We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week here in mid November. It was perfect. Roger picked us up from the airport got us set up in our villa. The whole experience was stress-free. Roger is a really interesting guy with great stories. He makes you feel like you're staying with your cool, rich uncle.

The location is amazing. There was only one day I did not make it back to the swim-up bar in the infinity pool for the 4 pm happy hour/sunset viewing. All the views are stunning. The bartenders are great and the guests are all pretty cool and fun. We did a ton of surfing and atv-ing. Great trip!

Room Tip: All are similar - private villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Caballero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for everything and hope to see you soon. Regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

Vista de Olas was wonderful. My husband and I stayed for 6 days at the very beginning of the season (in early November). We basically had the place to ourselves. Our villa was clean and private and had an indoor shower as well as the outdoor shower. There was even a little kitchenette. The resort is high up on the hill so you get great views of the ocean and a nice breeze. Roger and his family were very sweet. His son took us on the quad tour around the jungle and was very knowledgable.

The whole town was so pleasant, too. Lots of little shops and restaurants to go to. Even a tattoo shop where I got some ink! Definitely rent a quad to get around because it allows you to fit in more fun stuff, like ziplining, kayaking, swimming, fishing, horseback riding, etc. Pretty much all of those activities can be arranged through the resort, too.

I can't wait to come back and bring the kids. Oh, one last thing. Shake out your clothes before you put them on because I put my pants on with a scorpion inside and it stung me!! Yikes! It wasn't poisonous so it was more of a good vacation story than a life threatening event. :)

Room Tip: Villa #1 is shortest walk to the driveway/front of the resort, but it's still very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for writing a review for us. It was a pleasure meeting you guys and hope to meet your kids soon. Take care. Regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic time in Costa Rica, and a lot of that has to do with Roger and the entire Vista de Olas staff. They made us feel like an extension to their family and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. It truly felt like we were staying at my cool uncle Roger's house the entire time we were there. The Villa was awesome and the pool and view were absolutely stunning. We found the place via a LivingSocial deal and the value we got was great. I read one review that said the owner's didn't like the customers who came via LivingSocial. I can tell you this is definitely NOT the case.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa # 2, which was a good size and has an awesome, unobstructed view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thanks guys for everything it was really nice to of meet you guys. My house is your house any time.
Hope to see you guys down here with our kids. Also thanks for the help with the wifi. Regards the Vista team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed from 11/1 until 11/5/12 at vista de olas. The villas are awesome, the view is breathtaking, the pool was fantastic and the cuisine, as well as the staff, couldn't have been better! Roger and Heidi have created an fabulous atmosphere and are such nice people. We will definitely be back! Highly recommend vista de olas!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKLillethun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DodgerMalPais, Owner at Hotel Vista de Olas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

All of us from the Vista team just want to say Thank you for everything. Stay the way you are and we wish you lots of luck and Love on the new path your on. best regards the Vista Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. There are only 5 villas so the place is very private and peaceful. The bar/pool is open to the public after 4pm. This didn't bother us but is something to consider (I think most hotels around the area have this). Kristen was running the place (owners were on vacation) and she was absolutely wonderful. Would help us with the numerous questions we had (probably asked her 10 questions everytime we saw her). The view is breathtaking. The dinner involves you picking your meat and grilling it yourself on the grill. My boyfriend and I loved this but if you want to be served they don't do that for dinner. The breakfast is included and was generally eggs/rice/beans and fruit but we also had french toast. The cook in the morning is great.

The rooms are fantastic. They clean them every day, The open air bathroom was a new experience and we both loved it.

There IS a surcharge if you use a Visa card. We went into town and pulled out cash to pay. This saved us about $200. You can pay in either colones or American dollars.

The hotel is set apart from the "town" which was really nice. You could take a taxi (about 3000 colones or $6) or easily walk this to town. Beach access was easy but this place is NOT on the beach.

We both would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjrose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Vista de Olas is truly spectacular! Roger, his family, and staff treated us wonderfully during our stay. We were there for our honeymoon and our experience was amazing. We loved our villa, the food, and the unbelievable view from the pool! Mal Pais is beautiful and captivating; the people are incredibly friendly; and our visit was extraordinary. Thank you!! Dawn and Jim

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyorangedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was my first time to Costa Rica and had no idea how remote we would be. It was super cool finding your way around, but first time visitors should keep this in mind.
Hotel Vista deOlas is a small family run resort that is breathtakingly beautiful. Up on a hill with an infinity pool... you never get tired of sitting outside looking at the ocean. Because you are up on the hill, you can't really go for a walk. We rented ATV's and had the time of our life. You can also rent a car or have the staff call a taxi. But you will need some kind of transportation so you can go exploring.
The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. It would have been easier if the gal making breakfast spoke some English, but we managed.
Our group stayed in Villa 1, 2, and 3.
1 & 3 had outdoor bathrooms. Completely private and I loved it but maybe not for everyone.
Villa 2 had an indoor bathroom with an additional outdoor shower.
Villa 3 had the best view (of the three) but lacked a counter to spread out your stuff. The fact that they are all slightly different is super cool.
Overall, the was the most relaxing vacation I can remember. I will definatley go back. Until then, I have a photo of the view from the pool as my computer desktop... : )

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: £126 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing