We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value and location!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Plaza Yara. The hotel is very well-located on the main road between Quepos and Manual Antonio park/beach (there is a cheap and convenient bus located a few yards from the hotel.). We stayed in room 7, which was large, clean, and comfortable. The room was nicely furnished with a large king bed and twin bed, a dining area, flat-screen tv, and kitchen area (including a fridge). The room was well air-conditioned but the lights were a bit dim. The bathroom was clean and modern.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Nelson and Jonatan were always happy to help and they provided great recommendations for activities, tours, and surf lessons.

The outdoor lounge/breakfast area is very pleasant, and the next door restaurant provided live music that was enjoyable (the music ended early enough in the evening so as not to disturb guests).

The wifi signal was weak in the room, but the hotel provided a computer for guests in the lobby, and the wifi access was strong in the lobby.

The hotel has a pool deck that is nice and relaxing. The pool, however, is very small.

Hotel Plaza Yara is a great value in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Room 7 was large and comfortable but could only be accessed by a flight of stairs. Wifi signal was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTravelJunkie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    156
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
162
396
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our family just spent several days in the Quepos area, with Hotel Plaza Yara as our base. What we got was well worth the price: A super location (with parking); friendly and very helpful staff (more than happy to help on day tripping and shuttle calls); delicious breakfasts; and a generously sized and comfortable room (with free wifi, plus liberal use of the computer in the office area). Our only wish: softer pillows.
We'd all recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arusha2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I must admit, that this was not my first choice, the hotel I originally wanted to stay at was booked. However, my boyfriend and I loved Plaza Yara. It is a lot nicer than it looks in the pictures, we were very pleasantly surprised. We booked it mostly because of the excellent rating, and those ratings were correct!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are happy to help you in selecting activities and will book any excursion for you. They speak near perfect English too. I booked a single room, but we were given a room with one Queen-sized bed and two twins. We had a sitting area, a large balcony that overlooked the pool and the forest, a sink, fridge, microwave, television, complementary coffee, and popcorn. The bathroom was more than adequate with a very spacious shower with soap and shampoo provided. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean. The pool is a bit small, and is unheated (which is fine considering the weather is quite hot).

The location great. There is a bus stop just up the road from the hotel where you can ride into Quepos or in the opposite direction to Manuel Antonio National Park for 50 cents. This bus ride only take a few minutes. Or you can take a taxi for about $4. You can also walk to Quepos from Plaza Yara. It only takes about 15 minutes, but there is no sidewalk, so you have to beware of the passing cars.

Breakfast is included in the price and it is quite good. You have a menu of three different breakfast plates to choose from, and the open air dining area overlooks the forest. The hotel is situated between a pizza place and a bar/restaurant. There are also many other bar/reastraunts along the same street.

We had an overall excellent experience at Plaza Yara.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KayteeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is great for the price! Excellent service. The hotel manager was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the rooms are large as well. Definitely recommend if you're looking for a boutique hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airlinegrl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is a small hotel that is in between Manuel Antonio National Park and the town of Quepos. With a frequent bus that runs between the two, it was easy to get to places, including Cafe Milagro, where we picked up several bags of coffee. The hotel's staff was super friendly and helpful, and they served a yummy breakfast on a pretty outdoor patio. It's a short walk to the two restaurants that top TripAdvisor's current list of places to eat in the national park area (La Luna and El Arado). The hotel suite we had was clean and spacious, and came with a mini fridge and microwave. We heard no traffic noises and slept well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Greetings from Manuel Antonio HappyOtter,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are quite pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We are sure many future guests will find your review very helpful.Would be great to welcoming you again to Plaza Yara Hotel.
Saludos y PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I've stayed here four times. The hotel is conveniently located (with comfortable, huge rooms and AMAZING bathrooms) and there are two restaurants in the complex. Make sure you stop by the bar at the Hacienda!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlakerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Hola jjlakerfan,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our Hotel.To welcoming you for Fourth Time was a pleasure as usual.It means a lot and we are sure many future guests will find your review very helpful.We look forward to your next stay with us in Manuel Antonio.
Saludos y PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Me my gf and 3 other friends stayed here on our recent trip to Costa Rica; it was all of our first time in Manuel Antonio/Quepos area and this hotel was amazing. The individuals at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Nicer than most mainstream hotel employees. They went out of their way to help us, they even went out of their way to liason us with the airline with one of our lost luggages. I would not hesitate to choose Plaza Yara to stay with the next time I'm in town. There is a bus stop 2mins from this hotel which is convinient and there is an awesome little Tex-Mex restaurant a towards Manuel Antonio (Sancho's).

The rooms were incredibly large, very clean and not to mention, the coffee they provide is very very good!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanc952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonmonge, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Yara, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Hola Dean C,
What a great review. Thank you. Your review is a great motivation for all of us to continue to create pleasant and unique experiences for all of our guests. Thank you for pinting out how special you found our staff. Our guests getting the best is what we care the most here at Plaza Yara.We are more than glad to see that you and your friends had a great time with us.We appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again next time you visit Costa Rica!
Saludos y PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,020 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing