We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgar is fantastic!”
Review of Aguila Tours

Aguila Tours
Ranked #43 of 65 Tours in Manuel Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manuel Antonio National Park, Mangrove boat or kayak tours, country birdwatching tours. Here at Aguila Tours we enjoy to share our country nature wonders and teach others about conservation. Juan Luis Brenes
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Edgar is fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were at Manuel Antonio last week and had a great morning tour with Edgar. He picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the park entrance. We were a family of four with two young children and he was so patient and kind with us. The hike is not a long distance (maybe 1 mile or so), but it took us 3.5 hours because of all of the stopping to see things.

Edgar spotted the most amazing things. My husband and I eventually got the giggles because he would spot a tiny grasshopper way up in a tree and show us in his spotting scope! Let's just say that the average daytripper who doesn't hire a guide is going to see diddly squat. These guys are trained professionals who know where to look, what you're seeing, and can answer any question you have about the flora and fauna of the area.

I highly recommend this company - we got to see monkeys (howler and white face), sloths (two toe and three toe), grass hoppers, Jesus Christ Lizards, iguanas, deer (one licked my five year old's hand!), blue morpho butterflies, etc. It was a lovely, albeit hot day and we had a great time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SquatchGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    4
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Manuel Antonio Hike”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hike is more of a nature walk - about 3 miles through the park. Edgar took his time to show us every possible sign of wildlife he could, it was a great tour! He provided us with lot of information and took time to make sure we got great pictures of all the wildlife - which included lizards, baby viper snake, sloths, rodents, etc. Highly recommend! Its a little pricey at $40 per person including transportation to and from the hotel, snacks and juice, but not much more that the guys hanging out at the front of the park. You must have a guide to see the wildlife, they know exactly what to look for!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Juan is incredible as a guide!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Highly recommend!! We went out in kayaks just the 2 of us and Juan.

Saw the wonderful jungle, a sloth, Jesus Lizard, iguana, lizard that crawled into the kayak, birds, and Tons of monkeys!!

We had monkeys climb on our shoulders and even onto our lap! It was a once in a lifetime experience!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeckiInAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tours of Manuel Antonio and the mangroves”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We used Aguila Tours on two separate occasions: for a guided tour through Manuel Antonio National Park and for a boat tour through the Damas Island estuary and mangroves.

While you can visit Manuel Antonio without a tour guide, if you want to see wildlife, we highly recommend going with guides. There is no way we would have been able to spot the sloths on our own, much less spy the hummingbird nest. If all you want to see are white faced monkeys, you'll see those in spades along the Manuel Antonio beach, which is by far one of the most beautiful beaches we've ever visited. We regret not taking our swim gear when we went on the tour since we didn't think we'd have time (we'd booked another tour for later that afternoon).

If all you want is a fantastic beach, you might want to skip hiring tour guides for Manuel Antonio. But if you want a marvelous guided boat tour, you won't be disappointed with touring the mangroves around Damas Island and rounding it off with a typical Costa Rican lunch at the home of one of the guides. Our guide, Pablo, did a fantastic job, and having his family host our group for lunch made for a perfect capstone to the experience.

The highlight of the mangrove tour was the amazingly close views of white-faced monkeys, close enough to touch. We also saw the extremely rare Silky Anteater and numerous birds. Although we didn't see as much wildlife as we had in other tours, the proximity to the monkeys at the end of the tour more than made up for it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time...very professional”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I found this service to be wonderful. Our guide was Jason who was sent to us by Juan. Jason was very knowledgeable, had excellent English, and eagle eyes. We would never have seen the lovely creatures we did without his pointing them out. There were quite a few other people on the trail during our afternoon tour. It is the busy season though, and the other guides and people were very polite. So many sloths, lizards, spiders and other insects as well as a LOT of toucans! Gorgeous resting spot on a beautiful beach then a walk through a mangrove forest. My three kids and my elderly parents were all fine. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatyBrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aguila Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Aguila Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing