We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, beautiful large room, great breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, beautiful large room, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent 3 very enjoyable nights at the Plaza Yara. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful and the room was great (#3). The room was probably 15' x 30' and decorated very modern. The bed was very comfortable (firm) and the AC worked well. The walk-in shower had great pressure but the bathroom kinda smelled a bit like boiled cabbage or ?. The towels definitely show some age as they were starting to fray at the ends and some had stains on them. There was a canister of local coffee as well as cream in the fridge which was a wonderful treat. There was also a bag of microwave popcorn left for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast dining area is fabulous, as it is open air and right next to the forest.. The breakfast was delicious all three mornings and the service was terrific.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    150
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
154
385
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent hotel,
Large luxury rooms.
Very fair price.
Very quiet.
Very simple to get there.
Excellent service.
Javier from the reception helped us as if we were his family. A great man.
Really miss the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We like staying at smaller, more intimate locally owned properties and the Plaza Yara did not disappoint. The hotel was spotless and the staff was very friendly and more importantly, very helpful. They have a small pool that serves as a meeting place for the travelers as well as the howler monkeys. The a/c worked fine and was quiet. The hotel has a small art gallery with artwork from some local artists as well as masks from the Boruca indigenous tribe. The hotel manager, Javier, was a great source for info about tours, restaurants and the buses. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: we were in room #1 and had a balcony that overlooked the pool and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel plaza Yara in mid January. We were greeted by Jonathan and given a tour of the hotel on the way to our room. Jonathan gave us tips on things to do and all of them turned out to be spot on. We did have some issues with the wifi, which was spotty. We were directed to a restaurant to use their wifi. There was a guard overnight for the parking which is right on the street which was reassuring. We saw a white face monkey at breakfast. The breakfast may have been our favorite of the trip. Great coffee, fresh fruit, and nice service. The gallery has wonderful local crafts and art. Although the hotel is right off the street, our room was quiet and the beds great for sleeping. We could relax on the deck off our room and enjoy the rainforest.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is located just outside of Quepos on the drag heading to Manuel Antonio National Park. There is a bus stop within a block and it's just a short bus ride for about 50 cents to get to the park entrance or the beach. The room, while beautiful, was very dark. Given the humidity of the area, we spread towels on the floor near the a/c and spread wet suits etc there so they would dry overnight. The hotel offers a lovely breakfast menu and the café area is surrounded by forest. Beautiful! The pool is really small - but with the ocean so close, we didn't even use it. The bed was a bit on the hard side for my taste. Being unfamiliar with this area, we found lots of hotels with adjoining restaurants on the bus route. If you are looking for more of an area to walk around and pick something, you'll find a few options at the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lala land
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was great. Good breakfast. Decent price. It's on the main road of all hotels. Everyone recommended we take taxis everywhere - the grocery store, the beach, the restaurants - which we did. Sometimes we would walk 30 minutes to these places, if you don't mind the exercise up and down hills :).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancinqt366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

First of all, the rooms at this place are huge and immaculately clean. The bathroom is also large and modern. They give you coffee, milk, and sugar each day. We stayed in room 12, which had a little outdoor table and chairs setup by the pool. Breakfast was delicious! The pool was on the smaller side, but it was great. We heard/saw a howler monkey while lounging one afternoon. We didn't see a sloth ourselves but heard from other guests that they had seen one at breakfast. The only downfall is that the hotel is a bit removed from all the action. I would have liked to walk around instead of driving or taking a bus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angmroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
972 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Property: Hotel Plaza Yara
Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made bamboo furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing