We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you ask for Geiner!”
Review of Tucanes Tours

Tucanes Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Hiking Tour
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Whitewater Rafting on the Savegre River from Manuel Antonio
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Damas Island Mangrove Boat Tour from Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tucanes Tours offers you Tours and activities in Manuel Antonio, Quepos and Jaco costa rica and Transportation Service nationwide. Featuring amazing activities such as Guided Hikes at Manuel Antonio National Park and Carara Biological Reserve – Fantastic Horseback Riding Tours in Private Fincas – Great Nature Boat Trips - Challenging Whitewater Rafting Tours – Amazing Canopy Tours with Tarzan Swing – Catamaran Cruises – Jet Ski Tours –Kayaking & Snorkeling , fishing trips, Beach Parties and more!!! We specialize attending Incentive Groups, Meetings, Customize Activities, Cruise Ships and others……..Hand in Hand with Nature! Tucanes Tours in Business since 1992, let us offer you the highlight of your vacation!!!
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our first trip with Rancho Los Tucanes was a horseback ride to a waterfall. We had ridden on our previous trip to CR, and we were expecting a similar experience. This time, however, it was a longer ride than we anticipated and the path was steep at times. At the end of the first half of the journey (out there and back), the waterfall was pretty but not breathtaking, and we knew we had a long ride home. If you take this tour, you should really love riding in order for it to be worth spending the whole morning (it takes 40 minutes to get out to the starting point from where the hotels are).

Having said this, what made the day worthwhile was Geiner - our guide. He is a charming, warm man who kept us engaged with pictures of animals he has seen on his tours and amusing stories from his experiences. He definitely kept the day from being more of a drag for us (we are not big riders).

We were delighted the next day when Geiner was our tour guide for the national park. He was patient, funny, and full of interesting information about the animals and insects we saw. He was terrific with our teenagers, too.

We went kayaking and snorkeling with Los Tucanes. Our guide for that was someone else (his name escapes me). He was not as talkative and friendly as Geiner or guides we had on our previous CR trip. It was a bit of a swim (in life jackets) to get from where he anchored the kayaks to where the fish were. We were warned that snorkeling in CR isn't as good as in other places, and we agree, but we enjoyed it.

If you are choosing between companies for horseback riding or tours of the national park, choose Los Tucanes and make sure you get Geiner. We even booked a night tour of a park with a different company for which he works and asked them to make sure he guided our group (which he very kindly did, even though it was his night off). Don't miss Manuel Antonio, and don't miss Geiner!

Thank mrsstinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Los Tuca... T, General Manager at Tucanes Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mrsstinger,
Geiner will love this one!

Thank you!!!!!!
The people @
Rancho Los Tucanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 309 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went white water rafting with Rancho Los Tucanes and what an experience it was.
The guides were just awesome - they were so knowledgeable. Even the bus ride to where we started rafting was fun. They would stop and show us a flower/plant/fruit and talk about it. It was really cool! And they were really funny.
They were also very good when we were rafting. You can tell these guys are professionals and know exactly what they are doing. We felt incredibly safe with them as our guides.
The views while we were rafting were crazy. It was just amazing. We stopped off at a waterfall, got some pictures. I don't know what else to say, this was just an awesome experience and I wish I could do it over again and again because we had such a great time.
They did have a photographer (who is really good at kyaking!) taking photos of us while we were rafting which is great - it was so much fun looking at the photos after, what great memories!
You have to do this tour, you will not be disappointed!! It will be a great experience!

Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Los Tuca... T, General Manager at Tucanes Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Monique B, what a wonderful review! Thank you very much!
We, here at Rancho Los Tucanes, always try to give our best!

Next time you come back, you should try out our relaxing mangrove boat ride...

Thank you again,

The people @
Rancho Los Tucanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our tour guides were amazing and they made our first experience with white water rafting unforgettable.From our driver Im bad with names but i think it was enrique, to our guide Ivan, photographer cucho and our first aide guy roney. We highly recommend this company and this team!!!! The drive to the river was informative, river rafting and swimming by the waterfall was amazing, the snacks in middle of tour and local meal after the tour was delicious!!! It included breakfast also; however, my husband and I had already eaten (I'm sure it would have been yummy)

Thank kristy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Los Tuca... T, General Manager at Tucanes Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Krisy A........ Thank you!!!
We'll let Enrique, Ivan, Cucho and Ronny know about your fantastic comment!
By the way... you're not bad with names!!

Saludos y PURA VIDA!

The people @
Rancho Los Tucanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We loved this tour!!! We booked in Jaco through Costa Rica waterfall experts.com. We were so lucky together Nancy as our tour guide. We saw so many more animals we could have ever imagined! Nancy promised animals, and from the minute we got in the car we were stopping to get pictures with animals. We saw two different kinds of sloths ( multiple times), three different kinds of monkeys ( multiple times), raccoons, toucans, lots of birds, multiple kinds of iguanas, and so much more! The breakfast and lunch we were served were spectacular.
We considered going to Manuel Antonio park by ourselves, but we are so happy we hired Nancy. She was so informative and had such an amazing eye for seeing animals. We never would have had the same experience without her!

Thank Moll2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Los Tuca... T, Owner at Tucanes Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Moll2969,
We'll let Nancy know about your super nice review!

Thank you!!!!!
The people @
Rancho Los Tucanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great white water rafting with this group! The drive to the drop off was a free nature walk without the walk. The photographer captured action shots available to purchase digitally. The scenery is beautiful! We had a snack after rafting and a complete meal for lunch when we returned. Be sure to pack a towel. I recommend booking with this group!

Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Los Tuca... T, Manager at Tucanes Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Traci H,
Post more pictures!!!!!!!

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The people @
Rancho Los Tucanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tucanes Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tucanes Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing