We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodish value”
Review of Villa Prats Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Prats Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Rather uninviting from outside - looks tatty and is sited on a gravel track. Big room, clean, hot water and A/C. Room rather in need of decoration. No breakfast as the cook 'didn't turn up'. Strong smell of sewers pervades the area. Convenient for the National Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Villa Prats Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for clean, affordable lodging steps away from Manuel Antonio. The rooms are clean and they give you two towels-one for the beach and one for the shower. The staff was very kind and bilingual and the Wi-Fi signal is excellent. I 100% recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoJohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I honestly hate complaining. I have stayed at many places including hostels in Africa so I can handle basic accommodations. Even accommodations that are not 100% clean doesn't bother me. Having said that, the room we rented in November 2012, was disgusting. I understand that this place is cheap and you get what you pay for, but it was truly filthy. I should have asked for my money back and left but we were tired when we arrived (after messing up our reservations to stay somewhere else) and chose instead to only stay one night. The bed linens were not clean and I instead slept on my jacket. We were very disappointed :(
To try to end on a positive note, the location is great and very close to the entrance of Manuel Antonio Park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joiev98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was really skeptical about staying at this hotel because a lot of glowing reviews came from people that have only reviewed this one property. I know some hotels get their friends to write them good reviews to bump their stats so I was a little on the fence. I dedided to try it anyway and I'm glad that I did because the price was right, the room was comfortable and the distance to the park entrance & the beach were wonderful. The service wasn't spectacular, not bad, just low key. Sometimes we'd stand at the front desk looking for some help and there would be no one around, then another guest told us that they lived upstairs and we needed to ring a bell by their door to get their help. It would have been nice to know this when we checked in. Sometimes we found that the language barrier was an issue, but that's partly our fault for not practicing our Espanol before going on our trip. At some point in our trip I lost my bank card and they let me into their house to use their phone to call my bank, which I found very helpful. The property was safe, some reviewer commented that it's down a sketchy back alley, but I would disagree about the sketchy part. Yes, it's just off the road, down an alley, but we didn't feel unsafe for one second. It was lit and you needed a key card to access the building. Manuel Antonio was probably our least favorite destination because the prices are so high and it's really touristy, but if you are coming here and you're on a budget, Villa Prats is a good option. Just don't expect a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hughsie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was the first placed we stayed in Costa Rica. Looking back, it probably was the best value we experienced our entire trip. For $45 or so a night we had a comfortable bed, an extra twin for our stuff, a TV with cable (a lifesaver when we dared not emerge during the heat and humidity of mid-day), AC, mini-fridge and wifi. The pool was nice. Facilities were nice as well. They were working on renovations during our stay, but did not bother us. Walk-able to the entrance of Manuel Antonio and to the town's main drag. I recommend breakfast down the street at the Backbacker's lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I want to start by saying that you wouldn't stay at Villa Prats if you were after a 5 star holiday as there are much nicer hotels in the area however for the budget conscious travelers who is after all the amenities then this place was really good. My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights, we called up and they offered us a room for $40AUD a night which for the area is incredibly cheap, we were skeptical based on the price however the room was perfect for what we needed, it had a double and single bed, a couch TV with cable, free wi if and a fridge which was very impressive, the pool was small but we didn't really use it and the location is amazing, a 30 second walk to the entrance of Manuel Antonio and a 5 min stroll to the beach. Just some small low points if you are after reception service there was hardly anyone ever there as they live above the hotel but if you need the, you could find them, we did have to ask for towels a couple of times but that was about it. The place is also very secure with electronic key entry to enter the building.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Simple room, clean, friendly staff (doesnt always speak english). Small swimming pool if you want to get a cool swim after a long hot day. We even checked in at 12am and someone was waiting for us at so late at night, really appreciated it. Location cannot be better, you are exactly 30sec walk from the entrance of the park!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Prats Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Prats Hotel

Address: Metros de Entrada Manuel Ant. Nat Park 10, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms come with air conditioning, private bath hot water cable TV, and refrigerator. Our mini studios have a full kitchen all rooms have a double bed and single some have a sofa bed and a beautiful pool. From September to March our restaurant is open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Prats Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Prats Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing