We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed 3 nights here and cant say enough about this Hotel! The rooms are huge. The staff amazing. The cleanest hotel i think i have ever stayed in with by far the most helpful and enthusiastic staff. The restraunt next door La Hacienda was amazing as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barefootchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio.
Best Regards
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    149
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
373
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

The room is enormous with a high roof, the bathroom is also huge, everything very clean and well decorated. We also had a small terrace with view on the small but cute swimming pool and the forest behind.

Staff is professional and cordial, and we could benefit of their good advices for nice restaurants (the hotel does not have one).

The hotel is located on the road to the Manuel Antonio National Park - 10 minutes ride by bus or taxi. Be aware that there is no shop in this area, so if you need to buy something you need to go to nearby Quepos (but this is common to all hotels in the area).

There is also a nice art gallery at the hotel reception.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casablanca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Bets regards,
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

What a clean, nice hotel. The rooms are huge, clean and modern. The price is the best in the area. One thing to remember is that everything is a little distance from everything... Meaning that all the hotel are far from the beach and markets. But all hotels are! The town of Manuel Antonio is really just a few bars and markets near the beach and the park. There really isnt a need to be right next to the park or the beach unless you really really want to... the bus is so easy and cheap.

Quepos is a small little town with stores, sodas, bars and hotels. You'll be taking the bus up and over the hill a lot but its really easy and comes often. The only downside to the hotel is that there isnt a lot near by. A couple of restaurants are near by but walking on the road is very dangerous. Its a narrow road with many speeding buses and cars that have no regard for you so its best that you take the bus or a a car if you have one. The hotel is in the middle between the park and Quepos and therefore a great location for excursions.

I'd recommend the hotel to anyone who doesnt care about resort type ammenities or people who dont need to be right on the beach. The hotel near the beach are run down and or expensive. Having stayed in a thousand hotel rooms the things that matter most are right here at Plaza Yara. Clean, safe, comfortable rooms and nice people. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Streethound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We hope that on your return visit you will have time to visit us again.
All the best.
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I just wanted to say y'all were awesome. everyone was so friendly and helpful in every way.

I figured you boys check this often and since I haven't gotten an email back from you in a while (its a busy time, I understand) I decided to post on here. I left a necklace in a safe in room 11. You guys said you had it and would return it, but that was back in march... do you guys know when I might get that back from you???

oh yeah! theres also a really good restaurant next door to this place named la hacienda! these Wisconsinites were so awesome and fun to hang out with. It's kind of pricey but the food is so worth it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stamnomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The rooms were excellent. There are big, clean and well taken care of by the staff. All of the staff was great especially Jonathon, Nelson and Javier. The monkeys welcomed us when we came and gave us a party the day we left.

The location had the availability of the beautiful Manuel Antonio Park and the fun touristy town of Manuel Antonio. It was the first stop of three locations and I wish we had stayed longer here.

The food within the complex was great and there was entertainment 2 of the four nights we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms 8,9,10 had great jungle views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackamosev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We hope that on your return visit you will have time to visit us again.
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Plaza Yara for five nights in March and absolutely loved it! The room (#8) was very spacious and clean, with a small kitchenette and private balcony that looked out over the lower terrace and into the rainforest. We particularly enjoyed starting each day with breakfast (delivered to our room every morning) and coffee out on the balcony. The hotel was located closer to Quepos than Manuel Antonio, but this was perfect for us as we spent most of our time doing day trips to Jaco, Rainmaker Park, Uvita and Dominical, and it was easy to get out to the main highway from the Plaza Yara. We went to Manuel Antonio Park on only one of the days we were there, and we found it easiest to leave our rental vehicle in the parking lot and catch a bus to the park for 50 cents. At the end of each day, we sat on our balcony sipping our drinks and listening to the sounds of the forest. An absolutely exquisite experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MnyPlcs_2LtlTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Bets regards,
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

We loved our stay at Plaza Yara. We went for three nights to Manuel Antonio and this place is a great value. Our room was HUGE and the bathroom was beautifully renovated (especially compared to other places we stayed in Costa Rica). Having a fridge in the room was really handy. The breakfast was perfect for me. My boyfriend would have preferred more food. It consisted of fresh fruit (pineapple, watermelon and banana), granola bars, yogurt, orange juice and fresh baked bread basket. You had a coffee maker in the room to make your coffee and they put milk in your fridge.

We only got to see monkeys one day from our balcony but there were tons! Such a fun surprise. We also saw birds and iguanas. The walk to the bus to get to the park/beach was a little farther than we expected but was just fine. For 50 cents the bus is very worth it (a taxi is like $5). We didn't go to the pizza place but the restaurant La Hacienda was pretty good. A little pricey but we were on vacation so it was not a big deal.

The hotel staff was very friendly and had good advice on where to eat dinner to watch the sunset and what activities to do. The art gallery is very nice and like most visitors we ended up buying a few things!

Overall a great stay and great value for the money. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Thank you for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio.
Pura Vida!
Nelson Monge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing