We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver
2 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Costa Rica. We spent our first five nights at Hotel Vista de Olas. The pool has a gorgeous view of the city and of the sunset. The staff and owner is also very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the beach as well. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are private and clean. Our only complaint about the hotel would be the food. Breakfast was not very good at all. My husband will practically eat anything, but not even he liked the food! Also, in the evening the open the hotel pool to the public. This didn't bother us at all, but it can tend to become pretty noisy into the night time. We would certainly stay at this hotel again! *Also, we rented a car and I would highly recommend this. The beach is a pretty long walk from the hotel and it was pretty hot. We were also able to drive to nearby restaurants which was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    48
    11
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
337
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay! No only is it beautiful, but the owner, his family and workers make everyone feel especially welcome. The personal attention and attitude of everyone made you feel right at home.

Room Tip: Villas 3, 4 & 5 have great views, but I like 4 & 5 best because of the proximity to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have travelled the world and can easily say that this hotel is the most breathtaking and tranquil hotel I have ever stayed in. The entire staff, from owners Roger and Heidi, their sons Mike and Sven, the bar/wait staff, cooks, and housekeeping staff are some of the friendliest, kindest, and most genuine people I have ever met. They are always available with a helping hand, travel advice, or just for some friendly conversation. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, and I am a very demanding traveller.

I am not sure what ever gave a previous commenter the negative impression of Roger as an "angry biker dude"--perhaps it was the fact that he has long hair, which is certainly not a crime. We also were living social guests, and were charged the same fees that were mentioned HOWEVER, I don't believe aany were "illegal" or "hidden." The living social voucher was clear that tax wasnt included and would be added at the time of the stay, and Roger was very up front about the credit card fee before we came--my limited impression of our time in Costa Rica was that adding a fee for credit cards (where they are accepted, which wasn't as widely as we had thought) is somewhat common. Our experience was that Roger and Heidi were extremely up front and honest about everything, and we had a great time getting to know them and their staff.

Advice for people heading to vista de olas (which you should): rent a Quad from Roger. There is a lot to do in the area, and having a quad at your disposal will help You make the most of your stay. Also, make sure you bring some type of shoes that you can hike in if you plan on doing any of the non-beach excursions like zip lining or the quad tour. Make sure you always have some local currency when out and about because us currency or credit cards arent taken everywhere. Finally, make it a point to get to playa hermosillo while you're there--gorgeous.

Thanks for a fabulous week, Vista de Olas!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felixsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Vista de Olas is a wonderful place to stay and play.

The Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
Roger set up a day of deep sea fishing trip ,witch went great and caught lots of fish, the guild filet the fish for us and we bought the fish back to the resort and Roger help us cook them on the grill ! It was GOOD :)
The owner ( Roger ) was very accommodating and professional with the all the guest ,
what ever we need Roger made it happen.
You can do as much as you wanted or relax in the pool and have a drink.
Roger suggest we try suffering, an other great idea, so the wife and I did the surfing lesson and had blast. Not to forget Zip lining to or 4 wheeling as well. ( Good times )
It was a great experiences and would recommended to any one..
Went in to town for a day share with store owners were we where staying and they Knew the place very well and only had good things to say about Hotel Vista de Olas.
Rooms were clean and very nice to stay in.
Great place to to stay and meet great people and make great memories !

Mark and Elley
PS Thanks Roger for every thing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beware the owner, he is an angry biker dude who generally hates the living social deal (says it screws him) and all those who come on it (don't ask me why he does it then). The resort is very nice, small, remote with a beautiful sunset view. That being said its quite a haul to get there from the US (3 hours after arriving in Costa Rica). But all that would be forgivable if this guy was not such a jerk. The whole staff is laid back and nice but generally avoid him and at check out he tries to extort you for extra money by charging sales tax, not on the package price but on the theoretical retail value (which adds up to a few hundred extra $) plus a hidden 7% extra on all credit card charges. He creates the final bill somewhat arbitrarily but thats because he admits to being too "messed up" from pot and drinking to add straight. This might be funny under different circumstances but in this case it leaves guests with a 20% surcharge as they are walking out. Maybe honeymooners dont mind this or notice it because of the view and their bliss, but most couples will be seriously ticked off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cocoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went for our honeymoon and had an amazing time!! We were welcomed in as if we were part of Roger's family, but had the privacy of our own villa.
No details were spared, and the accommodations were superb. Everything was just as the pictures promised. Roger (owner) was great about scheduling all of the activities we wanted to do for us, including transportation. Roger and his staff were always available for recommendations and whatever we needed!
We can't wait to come back and visit, wouldn't ever stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My girlfriend and I purchased the Living Social "Adventure Package," and we loved our six nights at the Vista. To start, Malpais/Santa Teresa itself is certainly off the beaten path. We flew in to Liberia, drove to Arenal for a night, then made the drive down to Malpais. If you choose this route, be ready for the final stretch (about 90 kilometers) of very bumpy, dirt and rock roads. Another (seemingly preferred) option is to fly down from San Jose to Tambor (no direct flights from Liberia to Tambor). Once you get there, the hotel itself is great. Roger, his family and the staff feel like friends by the end of the trip; however, they maintain a degree of professionalism such that anything you want or need is just a request away (do yourself a favor and ask Ty or Dustin to make you a blended fruit drink). The activities (ATVing, horseback riding, ziplining, diving from waterfalls) were quintessentially Costa Rica. The staff know EVERYTHING there is to do and see in the area and will take care of all reservations... couldn't be easier. The pool is gorgeous, and the sunset views have to be amongst the best in Costa.

The extreme minority of average to negative reviews seem to bemoan the lack of modern and resort-like amenities. No, there are no TV's in the villas, and no, the Vista is not the Peninsula. The villas are, however, extremely spacious, clean and comfortable, and if you're on vacation to watch TV, this probably isn't the right place for you anyway! There is wifi in the main area for those news and sports junkies. Thanks again to the whole gang for making it a great trip. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing