We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise!”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you're ever lucky enough to find yourself in Mal Pais, Costa Rica then the Hotel Oasis should be your preferred port of call. It's simply perfect. The bungalows are an oasis of calm set within a tropical garden with an immaculately kept decked pool. A very short stroll to the gorgeous beach and the main drag of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa makes the Oasis the perfect base. I cannot speak highly enough of the owners who were more than accommodating. Both extremely friendly and helpful, exceeding all expectations. If this is what living in Mal Pais does to one's character then I need to move here permanently! Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    24
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I always enjoy our stay at The Oasis. We come to Malpais every year for his surfing. We both find the location convenient for access to town and the beaches. The amenities excellent (kitchen, pool, etc). Couldn't ask for more and they did a great job with the remodel last year. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is a paradise , the swimming pool is amazing and the beaches are so close in car and also walking .

I really love this place and the rooms are so nice , clean and also the kitchen is very comfortable.

I have to comeback !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieBS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you want to have a peaceful place to stay, this is it; with only with a few bungalows, full equipped.
However it's very close to the beach and all the convenience stores, restaurants, bars... You can even walk around.
The place is very clean and super safe, and you will receive a very good attention from all the workers and the owners since the moment you call or email for make a reservation
Definitely worth to visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Can't beat it. Close to the beach. Immaculate. Clean. All the check marks. Don't hesitate. Marianne was so helpful with everything. You can walk to anywhere you need to go. Great value. I'm rebooking once I get home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windexpcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at Oasis for quite a few weeks in December and January.
This place took my breath away. Its super convenient, close the the cross roads.
All the people i met there were amazing, especially the owners of this hotel.
Some of my favourite evenings were spent socializing by the pool after dinner.
The landscape is breathtaking , I felt safe and comfortable, everything I wanted was at my finger tips.
Already planning my return to that slice of heaven at Oasis.
Thank you so much for everything

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We loved to be in this place, it is a real oasis! Perfect for families or couples! Very familiar, only 3 bungalows (well equipped) and one bigger house, altogether for maximum 5 families/couples. Quiet, but close to the beach (100 m) and to the center in Playa Carmen (200 m) with bakery, supermarket, restaurants, ATM. Ask the friendly owners and they will offer you perfect activities near to Mal Pais! They were very kind anytime we had a request.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: | 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing