We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place för one night or two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vista de Olas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Me and my husband (both 30 years) stayed 5 nights at Vista de Olas. It´s a good place with an amazing ocean view. The thing is that the hotel is like a "After beach" place were people stay for a couple of hours in the afternoon having some drinks. When the sunset is over a lot of people leave for the restaurnats nearby and some of them stay for the bbq. The bbq ends at 9 o´clock and after that there was nothing to do than go to bed.
We stayed at Vista de Olas in Feruary and there were not many other people staying there. We liked the place but we think that 5 days was a to much. Every day we walked to another hotel (Luz de Vida) located on the beach in Santa Theresa and bougt day passes for the beach and poolarea for 10 dollars incl. lunch. It was a 4-5 km walk, This place was great and located close to many good restaurants.
We think that Vista De Olas is a little bit over charged. You don´t get that much for the money. The breakfast is simple (scrambeld eggs, fruits, toast, lemonade and coffe), the rooms are clean and nice but nothing extra and the staff is friendly but not always available.
If yoú´re looking for a calm and peaceful place Vista De Olas is perfect but a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

My wife & I visited a few different areas in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and we had a great time everywhere we went, but we have to say, staying at Vista De Olas in Mal Pais was by far our best experience.

If you are thinking about a place to take that special someone, whether it be for a honeymoon, anniversary, etc., you will not be disappointed with Vista De Olas.

We can't say enough about the property, ocean / sunset view, owners & staff. Thank you so much Roger, Heidi, Swen, Mikey, Danny, Amy, H & Tanya for a wonderful 2nd year wedding anniversary! And their Pina Coladas at the Pool Bar are great also.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverChris37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My boyfriend and I began our 12 day excursion in the Nicoya Peninsula and stayed at Vista de Olas to start. Boy, what a beginning to an awesome adventure! When we arrived at Vista de Olas we could not have been happier! We were greeted by one of the staff who treated us as though we were a part of the family. By the time we got there the sun was setting and everyone told us this is the best place to see the sunset , looking out over the ocean, and I have to say... it really was!!! The pool/dinner area is absolutely beautiful and the sunset could not have been better! Besides the sunsets, the cabinas were incredible! The outdoor shower was spectacular and done up so beautifully! And the cabina was very roomy. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner's sons who were so adorable, sweet and respectful of the guests. It really felt as though we were visiting family!
We would highly recommend Vista de Olas to everyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed at the Vista de Olas for 2 nights in November '09, at the end of our 5 1/2 week traipse through Costa Rica. This was by far the nicest place we stayed during the whole trip.
The massive octagonal shaped room we had, all suites are different, had carved wooden doors, picture windows, comfy chairs and absolutely the best bed I have ever slept on. Ceiling fan and A/C for comfort.
The "facilities" are outside but due to the vegetation and overhangs you would scarcely notice. The tilework and mosaics are a fabulous touch.
Our suite's patio had wonderful view out over a valley towards Cabo Blanco. In the mornings, the bird and wild life was stunning. I think we saw more types of birds here than many of the places we explored.
Unfortunately for us the the restaurant, bar poolside areas were having some finishing touches done before the season re-opening, so we never got to experience the sunset party and be all accounts, a scumptious menu.
However we did share a couple of Imperials with Roger and Heidi, the owners, at one of the best sunset viewing points we experienced in Costa Rica. The infinity Pool is a great touch, with a view out over Playa Santa Teresa and the Pacific ocean.
Roger and Heidi are a wealth of information and good advice on what's what and who's who in the area.
When we return to Costa Rica, Vista De Olas is definatekly on our list of places to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Vista de Olas in late December-early January. Once you get up the hill, you enter one of the most beautiful spots in the area. The pool area is amazing (pictures cannot do it justice) and we enjoyed many an evening watching the sunset over the ocean. Our villa was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We were without hot water for the first two days of our stay because of a broken water heater, but the problem was fixed as quickly as possible by Roger and he compensated us for our cold showers by reducing the rate for those two days. As a testament to his graciousness, he offered the discount on his own, without any suggestion on our part. The included breakfast is great (prepared by Tanya) and always included fresh local fruit, eggs or pancakes, toast and all the coffee and juice you could drink. We also took advantage of their BBQ a few nights and really enjoyed their meat selection and the salad bar. Since there are only 5 villas on the premises, it creates a cozy atmosphere and you get to know both the owners and their sons, and the other guests as well. The staff, particularly Daniel, are helpful and friendly. The only caveat I would mention is that it is Costa Rica, a tropical laid-back destination. There will be bugs (we had nightly ant visitors) and things will not be done in a New York minute, anywhere you go. As long as you are not expecting a Four Seasons experience, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdrNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

The highlight of my trip, hands down was Vista De Olas. After trying to find a hotel to stay in after New Years, Roger answered without delay and service was fantastic! Our arrival to the beautiful villa #1 was only the beginning. The friendly and local staff, Byron, Danny, and Harold were nothing but gracious and welcoming with smiles, laughter, and good times! The sunset party from 4-8 everyday was breathtaking, a good mixture of guests and locals, sometimes busy, sometimes chill. This truly was the best part of the day for me. Pool- 5 stars, Service 5 stars. When can I go back to paradise?

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The Vista was nothing short of paradise. We went on a recommendation from a good friend and found this place to be perfect for us. It is quiet, secluded, and romantic. I actually proposed to my girlfriend right under the waterfall in the pool (she said yes). Here's a little rundown:

Villas: Very secluded/private, colorful, spacious, comfortable. We had a huge king bed along with a couch and a few tables. There was more than enough room for the two of us. The bathroom is outside, which we love. It's also decorated tastefully, clean, and spacious. Never had a problem with hot water or anything else.

Spa: We arranged for his and hers massages ahead of time. The masseuse arrived to our villa about an hour after we checked in. We each got an hour massage right there in our villa while the other unpacked and got settled and had a couple Imperials. We try to do this on every trip and I highly recommend it here - it's the perfect way to relax and get you in vacation-mode after a long day of flying.

Scene: The pool / bar / barbecue / lounge set-up is like nothing you've ever seen. Roger built everything himself, including the pool and hot-tub with waterfall. The pool is an infinity pool that overlooks the Pacific. You can either swim up to the bar or belly up from the land without getting wet. The bar has everything you could want. We stuck with frozen drinks and Imperials the whole week. There are plenty of lounge chairs to lay out and relax. The daytime is super-quiet - some days we were the only ones sitting by the pool, which was awesome. Happy Hour is attended by locals and tourists alike, who show up for the unbelievable sunset. Look at my pictures - we've never seen a more beautiful sunset before. It was like that every night. If we were out during the day, we would make sure to return before sunset.

Food: Like everything else, very casual, but excellent. I had the whole fish both nights. You won't find fresher fish anywhere. The fish I ate was swimming in the Pacific six hours before I ate it off the grill. If you want to venture out, there are plenty of restaurants in town, both in Malpais and Sta Teresa. We dined at Restaurant mi Tierra and Las Brisas del Mar (2x) and both were excellent. Las Brisas was top notch both nights. Also check out Charley's for the best home-made nachos and guacamole.

Staff: Roger and Heidi, the owners, were very gracious and accommodating. They made us feel right at home the minute we got there. Everything is so laid-back and it stems from the laid-back attitudes of those two. The staff are equally as nice - Chris the bartender, Maria the breakfast cook, and all the others. Roger and Heidi will give you recommendations of where to go eat, explore, hike, beaches, etc...They really added to our experience.

Bottom-line: If you're looking for a super-chill getaway, this is your spot. Clean, private villas, cold beer, great food, relaxed atmosphere, and great pool. The price we paid was very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerseyJoeMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
153 reviews
9.8 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista de Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista de Olas

Address: Vista de Olas Dr. | Mal Pais de Cobano Apto.#93, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: £176 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista de Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista de Olas is a refined hotel in Mal Pais perched on top of a peaceful hill. From this vantage point our guests are treated to sweeping views of Mal Pais and watch the most memorable sunsets. The hotel offers 6 sumptuous, secluded deluxe villas with ocean view, AC, open-sky bathroom, and private porch. Hotel amenities include fast WLAN, a luxurious infinity pool and jacuzzi, pool lounge, and the best BBQ restaurant in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vista de Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Olas Mal Pais
Hotel Vista De Olas Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing