We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Visa de Olas. The highlight was of course the views from the restaurant and pool, from where we watched a beautiful sunset every night while sipping delicious cocktails. The pool was well maintained, the breakfasts were varied and tasty, and the BBQ dinner was also very good. Our villa (#1) was well kept, though some of the others may have better views. We enjoyed every one of the activities during the week including the canopy tour, fishing and the ATV tour to Montezuma Falls. The only downside might be the distance of the hotel from a nice beach - for which one will need a taxi or ATV to get to, but otherwise it was a great vacation. A big thanks to everyone at Vista De Olas!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabizukiHana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Vista de Olas for 7 days and it was a wonderful trip. The property itself is beautiful and intimate with those incredible views. Excellent drinks and BBQ steaks for dinner. 3 friendly dogs and a cat that periodically came to visit our room. We rented an ATV and drove all over the lower peninsula. Montezuma is particularly fun to visit. Very funky with beautiful beaches. This is not rain forest country. The landscape is dry forest and when not raining it is very dusty but nothing you can't handle. The nearest town Santa Teresa has many restaurants. Two we liked were Habanero and The Bakery. All in all a memorable trip and we would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: There actually was no room service or fitness Center but if there had been they would have been exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Let me start this off by saying that I never take the time to write hotel reviews - but Vista De Olas deserves one heck of a review. My boyfriend and I stayed there for 7 nights and had the most incredible time. Our villa, #4, was outstanding - very private with an incredible outdoor shower. We rented an ATV for the week (highly recommended) so that we could get back and forth to town on our own and it gave us the chance to explore the area. Roger and Heidi are great hosts - their sons gave us surfing lessons for a few days. We ate at Vista a couple of nights and it was delicious. Other than that we tried a new restaurant for lunch and for dinner every day - the food in the are is amazing! The hotel is very quiet early on in the day - you feel like you have the pool to yourself. At 3:00 it opens to the public and many people come for the breathtaking sunset views - it turns into a bit of a party for a couple hours - it's the perfect combination. Every days ends with the most beautiful views of the sunset. We couldn't have hoped for a more relaxing/romantic/adventurous vacation - it had it all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeashLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We absolutely loved Vista De Olas. The pool, the villas, the food and drinks, and the location were outstanding. Roger the owner, his sons and his staff were super friendly and excellent hosts. The service was great and the boys did a great job on the ATV tour, organizing the fishing trips and surfing lessons. One of our favorite things about staying at Vista De Olas was meeting the other guests & staff in the mornings and evenings by the pool to talk about or plan out our adventures, this really made it fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The drive up to Vista de Olas is horrible but it is worth it once you get there. The infinity pool has a swim up bar and there is a hot tub too. Staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good. You chose what you want to eat and then BBQ it yourself. Friends had rib eye steaks and said they were delicious, my chicken was good too. There is a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere as everyone watches the sunset, which is spectacular most days.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

First time to Costa Rica.. First time vacationing as an adult and I couldn't have imagined staying in any other place in CR. Breathtaking views, wonderful staff, and the most relaxing atmosphere. Loved the privacy of having only 5 villas during the day and after 4 is a party. We stayed week of 2/17/14 and weather was perfect! No bug bites. Wifi only available in restaurant/pool area so got to relax on the day bed and catch up on Netflix. Roger and Heidi were so wonderful in getting everything for us. They really want to make sure you're taken care of as well as the staff. They have a cat and 2 big dogs which didnt bother us at all.

Def rent an ATV, hotel sits on top of a steep dirt/rocky hill. Close to neighboring town Santa Teresa. Ziplining and guides were awesome. Waterfall tour was cool. Got to jump into the swimming hole. Be prepared to hike! I shouldve hit the gym at least once lol.

We are two extremely busy female friends in our early 20s with 2-3 jobs/school/a kid back home in the snowy Boston/merrimack valley and loved that Vista was our little piece of escape from life. It was like Heaven!! I can't wait to return sometime soon!!

P.S. Their sons and Diego were a lovely piece of eye candy and wonderful to talk to ;) which made our stay that much better. We loved their accents and could listen to them talk all day :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I travel twice a year, so we have a bit of experience (good & bad). This is one of the best experinces we have had. From the moment Swen picked us up at the Tambor Airport until he hugged me goodbye a week later, we felt like valued and respected members of the family. Mikey was a great tour guide and we loved that he took us to Chico's for lunch.
Our room was comfy and very clean. My husband groused about the lack of TV for about a minute... then didn't even notice there wasn't one. The outdoor shower was perfect. Diego's breakfasts were great, but his "Good Morning" and description of what he was preparing was delightful. John, TJ, Chrissie, tthe grounds keepers etc..were all welcoming, friendly, caring and respectful. We always felt safe and secure. With only 5 Villas, we were able to make friends with other guests. It was intimate and comfortable. Roger was athe perfect host.... the regular guy having you over for a weeklong stay. Would we go back? In a heartbeat!
Elaine & Phil W Worcester MA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mal Pais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: £126 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing