We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Manuel Antonio
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villas El Parque(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mandarina(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divisamar Hotel & Casino(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Byblos Resort & Casino(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Moon Villa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
98
8
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
8
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost lorenzobarba rojacafe milagrogreat exercisecosta ricacar rentalgrocery storesteep roadmonkeys visitpiece of paradiseperfect locationair conditioningspent a weekstayed longerhome away from homemain beachthe pacific ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This place is great! Very clean and spacious! Split level building very private. Excellent views, pool cold and refreshing. Centrally located, and owner Lorenzo is the best. Found while driving to another hotel, glad we stopped and asked about the Last Minute Special. Satyed 4 nights and planning next visit to definitely stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First of all, I am so sorry this has taken me so long to review such a great property! We booked the entire villa for our families and wedding party to stay during our Feb. 2013 wedding. It was one of the best decisions we made during the entire wedding process!
Laurent was very easy to get a hold of, and extremely helpful, even though he was going through a great deal personally at the time. Our entire crew of 21 absolutely LOVED staying here! There was plenty of space for all of us, we had dinner together every night on one of the balconies.
We were welcomed to the villa by a troupe of capuchin monkeys who at one time were actually eating banana right off a knife my mom was using to slice with! We also had a sloth visitor who would shift from one spot to another throughout the day. The view is incredible from every level, the pool was so wonderful to have, and was a common hang out place for the crew! There is everything you could need on property, and Hector and his wife were so perfectly helpful and friendly. Laurant also recommended we hire chef Chris, which was another fantastic idea! Well worth the 20$ per person for nightly delicious dinners without the stress of dining out with a giant group! The whole experience was such a great way for our families and friends to get to know each other!
We all still talk about just what a great place to stay this was, and we are already talking about renting it out again for our 5 year anniversary!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but the view from the top two floors can't be beat!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LindseyLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked our blended family with Laurent a year out after reading all of the wonderful review on Tripadvisor. Everything I read was true. Laurent is very prompt in answering e-mails, sending additional information and organizing tours. The Villa's location was perfect for walking to cafes, nightlife, grocery stores and catching local transportation. Laurent was not in town, but Hector & Ana were on hand when we needed help, which we appreciated. The shuttle bus ride from SJO was an easy 3 hour ride, though the beautiful countryside. We had 10 family members, ages 62 to 13, we were able to spread out or be together. Our favorite time of the day was waking and gathering on the terrace to watch the sunrise. It was so peaceful and beautiful. The little monkey's would visit daily, offering a humorous show. We cooked a few times and ate out several times at the local cafes. Emilo's, next door, to the Villa, had a wonderful Jazz combo playing the night we arrived, which made a great jump start to our trip. Our family all agreed that this trip and the Villa was our best trip ever, hands down!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband, our two boys, and I stayed at Villa Manuel Antonio about a week or so ago. It was wonderful! We decided against renting a car and were glad we did. Taxis and bus line was readily available. We were close enough to the beach, had wonderful view, and encountered lots of wildlife on our walks and some mornings at the villa. We spent every afternoon at the pool, and it was great. Laurent/Lorenzo was a great help to us, and so friendly. What a nice guy! It was such a relaxing trip.

Room Tip: Monkeys didn't come to the bottom level, but we heard them when they came and could come out to the garden area to see them.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I got married at the Villa! We rented out the entire complex and 21 of us stayed at the villa quite comfortably. There was plenty of space and we didn't feel crammed at all. Lorenzo, the villa owner, was so great! He was available before we got there via phone or e-mail. He also was in contact with my wedding planner. We had the ceremony on the garden level, dinner on the main level penthouse and the band/dance on the pool level. I will admit, it was a bit nerve racking planning a wedding out of the country and not having it at a 'resort.' However, we are so glad we went with the villa- much more personal experience and we would do it again in a heartbeat. Take Lorenzo's advice from the get-go... rent the entire complex if you're having a wedding! We didn't want to have any rooms unoccupied (waste of money!), but we also liked the thought of 100% privacy. We ended up having 2 rooms empty, but we are so glad we took his advice and booked the whole place.

Lorenzo was very helpful during the week stay at the villa as well. He arranged anything we wanted to do through his connections & got us good prices. Transportation picked us up right at the villa! You were also able to do your laundry at the villa- the cleaning service does it for you. Lorenzo made it clear that it was for essential items, not for your whole suitcase, but it was very helpful to get some necessities washed!

You will see monkeys! The best place is on floor right above the garden level. The monkeys would come by like clock-work. Early AM, noon-ish and dinnertime.

Three notes
1. The beach is not a 5 minute walk like the website states. It is closer to 20min downhill.... and guess what that means. Yup. Straight uphill on the way back up. Not an easy trek when it is 100 degrees out.
2. If you are renting out the entire complex (which I highly recommend for a wedding), find a way to bring the $$ to pay for the second 50% BEFORE you get to CR. My husband and I traveled for a week before going to the villa and didn't want to have all that cash on us. The banks wanted to charge large fees for big withdraws. We ended up having to have one of our guests bring cash from the states in order to make payment. Stressful!
3. Note to Lorenzo- when there is such a large party staying at the villa there needs to be more keys! Having only 4 sets of keys (one for each level- penthouse, pool level, 2 lower levels) was the most annoying and frustrating thing about our stay at the villa.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews