We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Certificate of Excellence
Covina, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Upon first glance, this does not seem like a hotel. Situated in a mini shopping center with an art gallery, 2 restuants, and a couple other places, this site is short walk to the bus stop and in between Querpos and Manuel Anotnio. There are a few other places close by as well.
The rooms are larger than expected, Way larger. a private balcony over looking the pool and forest is also attached. Microwave, sink, mini fridge and dishes area also provided along with a coffee maker.

The front clerks were friendly and helpful, daily breakfast (fruit, yogurt, bread, and juice) was also provided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickledPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our Hotel.We are more than glad to hear that we exceed your expectations during your stay with us.In our Hotel we try our best day by day and encourage our staff to do the same in order to make our guests to feel like home.
Looking forward to welcoming you again to Plaza Yara Hotel.
Saludos y PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    149
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
151
373
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
274 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel is rather plain on the outside, but don't let that fool you. Check in was a breeze and the clerk took us personally to our rooms and showed us the amenities. The room is huge! I'm guessing 400 - 500 square feet. It was very clean and is equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, 12 cup coffee pot and plenty of coffee.

Breakfast is included and delivered to your room at your specified time. There is not a choice of menu but they brought fresh fruit, youurt, granola bars, orange juice, and rolls.

I don't know if all the rooms are this nice, but the two rooms we had are almost identical in size and ammenities. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms next to the La Hacienda restaurant, which has outstanding food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara.We really appreciate it and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.We give our best in order to make our guest to feel like home.
Kind Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

hotel room was a lot bigger then expected for the price we paid. HUGE bathroom. very clean and simple design. our balcony has a view of the forest and pool. The hotel staff is what made this hotel so great. Staffs are super helpful and friendly. Dropped all my cash outside and one of the staff returned it without expecting anything in return.

Room Tip: spacious, clean, and friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thanks you for your compliments about our Hotel and staff.
We are devoted to helping our guest in any way in order they can have a wonderful stay here with us.Looking forward to welcoming you and yours friends again to Manuel Antonio.
Regards
Nelson
Manager
Plaza Yara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My friend and I stayed at plaza yara for 1 week. The room was HUGE, the bathroom was super clean and spacious, balcony overlooking the forest. We had breakfast delivered to our door every morning and hotel staff were so incredibly helpful with everything. The amazing staff were Nelson, Javier, and Jonathan who helped us with tips to nice restaurants, bars, directions to the beach, even driving one of our friends (who wasn't staying at the hotel) when her car got stranded somewhere. You must stay here if you are visiting Quepos or Manuel Antonio...you won't regret it!!
-dentistas from NYC

Room Tip: very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara and your kind words.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.I let know to Javier and Jonathan about your review and add a copy to their file.Our guests getting the best is what we care the most.
Kind Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very spacious clean hotel room. Very modern and updated bathroom, tv. Access to internet. Amazing balcony overlooking rainforest. Very good breakfast served to your room! Nice clean pool. Good location. Near city bus stop so very easy to get around town! Very helpful staff members that go above and beyond to give you information about town!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedNurse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Plaza Yara.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was a real pleasure for us to welcoming you and hope you return to Manuel Antonio and to Plaza Yara Hotel.
All the best
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My son and I stayed a week at Plaza Yara and had a great time. The room was very large and clean. Nice big bathroom and shower. A kitchenette with a small fridge, micro wave and kitchen sink. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning consisting of rolls, fresh fruit, yougart, granola bars and fresh juice. Every afternoon the room was cleaned, dishes done, beds made and fresh towels. A/C worked fine and could easily get the room cool. There is no ocean view, but a nice view of the surrounding forest. It is very convient to the Park or to go into town. The bus runs down the main road and there is a stop very close, for 50 cents you can get around very easily. This is not a big resort but a very nice hotel. We stayed in the room right next to the lounge, they had live music twice a week. It was no problem, good music, really not noticable and quit at 9 p.m. If this might bother you, request a room on the other end. The outdoor lounge is a great place to grab a drink and food. They serve lunch and dinner and have great apps. The food is good. For 75 dollars a night it worked great. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank office1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for your nice review of Hotel Plaza Yara,we really appreciate it. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Manuel Antonio and we are glad that you had a great time here with us. We look forward to your return to Costa Rica and to Hotel Plaza Yara.
Best Regards,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed here with a friend during the first week of April, and we were completely impressed at every turn. The rooms were HUGE - even though it was just the two of us, there would have been room for plenty more (we saw several families staying there too, which makes sense because the rooms were big enough for kids to play in). Besides the two beds, there was a whole living room/kitchenette area. A really satisfying breakfast was delivered every morning at the time of our choosing. I'll echo the other reviewers who rave about the sweet fruit bread and fresh fruit. Divine!

The restaurants on the property were delicious. We ate at a few different ones not at the hotel, and were sorely disappointed. If you are going to go somewhere else to eat, get a suggestion from one of the staff members, so you don't end up wasting your money on something that's gross.

Everything was super clean. The bathroom looked brand new and was sparkling for us every day when we got back from the beach.

The pool was a little buggy and I don't think it got much use - but why would you go to a pool when there are stunning beaches so close by? Taking a bus to them is super easy and safe.

There is also an art gallery at the hotel, with colorful artwork. I actually bought a painting to take home with me.

Hands down though, the best part of Plaza Yara is the staff. We were so taken care of. The guys were all incredibly friendly, helpful, and considerate. They offered advice on restaurants, how to find a guide that wouldn't rip us off at the national park, how to get to the beaches, where to go for day trips - everything that we could think to ask. We also got caught in a torrential downpour one day, and they lent us their office umbrella to get back to our rooms. It's the little things like that that made our stay so special. There were three different guys working the front desk while we were there, and they were all top-notch. Even the servers at the hotel restuarants were incredibly friendly and accommodating.

I usually like to try different hotels when I go places, but next time I'm in Manuel Antonio, there is no doubt that you'll find me at Hotel Plaza Yara!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browniecurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review ,your kind words and your compliments about Hotel Plaza Yara. We do our best in order our guests have a wonderful and unforgettable experience here with us . We look forward to your return to Costa Rica to welcoming you again to Hotel Plaza Yara,it will be a pleasure for us.
All the best,
Pura vida!!!
Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing