We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vista de Olas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Moana(Mal Pais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Jay Lodge(Mal Pais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oasis(Mal Pais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Place(Mal Pais)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas de Soleil(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
443
53
13
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
53
13
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatv tourswim up barinfinity poolzip liningliving socialthe ownersalad baropen to the publicbbq dinnercosta ricaevery morningin townlaid backoutdoor showertwo sonsmontezuma waterfallsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I definitely recommend this place to anyone interested in coming to Costa rica, the view is breathtaking, the service is unlike no other (I genuinely miss the staff) and the location couldn't have been better. Thank you Roger and the entire staff for a wonderful experience. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecastellanos26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away from the large crowded commercialized beach front resorts. We found exactly that at Vista De Olas. We arrived to find a private villa with a beautiful pool and amazing view of the ocean. The service was great, because the service of the hotel is provided by the owner, Roger, and his two boys. Don't let the intimate setting of the hotel scare you, this turned out to be one of the greatest features of the hotel, because we were able to get to know the staff personally at the hotel. They provided us with honest feedback and directed us in the right direction to have a great vacation. Vista De Olas offers an ATV tour that they place you with other vacationers at the hotel. This allowed us to meet people from other walks of life. It also added to the overall enjoyability of the stay at Vista De Olas, because we often visited with these other couples.

Room Tip: The hotel is located within a tropical rainforest. The rooms are very nice, but do not plan on spending much time in them. The best part of the trip is the activities to do around Mal Pais which the hotel is happy to arrange for you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad that I did this! My husband and I have always wanted to go Costa Rica, but were unsure where. We found a living social deal to this place. Best decision I've ever made about a vacation! This was better than our honeymoon to Mexico. The pool and the view overlooking the ocean is amazing. The staff were so wonderful and accommodating. We met so many people staying there and people around town. People were so friendly. Roger and his family were great at planning the excursions and doing the tours. I highly recommend the zip line canopy tour and ATV tour to Montezuma waterfalls. It was relaxing and an adventure in the same place. Mal Pais is not a huge American tourist destination like Cabo in Mexico, but that's what we loved about it. So if you are looking for an adventure and a place to relax in paradise, this is the place. If you worried about not being able to speak Spanish, no worries because most people can speak some English. You'll get around just fine. The only thing to prepare you is the airport tax when leaving the country and if you use a smaller airline like Sansa or nature air, there is also a small airport tax. Not a big deal though. Most places accept credit cards, but we found it easy to just exchange our money into colones. I miss vista de olas already! We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Everything about Vista de Olas is beautiful: from the luxury private villa with outdoor bathroom to the breathtaking views. The hotel offers numerous activities such as ATV rentals, waterfall tours, fishing and snorkeling excursions, evening community fiestas and zip-lining through nature reserves. Roger, the owner, along with his entire staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful ; they intend to make your stay peaceful and unforgettable...and they succeed!

Each morning a fresh breakfast is made near the pool, along with unlimited coffee and toast. The dining options were plentiful -- fresh fish, steak in ever variety, grilled chicken and salad made with local produce.

The villas are private, beautifully tiled with costal decor, fine bedding and a kitchen area.

While there are endless things my boyfriend and I will never forget about our stay, the views, infinity pool, and hospitality are among them. Our stay not only allowed us to spend time exploring the Mal Pais beaches and villages, but also gave us the opportunity to meet friendly people who travel to Vista de Olas from all over the world!

We were able to completely unwind, forget the time and take in every gorgeous moment at Vista de Olas.

We will definitely return and count down the days until then.

Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Any room will be the perfect room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Klevitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Incredible stay at a perfectly run hotel. Great staff, great food, great drinks, and that view is second to none! A must stay for those seeking opportunities to discover the area but able to come back to a great hotel after a long day of excursions. Rooms were very well kept and gorgeous. Happy hour watching the sunset from the infinity pool is worth the trip alone. Roger and his family make your stay feel like you are part of their family. A nice relaxing atmosphere in an absolutely perfect setting. PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldsmobile442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews