We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute and relaxed oasis”
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cute and relaxed oasis”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is definitely one of the nicest places in Malpais, very relaxed atmosphere in a pretty setting, close to town, close to Santa Teresa and close to the beach. It is so easy to just walk everywhere, also at night. The food is very good, an excellent quality-price combination in a place with many costly options around. The staff are very helpful and can arrange any trips and excursions as you may wish. I definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Finlandesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    38
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
30
81
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Best place my girlfriend and I have enjoyed during our two weeks in Costa Rica. The hotel is very nice and quiet, and located on a slope of the hill, with view on the Pacific ocean. Swimming-pool is open 24/7. People working there are pretty warm and helpful, providing plenty of good advices about things to do in the region.

(PS: special thank to the Belgian cook for his humor and the quality of food - I especially recommand the mustard steak)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brogno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This place is simply amazing! The location was amazingly close to town and the beach. The restaurant was fantastic and the staff was both incredibly helpful and friendly. When we asked, they not only suggested activities but also made all of the arrangements for you. They were also able to provide restaurant and bar suggestions based on what we were looking for and made reservations if required. Very solid choices for breakfast and a full outdoor bar just added to the amenities. Lounging around the pool or hanging in a hammock with a frosty drink was a perfect way to spend an afternoon.
The bungalows were nicely laid out, each bungalow had a different theme and the rooms were kept very clean by the staff. One more thing worth mentioning: the hotel never felt over populated or crowded despite having a number of guests. It was also very easy to find a secluded spot to have private time with your friends/significant others. If you’re planning a trip to Mal Pais, this should top your “must stay” list! After spending five days there I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with ANY of the bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were so excited to stay at The Place, but our expectations were definitely not met... Our cute little "bungalow" was infested with ants. A lot of this had to do with the rain, but the amount of bugs in the room was insane- I think one night we killed 15 flying ants in about 10 minutes...

Pool filter was broken and whole pool was brown. Also made the mistake of eating there one night (manager cooks) and realized upon checkout that the bill included a 25% tip.

Would not recommend- lots of cuter places in Santa Teresa on the beach- this place is at least a 10- minute walk to the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lleClerc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theplace, Owner at Hotel The Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Ashley

In May when the rain starts it can happen that there is an outburst of ants anywhere, however we immediately took care of the problem. All of our clients were informed that the pool pump was broken and that the pool would be murky for a few days until repairs were complete. Our restaurant which is run by our Belgian cook has gotten a lot of compliments. In Costa Rica, as in many countries, the 10% mandatory service charge and the 13% sales tax are not included in the display price, which for the record is explicitly mentioned on each page of the menu. For most people, the 200mts distance to the beach is less than a 5 minute walk. We do try to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable and we strive to keep our clients relaxed, happy and satisfied. On occasion in Costa Rica, natures forces still do tend prevail. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had on your stay, however we would like to point out that you were not charged the pre-agreed to penalty for your early departure.
Pura vida
The Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I had a little bungalow up a walkway called the 'amor' or something. Quiet area with a table and chair outside, and a super comfortable bed, nice shower and bathroom area. I loved it. They added a refrigerator my last day, which would have been nice to have all week, but will be nice for you! Pool was very nice and the whole vibe on the property was very relaxed. Breakfast was delicious, not much to be had for lunch. The dinner was amazing, filet mignon w/ a bleu cheese sauce and belgian frites, too good! I surf, so it was about a 5 or 10 minute walk to a great longboarding beach, not ideal but it is hard to find a place on the beach in the area. It has better location than a lot of other places because it is close to town. The staff was very kind, always willing to help by arranging breakfast, a massage or a taxi. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_A_D72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My boyfriend has been to Malpais two times and this was my first time. We absolutely loved The Place. We stayed for three nights and wish it was more. Our room was #7 which is located directly near the dining patio. We had a small refrigerator in our room as well. Distance to the beach and town was about a 2-3 minute walk. The rates were unbeatable for the quality and cleanliness in the area. Although our room was next to the dining area it was still very quiet and serene. Not to mention we were steps away from the beautiful clean pool. The food was excellent, probably the best we had in the area. Marcos was very helpful with helping us book a zip lining tour and gave us honest tips on other places to see in the area. Yvonne was also very helpful and she was straightforward and honest. We highly recommend this hotel for couples or people looking to be close to the beach but not directly in the mix of "town".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We loved this hotel. After a recommendation from a friend, we booked 2 nights at The Place. We stayed in the regular rooms, as opposed to the bungalows. I heard the bungalows provide a better atmosphere, but the standard rooms were completely acceptable, especially for the price. No frills, zero complaints. The pool was great, the food was great, everyone was very laid back and friendly. Very hospitable and fun. There was just something about this hotel that felt special and almost like we were their personal guests. When we return to Costa Rica, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Property: Hotel The Place
Address: 200 mts from Hotel Frank's Place direction Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Place is within short walking distance to the main beach Playa Carmen,in close proximity to the center of town with easy access to shops,restaurants and banks. The hotel features standard rooms, bungalows and a vacation home. A beautiful free form pool with waterfall invites our guest for a swimm.You can enjoy breakfast in our lounge in the morning or, starting april 2012, prepare your own meal in our open Rancho kitchen.We gladly organize tours and transfers leaving from the Hotel.The Place is an ideal establishment to relax and feel at home for couples, families and smaller groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing