We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited Costa Rica last week for our first time and stayed in Plaza Yara. This hotel is beautiful, cultural, modern, spacious, and conveniently located in between the town of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The staff is incredibly friendly; they are very knowledgeable of the area and booked our activities and recommended delicious restaurants. I was very pleased at how pet friendly they are... there are pictures of animals everywhere and they have a live-in dog (Mariel) and cat (Havana)... SUPER CUTE!. We enjoyed breakfast daily from the hotel courtyard which has an amazing view of the jungle. I'm absolutely recommending Hotel Plaza Yara if you are planning on visiting Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Book your attractions through the hotel's front desk. They get great prices and have tons of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zayber m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    144
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
142
367
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara in March 2013. The stay was wonderful. Jonathan was extremely helpful, calling taxis (we didn't want to deal with renting a car), recommending restaurants and things to do. The rooms were much larger and much nicer than we expected, given the price point. The morning breakfast on the patio was delightful each day we were there. If I ever go back to Manuel Antonio, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

On our way to the Coloso-Del-Mar in Zancodo we happened upon this hotel. The management was great. It was in a good location,clean and had a very nice pool. The downstairs of the hotel has a very lovely gift shop. The price of a room includes breakfest.During breakfest one morning we watched monkeys climbing and swinging in the trees..it was fun. One bad thing is that the hotel does not have a full resturant for lunch or dinner. There is plenty of other places close by to eat. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDUPSTATENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was so quiet... just the sounds of the jungle at night . We had a stick bug on our balcony one night, and a glass frog another night... It was everything we had hoped for. In addition, it was Valentine's day, and we had a 4ft deep outdoor pool all to ourselves all night in complete silence (except the sounds of the forest). It was unforgettable.

We liked the fact that there weren't monkeys all over the property like we saw advertised at some hotels. This allowed us to enjoy an amazing breakfast in the open air dining room. We still got to see (and practically reach out and touch) all those troops of squirrel and capuchin monkeys in downtown Manuel Antonio. Unfortunately, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. We tried to walk to town (and we are avid hikers) but the road was a bit dangerous and very steep... It would have taken us about 45 mins in the blistering heat. Taxi is $8US each way, but bus was affordable (just a bit of a wait). With that said, this was SO worth it. We stayed two nights, and it was very romantic and away from the bustle and resorts of downtown ManuelA.

The room itself was spacious and clean and the bathroom was brand new, tiled, with plenty of reliable hot water. There was also an in-room safe, working air conditioning, and a dinette set out on the balcony. Staff was also extremely friendly and helpful.

Would definitely choose this place again!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingphotogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Havier and Nelson were great at helping us explore the city. They were very accommodating. This hotel was very clean with a gorgeous breakfast view. We saw a howling monkey during breakfast! I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel back in December 2013 but just had to share my views now I have time. This was a great final hotel where we enjoyed four nights at the end of a busy costa rica tour (booked through the holiday place - highly recommended). We had a fantastic suite with a spacious veranda where I gazed in amazement at the monkeys trooping past the hotel as the dawn broke. The furnishings and decor were minimalist and sparkling clean making a return from the park a pleasant and relaxing process. Kitchen equipment including coffee making machine and microwave was most welcome when ramad persisted.
The hotel staff couldn't do enough and the owner was a wonderful host offering a gift on our departure to alleviate a brief moment of despair following the breakdown of the air-conditioning
(which was mended within the hour). Breakfast was most enjoyable offering a great view of the jungle with the birds and monkeys appearing as if on. In conclusion, it was the best hotel of the tour and we would certainly return if we are ever again in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muskymush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice staff, nice new hotel, nice location (between the public beach and quepos. By taxi some 8 usd away from the beach. We were in the suites, dear god were they nice!! Huge !!! with the kitchen, dining room, sitting area, 2 huge beds, walk-in closet, we LOVED IT! Ceiling to floor windows, directly in the jungle :) on the other side it is looking on the main street so you could hear some traffic. we were not in the main building, but a smaller one on the side, so basically a whole on 2 floors house for the 4 of us, very cool!! :D
The breakfast was served, you can choose among 3 types, was ok and enough.
There is a nice art gallery in the lobby, beautiful handmade ceramic geckos and frogs, amazing color combinations, 40 usd.
The pool is very small but enough to soak a bit, on a nice new terrace, with a view to the jungle.
The monkeys didn’t come while we were there :(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing