We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Oasis”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We have stayed here four times. With and without kids, with groups of other families (one year we took over the whole place), and have recommended it to friends on their honeymoon. Marianne and Haim are fantastic, the staff is friendly, the place is always clean and accomidating, and surf lessons with Haim were great. The prices are the most reasonable in the area - especially for what you get. Your own kitchen, taxi and reservation assistance, maid service, laundry on site, and a pool.

We highly recommend the Oasis and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mal Pais or Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt4vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Iv been to the Oasis in mal paid 3 times now and will be returning again. I had a huge trip booked across all of central America and in less then one week I canceled all plans called Marianne (the owner and most resourcful women ever) and said I'm in Guatemala and I want to be at the oasis.. Within 2 days I had a plane, a room , a car, and dinner reservations with one phone call Marianne took care of everything. The Oasis is just outside of playa Carmen which gives you the option to head to bed or to town. Anytime I have ever had amy problem Marianne and her husband Haim drop everything and fix immediately. They are two fantastic people with an awesome hotel.. I will continue tO come for years to come..

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schrammryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

went to costa rica on a surf trip with some friends and we had the chance to stay at oasis in mal pais. haim the owner was amazing giving as tips where to surf and when.
Accommodations are very comfortable, kitchen, Free WI-FI, Cable TV at a very affordable price, We had a great time

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardit2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This being my seventh trip to Costa Rica it is getting harder and harder to find a great hotel for an economical price. Hotel Oasis is definitely one of those places. The price was great and located within walking distance to town and the beach in five minutes. Nice little bungalows/cabins that were very clean with air and hot showers. Great little patio with kitchenette and hammock for those rainy days. The kids loved the pool and found lots to do on the grounds of the hotel. Best of all was the willingness of the staff to help answer questions and even helped us print out and fax our next hotel reservation! You could pay a lot more to stay in a similar hotel but why? Great Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YakimaMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The place feels like a small hamlet rather than a hotel, and our teens loved the pool and atmosphere, not to mention the excellent surf and huge beach.The hosts were kind and available, while service was respectful and consistent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We had a tremendous stay, convenient to town, close to beach, but quiet and private. The cottages were clean and comfortable with hotplates and fridge. The owners, Haim and Marianne were incredibly helpful and friendly, and also provided great surf lessons for our whole family. I would recommend this for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Go go go! It was incredible. The owner was so helpful and friendly. The bungalow was clean and comfortable. I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireallouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mal Pais hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
#8 of 8 in Mal Pais
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: | 300 Meters South of Playa Carmen Intersection, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: £60 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis is a cozy, friendly, family-owned hotel in Mal Pais (or Malpais) on the southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula. It is located just a mile away from the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve, and steps away from the Pacific Ocean.Costa Rica’s famous Playa Carmen and Santa Teresa beaches are a five minutes walk away. Both beaches are considered some of the best surf spots in all Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Oasis Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing