because people and nature are simply living in harmony. Joy and peace are part of their DNA and so you are more than welcome to be “contaminated”.

Aiden and Vicky, owners of the Moana Lodge, have elected domicile in Malpais years ago and became passionate about sharing their discovery with excellence and style.

Luxury is not a matter of abundance and ostentation. Luxury is a matter of exclusivity and simplicity. This not in the reach of everyone to experiment at this level. But fortunately, it is more than affordable to lodge at the Moana Lodge.

Passion is never ending for the Moana Lodge: they have now two Junior Suites, a Master Suite, and a first class Restaurant with an astonishing view to the ocean.

Thank you Aiden, Vicky, Ruth and all your team and staff.

Hasta la proxima !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Without doubt this is one of the best places I have ever stayed on my many travels throughout the world. The rooms are exquisite, the pool and jacuzzi are beautiful, the food is delicious (my mouth waters as I think about it) and the views…well they will blow you away and I swear you won’t see sunsets like you do here anywhere else – best in town without a doubt. Vicky and Aidan are made to be hosts. They have great recommendations on the local area, can hook you up with trusted guides for just about anything you want to do and make you feel like you’re a family member staying at their home. The hotel is such a stylish, comfortable, oasis of calm that you’ll be left thinking you should stay there for your full trip in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisbashbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Moana Lodge is amazing; the owners, Aidan & Vicky, treated us like family and the staff was so friendly and warm. Everyone was so accomodating and helped us with anything we needed. The property is serene, gorgeous, secluded, and has incredible views from the suites and the restaurant. The restaurant serves fabulous food, and the best mojitos we've ever had. It's located just across the road from a beautiful pebble beach, where we watched many sunsets. The sandy beaches of Playa Carmen are just a short fifteen-minute walk away, but you hardly notice the time because there is so much to look at walking along the shore. We will definitely return to Moana Lodge in the future. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charitypoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Property: Hotel Moana
Address: Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing