We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vista de Olas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel The Place(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Jay Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moana(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ritmo Tropical(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$415
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Brisas(Punta Arenas)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasis(Mal Pais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tioga(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamar Aparthotel(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
444
53
13
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
53
13
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatv tourswim up barinfinity poolzip liningliving socialthe ownersalad baropen to the publicbbq dinnercosta ricaevery morningin townlaid backoutdoor showertwo sonsmontezuma waterfallsour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Vista de Olas was a wonderful place to enjoy beautiful Mal Pais! The Villas are beautiful and air conditioned! Loved the half outdoor bathroom! The entire staff starting with Willie making us a wonderful breakfast every morning to the nighttime restaurant/bar staff were great! The man that owns the place,Roger, was a real cool, laid back guy who anyone would be glad to get to know. He took care of any of our requests and helped us plan some fun adventures for the trip. His two sons were friendly and helpful also! The infinity pool boasted a view that might be the best I've ever seen! especially at sunset! Mal Pais is a small extremely laid back town that revolves around surfing. Good waves every day and different spots that weren't crowded! The whole vacation was Pura Vida! We will definitely be going back if not next year very soon with friends!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimrod2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Bar none this is the best property I have stayed at in Costa Rica. Roger and his crew provide a very relaxed atmosphere with excellent food and drink. The pictures located on the Hotel Vista De Olas website are true to form and actually exceeded our expectations. We also stayed at Los Suenos Resort in Herradura which is apparently the nicest property in all of Costa Rica which had great service for a 5 star property, but, we enjoyed the Mal Pais area and Hotel Vista De Olas was our favorite... We would definitely go back! ! Paul and Karen

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontaraSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We hung out at Vista de Olas with Roger, the owner. He was awesome, the place was awesome, the view is out of this world. The food was great. We stumbled on the place and I was literally grinning from ear to ear the entire time I was there. It's the only place in Mal Pais where you can see all the surf breaks and you can do so swimming in an infiniti pool with a beer!

If you're in Mal Pais and you don't go for the sunset, you've blown it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nedirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The owner and his staff are exceptionally friendly and will go out of their way to make your trip to Costa Rica a fabulous experience. The air conditioned rooms in each villa are quite large and the beds are very comfortable. Complimentary and very delicious breakfasts are served poolside every morning. Watching the sunsets from the infinity pool every evening is a must. Lunch and dinner are available, if desired. The views are so amazing that tourists staying at other places in Mal Pais hear about this paradise and arrive for drinks and/or dinner to be able to enjoy its ambiance. Downtown Mal Pais is close by for shopping as is Playa de Carmen for great surfing. Other fun activities to choose from are: zipline through the rain forest, horseback ride on the beach, ride in a sailboat, or fish.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewrightsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Spent just a few days in Mal Pais in January, and this was the highlight of the trip. The property is run by a very welcoming family who has worked tirelessly to ensure every guest has a fantastic experience. The accommodations are very nice, but the true highlight is the pool, restaurant, and bar area. You will experience first class service in an environment that will make you want to spend more and more time in Costa Rica.

Set on a hillside just above the beach, this is a truly amazing location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljones787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews