We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Plaza Yara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Yara
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here with my friend for three nights in April. We LOVED this hotel. When we first arrived we were surprised to see an art gallery. The gallery and hotel itself is filled with very cool paintings and art. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. And the AC and Wifi worked great. We had a room with one queen and one twin bed. There was a lovely little balcony outside overlooking the jungle and outdoor breakfast area. There is a pool, although small, it served it's purpose for a little R&R. This hotel is located right in the middle between the Manuel Antonio beach area and the real town. The bus stop is about a two minute walk and you can head in either direction for approx $1. There are several restaurants in walking distance such as Ronnie's (up a dirt hill road but worth it) and Coconuts just down the road.

The staff were really great, polite and super helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmet1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Plaza Yara for 2 nights. We had suite 4 which was huge with a lovely kitchen balcony area that overlooked the forest and pool. Staff could not have been more helpful. Ask about directions to the secret local beach were you get to hike for about 25 mins thru the forest with monkeys following you in the trees and Halloween crabs darting all over. Just awesome. Few things to bear in mind. The hotel is right by the road so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper and there is a little construction going on right now. We had a intermittent drain smell in our bathroom. Get the bus to Manuel Antonio or Quepos to eat or grab groceries as not much around the hotel, no market etc.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

You can stop looking for hotel options in Manuel Antonio...just reserve your room at Hotel Plaza Yara now! I can't say enough about this hotel. When you walk in the room it just blows you away. HUGE and modern! The location is beautiful, rooms are clean, facilities are very nice, WiFi actually works, and the front desk personnel are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Yara in May 2013 and loved it so much that I returned this year and just got back last week. This hotel is magical with beautiful works of art everywhere and a gallery complete with Boruca masks in the reception area. The staff are courteous, polite, friendly (as are all ticos and ticas) and truly make you feel right at home. The hotel has undergone renovations since my last visit and I didn't imagine it could be more stunning than it was before. The rooms are huge with a separate kitchen area outside overlooking the pool and monkeys occasionally stop by for a banana or two. At night we were serenaded by the natural music of the frogs in the jungle. It is by far, the nicest suite I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile! There is a bus every 20 minutes outside which will take you to Manuel Antonio or Quepos for 285 colones. Next door there is a wonderful bar restaurant called Z Seafood Grill which I will review separately. I highly recommend staying at this property. You will NOT be disappointed. Special thanks to Nelson,Jonathan and Antonio for all their help. Gracias y pura vida!

Room Tip: The rooms are equally beautiful. I stayed in a different suite last year and it was just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrywyse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This property exceeded expectations. The suites are spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom is well designed with a large shower and good water pressure and abundant hot water. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to assist you with whatever questions or concerns you have. The gallery features great art, jewelry, and other items at reduced prices for guests. Breakfast staff are courteous and the menu and food great. This hotel is well worth returning to.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The room was fantastic, large and airy, with spacious walk in shower in the bathroom. We were greeted with a troup of squirrel monkeys playing in the trees opposite the hotel and later in the trees by our balcony. Fresh coffee, milk and popcorn provided everyday, and the staff were very helpful with lots of advice and information about the area. A nice breakfast was also included in the rate. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ssssssk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really can't say enough about the quality of this hotel. The pictures don't do the hotel justice. I've never been to CR but was kind of expecting the room to be a little dirty, a little dingy, etc but was very pleasantly surprised! The modern decor was great, and everything was very clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and linens very clean. Bathroom was spotless. OH, and the rooms were HUUUGE! Almost twice the size of a typical hotel room in the states! I think the hotel needs to get a better photographer because the rooms were honestly wonderful! It is located just a bit away from the loudness of the beach, like maybe an extra minute by car but the quietness was worth the extra minute and everything is still a walkable distance away.

The staff was very very accommodating. They helped us plan out our activities and called them to set them up. When we checked out they let us keep our luggage in the back room for the rest of the day. We didn't realize until we left MA that we accidentally left our coffee beans. they actually sent us an email about them and mailed them to us! They refused to accept a tip for mailing them back to the states for us. Above and beyond.

There is a reason they have won TA awards and are so highly rated. Our budget was higher then their fee but we took a chance, I'm so glad we did! I would definitely stay there again. In fact, I hope I do!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upnover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Yara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Yara

Address: Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 322-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Yara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Yara is located only five minutes to Manuel Antonio National Park. Hotel Plaza Yara offers all suites feature custom made furniture,queen size beds,kichenettes and spacious baths. relax on the balcony and enjoy the jungle views with variety of wildlife with passes daily including monkeys,sloths,iguanas and exotic birds. Hotel Plaza Yara offers the possibility for you to enjoy your stay in comfort,casual elegance and in tune with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Yara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Yara Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing