We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough good things!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vista de Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Can't say enough good things!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at Vista de Olas last week (March 3-8, 2014). It was like heaven! Wish we were still there enjoying the beautiful ocean vistas from the infinity pool while sipping a drink made by TJ and enjoying dinner served out in the open fresh air under the moonlight. Roger, Heidi and their staff were awesome. We never wanted for anything. They definitely have the gift of hospitality, always have smiles on their faces and are always looking for ways to make our stay more enjoyable. We brought back brochures to give to all our friends! Having our own private villa was awesome! The cleaning staff kept it immaculate. The outdoor shower was a wonderful and unique experience. Where else can you shower while gazing up at a sky full of stars?

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #5 and can highly recommend it. Some friends we met showed us their villa, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    47
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
34
336
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Vista de Olas is certainly one of the best options for lodging in the Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area. There are tons of hotels, and most of them aren't worth mentioning. At Vista de Olas you get top notch service, and all of the staff works incredibly hard to ensure all the guests are taken care of. The pool and rooms are amazing, all with great views and the sunsets alone are worth a visit. The breakfast was always a nice touch (consisted of toast, fruit, drinks, and one dish - usually eggs), and the morning staff is always extra friendly. The fruit was always fresh.

My tips: Rent an ATV from Roger. They are cheaper the best way to get around town.
While sunsets are spectacular from the pool area, make sure to enjoy it during the morning and early afternoon hours. That is about the only time that you will have some privacy at the pool.
The beach at Cabo Blanco is a must see during low tide. You can walk out to some coral, and it is several hundred meters from shore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I went to Vista de Olas for our honeymoon in 2013. We loved it so much that we came back for our 1 year wedding anniversary and brought two friends. The staff was amazing, as always. Diego's breakfasts every morning were delicious!!! Everyone that works at Vista de Olas is wonderful. They make you feel like you're family there. The villas are beautiful and the views, breathtaking. Roger and his family have done an amazing job building this place. When we return to Costa Rica, which hopefully wont be long, there is no question where we will choose to stay. Thanks again Roger!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a fun and relaxing time during our stay! The owner Roger, his fam and staff were all great- super friendly and helpful. That pool was our favorite! It has such an amazing view- we enjoyed the swim up bar & pina colodas every day watching the sunset. The food was amazing! We tried the rib eye, bacon wrapped filet and fish as well as the salad bar - all delicious! We also had breakfast there every morning- all soo good! We really enjoyed the feel of the small resort- in the mornings it was really quiet and peaceful - we would drink our coffee, relax and take in the gorgeous view. In the afternoon, the resort then opened up to the tourists for happy hour which was fun. We stayed in Villa 1- which was convenient, being the first villa off the path- and was still very quiet! Roger and his fam made it very easy when scheduling/arranging our excursions, etc- We did ziplining and the ATV tour/waterfalls and massages - all I highly recommend! It was alot of walking when exploring outside of the resort- and alot of uphill (especially walking back up to the resort). The beach was about a 10-15 minute walk from the resort which wasn't too bad. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My daughter lived in coaster Rica for two years so I got to make many visits. A friend of hers took us to Vista de olas in Mal pais for drinks and dinner one night. I have been back three times. It is a clean and safe place to stay. The staff waits on you hand and foot. Roger and Heidi who are the owners are delightful. It is the best place I have ever been, and it has the most beautiful sunset you have ever seen. The staff waits on you hand and foot. You never have to ask twice for a drink. They even walk you to your room if you have had too much to drink. It is a beautiful place. It is clean it is safe. We already have our reservations booked for next year. Go. You will not be disappointed !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyaharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Vista de Olas was an amazing experience. The hospitality and friendliness of Roger and Heidi, their awesome sons, and a caring staff only contributed to the beauty of the resort. They went out of their way to make sure we got to experience all Mal Pais had to offer (horseback riding, ATVs, waterfalls, ziplining, etc). And the view of the sunset from the resort pool was one of the most spectacular sights I've seen. Our villa was beautiful, clean, and spacious with good AC. Admittedly, I was not looking forward to the outside showers (although private), but showering under the beautiful night sky full of so many stars was something I will never forget. Absolutely amazing. The entire experience was wonderful, ...except....maybe the driveway. It can be a bit of a challenge to get up to the top if you're not in a 4WD vehicle. But to end on a high note, the morning chef, Diego, made the best breakfast potatoes I've ever eaten in my life.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Vista was above any expectations I could have ever had.
We booked with a coupon from " Living Social" so I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into.
The setting is so beautiful you can't put it into words.
The staff was so kind, friendly, caring and helpful with the surrounding area spots to visit.

I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There are only 5 villas and we stayed in Villa #2, Roger gave us the history of this location and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Property: Hotel Vista de Olas
Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing