We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ziplining with Big Al”
Review of Safari Adventures

Safari Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Adventures CR is a tour operator company based in Quepos and Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. The company was funded 16 years ago and has been recognized for the experienced operating tours. We have thrive to offer our customers the best tours in the area, we make sure the service is always 100% personalized, best tour price, all the proper equipment and guaranteed safety during the tour. The company is lead by its owner and founder Roger Arce, and a team of certified bilingual guides and staff who work hard every day to ensure the our customers satisfaction with our tour operation.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Big Al, "El Guapo", picked us up at our Villa in Manuel Antonio and took us zip lining. Our group included seven women ranging in age from 21 to 77. Big Al was able to accommodate all of our needs and kept us laughing the whole time. The whole crew at Safari Adventures were very professional and yet made us feel like family. We can't recommend them highly enough.

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRSafari_Adventures, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Safari Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for the comment, it was a pleasure to had a good time with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 490 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went on the Mangrove Kayaking tour in April 2014 with Juan. We happened to be the only two on the tour, so it was very personal and informative. Juan was an extremely knowledgeable guide, and showed us lots of wildlife, including a boa constrictor, many types of birds and monkeys. As we were watching the monkeys, they came directly over our heads and crossed the river, a truly incredible experience. The mangroves were a very interesting ecosystem to kayak through, see lots of types of vegetation and seeing the tide come in. Juan recommended for us to kayak in tandem, which was a fabulous idea as we were able to capture many memorable photos and video.

The traditional Costa Rican lunch that was provided after the tour was delicious.

Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRSafari_Adventures, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Safari Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thanks for the nice comments, Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed the Mangrove boat tour offered by Safari Adventures. The monkeys were crazy and jumped on top of the boat. We learned a lot about the role of the 3 types of Mangroves and how they benefit the ecosystem. My son was very excited to see a Fer-de-Lance. The tour ended with the best meal we had on the trip while we were entertained by squirrel monkeys crossing the street on the power lines.

Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRSafari_Adventures, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Safari Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

thanks! we are so glad to know tha you enjoy de tour!! pura vidaa!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great time zip lining! Ask for George, Ronald & "paparazzi" Elias. Reasons why: 1) It was our first time zip lining. I had heard of it & my wife had not....but she was up for trying it. We've been around the world literally, seen and done our share of adventures. Nothing prepared us for the exhilaration of flying thru the sky. 2) George, Ronald & Elias kept us smiling throughout our several hours together. From the start it was George driving and he quickly had us talking as friends. He showed us the local sites and answered our many curious questions about what it's like to live in Quepos. 3) On the way we picked up Elias, the "paparazzi". At first we were thinking hmmm a sales pitch. But then as we thought about it, a dedicated person who was skilled to come on the zip lines and take action photos...nice option to buy since no obligation. Another thing turns out he also has a great sense of humor & also very helpful on the trails. Keep reading. 4) Safety is obviously important. First of all, they speak fluent English, very important so you know you are receiving the full safety instructions. Second, it was comforting to see their system. You have two connections to the zip line. One is used to connect you to the the platform while you briefly wait your turn. (this made us feel comfortable in case of an accident.) The other line is then connected to the zip line, when it's your turn. Then also your second line is also connected to the zipline. 5) ****Around the 6th zip line and after a lot of fun, unfortunately my wife got sick. This is no reflection on the tour, just that my wife must have had a bad breakfast, or a reaction to something or perhaps a heat stroke. She couldn't continue. George, Ronald & Elias all went out of their way to help her. They emphasized that she should take her time, no rush. We rested for quite a while. Then when my wife was ready we went on. But we quickly realized she couldn't walk the upcoming 500 ft trail. So George called for a stretcher. Ronald zipline ahead and ran up the remaining trail to then run back with the stretcher. We (George, Ronald, Elias & I....well I started to but uphill at the end of the day I couldn't, so George quickly volunteered to take the full front of the stretcher & Elias/Ronald took the rear of the stretcher) then carried her up the remaining trail. Midway she seemed to start closing her eyes (not a good sign), Gorge was alert to see (as I didn't, and probably since I didn't have experience, I likely would not have noticed nor known what to do). After we go back to the car, George also gave me great advice for how I should care for her. After we rested (our choice) he offered to take her to the hospital or back to where we are staying. My wife felt better after resting back in the car. On the drive George graciously offered to stop at the pharmacy. 6) Bottom Line-- All tour companies train to show a good time....and hopefully/usually do. The extra test is how prepared they are if something does not go smoothly. Well you will have a great time, and you can rest comfortably in the good care of George, Ronald & Elias!!!!

1  Thank tallcouplesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRSafari_Adventures, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Safari Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

thanks for the nice coment! The Safari Adventures team is so glad to could serve you
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The absolute star of this tour was our guide: Juan. He was knowledgeable and was able to spot animals for us that we would have missed on our own (a rare hour-glass frog, under a leaf, high on the canopy; bats; three and two-toed sloths). He was patient with our 7-year old and took the time to adjust the telescope to her height once the adults had their turn. He also took pictures for us.

The park itself may be crowded at times as every tour group makes its way through the main trail. Having come to the area for the wildlife, we felt the tour was the best way to accomplish this and this company delivered!

Thank cecive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRSafari_Adventures, Public Relations Manager at Safari Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

tkanks for the great comments Ceci! Pura Vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Adventures also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Safari Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing