We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Cafe Agua Azul

Cafe Agua Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Latin, Bar, Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have read some of the reviews here and I am baffled.
I operate a tour company (Diamante Verde Tours) about an hour away and have come here, regularly, for years. Never been disappointed once. Well, maybe the time it rained sideways, or when I came on wednesday. jajaja Never even had a mediocre meal here. Always great. The service is top notch and the view, when there is one,is to die for.
I would consider myself a food snob and definitely recommend Agua Azul. Get some!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elkarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    470
    153
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, good food.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you want good food overlooking the Pacific Ocean and add to that good service and a fun place, you've found it here. If you visit Manuel Antonio, I would highly recommend this restaurant for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVingFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A big taste of home.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This little gem was quite a discovery. We have been in CR for about 4 weeks so we're missing our home food a little. I have never been so excited to see ranch dressing on a menu. They have burgers, salads, wraps, and more. Paige, the owner, is from North Carolina and it shows in the food. Their middle size burger is big enough for 2 or maybe even 3 people. Definitely a welcome delight for a tired palate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views, but nothing else”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I have to admit: the view is amazing. But that is the only reason to visit this place:
Not really clean, most unfriendly staff we met in a long Costa Rica vacation, heavily overpriced for average meal/ drinks and quite noisy. I will definitely not come back to that place.

Helpful?
Thank kausmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went there on our first night to Costa Rica. The open air bar/restaurant was a perfect mix of American and Costa Rican. We dove in ordering fish, but the table next to us got ENORMOUS hamburgers. Everything tasted good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanaKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Agua Azul also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Agua Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing