We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but dark”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful but dark”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is located just outside of Quepos on the drag heading to Manuel Antonio National Park. There is a bus stop within a block and it's just a short bus ride for about 50 cents to get to the park entrance or the beach. The room, while beautiful, was very dark. Given the humidity of the area, we spread towels on the floor near the a/c and spread wet suits etc there so they would dry overnight. The hotel offers a lovely breakfast menu and the café area is surrounded by forest. Beautiful! The pool is really small - but with the ocean so close, we didn't even use it. The bed was a bit on the hard side for my taste. Being unfamiliar with this area, we found lots of hotels with adjoining restaurants on the bus route. If you are looking for more of an area to walk around and pick something, you'll find a few options at the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    150
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
151
380
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lala land
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was great. Good breakfast. Decent price. It's on the main road of all hotels. Everyone recommended we take taxis everywhere - the grocery store, the beach, the restaurants - which we did. Sometimes we would walk 30 minutes to these places, if you don't mind the exercise up and down hills :).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinqt366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

First of all, the rooms at this place are huge and immaculately clean. The bathroom is also large and modern. They give you coffee, milk, and sugar each day. We stayed in room 12, which had a little outdoor table and chairs setup by the pool. Breakfast was delicious! The pool was on the smaller side, but it was great. We heard/saw a howler monkey while lounging one afternoon. We didn't see a sloth ourselves but heard from other guests that they had seen one at breakfast. The only downfall is that the hotel is a bit removed from all the action. I would have liked to walk around instead of driving or taking a bus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angmroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
244 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nice place, backing onto rainforest, extremely friendly and helpful staff, decent breakfast choice, outside parking. The room was very large. On the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio so useful if you have a car. If not, the bus stops outside every 15 minutes, and there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance (mainly at hotels). There is a seafood restaurant attached to the hotel (called Z) which we ate at once and it was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride from the beach at Manuel Antonio. The bus stop is close to the hotel and it costs less than a dollar each way. If you are looking to save some money by not staying at the beach this is a very nice option. Breakfast is included and you get to choose from three different meal options each day. The rooms are spacious suites. They are very modern and clean. I recommend getting a room overlooking the jungle behind the building. We saw monkeys on two different mornings in the trees behind are room. They even came to visit at breakfast one morning. There is a restaurant attached to the building. It is a bit pricey but is an okay option if you aren't in the mood to go out for dinner. The portions were large so we split entrees to save money.

The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Again, this hotel will cost you a bit of time in getting to and from Manuel Antonio or Quepos, but it is a very nice option for the money.

Room Tip: Get the jungle view to see the monkeys in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentuckygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited Costa Rica last week for our first time and stayed in Plaza Yara. This hotel is beautiful, cultural, modern, spacious, and conveniently located in between the town of Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The staff is incredibly friendly; they are very knowledgeable of the area and booked our activities and recommended delicious restaurants. I was very pleased at how pet friendly they are... there are pictures of animals everywhere and they have a live-in dog (Mariel) and cat (Havana)... SUPER CUTE!. We enjoyed breakfast daily from the hotel courtyard which has an amazing view of the jungle. I'm absolutely recommending Hotel Plaza Yara if you are planning on visiting Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Book your attractions through the hotel's front desk. They get great prices and have tons of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zayber m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara in March 2013. The stay was wonderful. Jonathan was extremely helpful, calling taxis (we didn't want to deal with renting a car), recommending restaurants and things to do. The rooms were much larger and much nicer than we expected, given the price point. The morning breakfast on the patio was delightful each day we were there. If I ever go back to Manuel Antonio, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing