We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, private cabanas and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Place
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights Thursday through Saturday. Unfortunately it was the week of Semana Santa but the bar here is very accommodating for travelers unaware of the religious dry days. =)
The pool is great, clean and the lounge area is small but comfy for about 15-20 people. There were never more than like 8 people in the area so it was very nice.
We had the Mexican themed room and we had no issues. I was surprised about the swinging bathroom doors and open wall situation but we figured it out. I like the bar tab system because it's convenient, grab a beer and hop back in the pool.
Candace was amazing and helped us immensely throughout our trip. She even warned us that if we wanted to make the ferry off the island after semana santa we'd need to leave the hotel 3+ hrs to get there on time. I thought it to be too much time but trusted her judgement and I'm thankful I did.
On another note, I happened to be a guest at the hotel when the reviewer below had the lamp issue. I was quite surprised at how the situation was handled by the owner. I was also surprised, from a business aspect, that in a room that goes for $100 per night, such a costly lamp would be used for decoration, in an area that would be at risk for breakage. This is an unfortunate circumstance that hopefully won't be repeated.
All in all I'd consider staying there again.

Room Tip: seems that the love rooms is not the best choice. I had the mexican themed room with no issues, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

The place has had several bad reviews and it all comes down to the inhospitable owner. We spent 8 days here and enjoyed the hotel. We met great people and the manager, Candace, was awesome. At the end of the week stay, we accidentally broke a lamp by accident. When we reported it to the manager, she called the owner who was very short, rude, and unwilling to listen. She ended up charging us $80 for the lamp, stating that the cost + the time it would take her to replace it warranted the price. After further discussion she tried to claim that the price for the lamp is justified since she gave us a deal on our weeklong stay. Needless to say, business lost! We will not be recommending this place to friends.

However THE PLACE NEXT DOOR is HALF the price with nice facilities and rooms with complete walls. Did we mention that the walls of our bungalow were not sealed properly and we had crabs sneaking into our room in the middle of the night.The hotel's solution was to give us a few extra towels to stuff all the cracks!!! The manager said that it was common for them to get everywhere but no one in the hotel next door had crabs in their room =)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tahnete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theplace, Propietario at Hotel The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Trip advisor
This client has signed and agreed by check in that he will be responisble for any damages on the property done by him. False statement from the client that i justified the broken lamp charge ( 50% of the original price!) because they have received a discount ! She called me a lier. The client is comparing our hotel with the one next door, were they did not even stay, in price and quality. We can not be critizised by angry clients which do damages to our hotel and beeing charged for, in a business sence. Also the client can not quote the owner or staff or make a comparason of two hotels next to each other acording to trip advisor policy.
Please take this critic asap of our site.

Looking forward to hear from you

Hotel the place
Yvonne Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had a great time there. The stuffs were very friendly the whole time. It was possible to take two friends from outside to the pool area. The bungalows looked awesome and were really clean. The whole area looks very sophisticated. In the "town" you will find a backery maybe the better (cheaper) choise for breakfast. But try the cocktails at the bar!!!! Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spent 4 nights at the place this past January on vacation. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow room and the accommodation was great. The bungalow was big and had AC a fan, hot water and other amenities.

Candice, the manager was fantastic. She helped arrange everything for us and was incredibly helpful! She knows everything about Costa Rica, and pointed us in all the right directions.

The restaurant at the hotel, Chez Moi was delicious, and has a great chef. We ate there most nights and mornings.

Overall, had a great experience at The Place and would highly reccomend staying there.

Thanks, Candice!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandadilauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The beach house style rooms were really well designed and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivkahrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This place is a piece of paradise, well positioned a very short walk to all the action. Candice was a superb host, the pool and the bar very inviting and as an added bonus the monkeys eating fruit in the tree next to our cabin and the iguanas scurrying along the tin rooves was very entertaining. Overall, very clean and great value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

great great great hotel
We stayed in the room and the bungalow and had a first-class stay
the daily managers (Candice and Nico) were the best we could find to make our stay absolutely fantastic
we enjoyed every minute of our stay and even canceled another hotel in Jaco (avoid!) to stay longer
The hotel is very well maintained, the swimming pool is perfect to chill-out, the atmosphere is friendly and stylish. The food is great and affordable, a beautiful mix of Belgium-French and exotic cuisine.
The location is perfect, just 2 minutes away to the town center with the Playa Carmen surf spot and 15 minutes to the beautiful Playa Hermosa.
The staff was always available and helpful.
Futhermore the location of Malpais has managed to keep its local touch, the nature is still wild, as untouched as it can be for a touristic place and so beautiful.
The name is right, for us that was "THE place"

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
45 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Place

Address: | 300 mts south from shopping mall Playa Carmen, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: £58 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming boutique hotel located in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, the premier surf destination in Costa Rica. Our hotel is secluded enough to maintain serenity yet conveniently situated within walking distance of the main beach of Playa Carmen along with numerous restaurants, shops and nightlife attractions. The Place features tastefully furnished bungalows, standard rooms and a private villa. Our pool adorned with a waterfall combined with our bar area offers our guests a serene and private environment to kick back an relax. Our multilingual staff will gladly assist you by arranging day trips and other activities in the area at your request. All our prices include breakfast, for special packages and surf retreats please contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf The Place Hotel
Hotel The Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing