We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Relaxation”
Featured in Su Casa Magazine - Ocean Views from Every Room!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Featured in Su Casa Magazine - Ocean Views from Every Room!
Sunset at Casa de Frutas Luxurious Bali Modern Tropical Design
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
120 reviews
Featured in Su Casa Magazine - Ocean Views from Every Room!
Sunset at Casa de Frutas
Luxurious Bali Modern Tropical Design
Casa de Frutas at Sunset
Mauricio - Your Own Personal Butler
Casa de Frutas - Hilltop Location - 5 Minutes Down to Our Beach!
Our Private Beach at Tulemar - Free Lounge Chairs/Umbrellas/Kayaks - Food and Beverage Service
Open Air Living Area with Dramatic Ocean Views
Picture perfect views
Dining Area with Ocean and Jungle Views - A Private Chef is Available
Spacious Kitchen - Perfect for Entertaining
Master Bedroom and Terrace with Balinese 'Napping Loungers' (far end)
Master Bedroom with a King Size Bed and Ocean Views
Master Bath and Water Fall Shower with Ocean Views
Two Identical Guest Suites Each with 2 Queen Size Beds and Living/Dining Area
Guest Suites - Closet / Bath / Dressing Areas
Guest Suites - Each with it\'s own Outdoor Living Room
Terrace-Pool-Pavillion at Night
Terrace - Pool - Pavilion - Outdoor Entertaining and Relaxation
Outdoor Waterfall Shower - Private - but with Ocean Views!
Best Ocean Views
Tulemar Entrance
Green Iguana
Baby sloth and its mom at Tulemar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
D C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful stay! This villa is a stunning property with no detail overlooked. We stayed with 2 other couples and it was perfect in every way. The staff made us feel right at home, and Mauricio and Dave checked in with us often to make sure we were having a good time. Anything we needed was provided. We had dinner overlooking the sunset nearly every night, and several nights we had an amazing private chef come and prepare us a delicious meal.

The grounds were impeccable, and we often saw monkeys or sloths right from our house. The beach is a 10 minute walk away, and if lying on the beach isn't your thing, there are hiking trails off the beach to further explore the grounds and wildlife.

We will definitely be coming back to stay next time we are in Costa Rica!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Hi DC.....thanks for the wonderful review.....we loved having you and your friends with us.....you were great guests.....we are already looking forward to your return!

Dave and Mauricio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat K
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply The Best!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you like the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton, you'll love Casa de Frutas! In fact, it's even better because it's an entire home with enough space for your family or friends with all of the services a 5 star property has to offer.
The home is stylish and gorgeous and is so lovingly maintained, you'll feel as if you are the first to stay in it. The combination of location, Pacific views and sunsets, Balinese open-air style home, flowers, wildlife, beautiful grounds and pool, smells and sounds are intoxicating! The housekeeping staff (Sandra and Mayela) are awesome!
I'm not sure what I can say about Mauricio (the concierge) that others haven't said, but the service he provides takes Casa de Frutas to a whole other level. Our stay was filled with so many special surprises. Mauricio suggested and arranged massages by Todd and a special Costa Rican breakfast cooked in-house. He also made sure we were taken care of at the many wonderful restaurants nearby. We especially enjoyed Emilio's, Cafe Milagro, Kapi Kapi and Ronnie's.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We researched online for 2 weekends for our family of 5 (myself, husband, son and daughter-in-law and single daughter) before deciding on Casa de Frutas. It wasn't an easy decision with so many choices available. I feel as though we were guided because all of us had the vacation of a lifetime! Simply the best!
We hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
HI Pat....thank you so much for the wonderful review on Casa de Frutas.....we loved having you as our guests and look forward to your return!

Dave and Mauricio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Breathtaking country and home to match”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Fantastic from start to finish. Staff is exceptional and extremely accommodating. The best views and sunsets in Tulemar!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and Bali Modern home
Liked least: would be nice to have the under counter ice maker in the kitchen instead of laundry.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
HI Matt....thanks for the kind words......we loved having you with us and hope to see you back soon!

Dave Houck
Mauricio Jara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmGrlJenn
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Luxury, Serenity, Top Notch Accomodation and Service.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family of 4 (kids 12 and 8) felt right at home immediately at Casa de Frutas. We were warmly welcomed by Owner Dave and Concierge Mauricio, as well as staff members Sandra, Mayela and Christian. The amenities of the house and property were fully explained, and then we relaxed an enjoyed the lovely panoramic views, perfectly spotless home, and amenities of Tulemar. There is no back wall on the house on the upper floor, which we loved, as there is no dividing line between you and the beauty that surrounds you. (Bugs and wildlife were of no concern, truly. Just be smart and don't leave food out!) The home is better than the pictures/description, comfortable, luxurious, and calm inducing. We loved having the pool as well. Our concierge, Mauricio, took great care of us, and made our first trip to Costa Rica so easy. Personal touches provided by Mauricio and the staff really made the stay very special.
Booking and all business interactions were more than professional-- we found Owner Dave to be very warm, friendly and helpful, fully responsive to all our questions and happy to share his experience.
Traveler's with small children need to know: the house wasn't designed with kids in mind. (Many aren't.) There is a waist high railing to prevent falls, but nothing beneath, to preserve the fabulous views. When it rains, the edge will be slippery. So you will need to be watchful. (Grownups, too.... it's not rocket science.) Similarly, the master is on the upper floor, kids will be downstairs, connected by an exterior staircase. Not a big deal for our kids, but good to know as you consider this rental. Because the owner is very professional, these things will be explained fully upon considering renting, but as you peruse, do consider these points.
Tulemar's restaurant and beach were wonderful for days when we chose not to take excursions. The fresh juices couldn't be beat, nor could Tulemar's private, uncrowded beach. Boogie boards, sand toys and kayaks are available, in addition to chairs and towels. Every interaction with Tulemar's staff was friendly and beyond helpful. Wildlife is everywhere within Tulemar, as are amazing flowers and trees, so you really never know what you will see next.
To sum up, Casa de Frutas is a gem. Your only disappointment will be that you have to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review.....we loved having you and your family with us......and we look forward to your return!

Dave and Mauricio
Casa de Frutas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonkaC
Orange County CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Magical!!!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Casa de Frutas is a truly magical place - beautiful, comfortable, luxurious. The view is beyond words - and even pictures cannot capture the 180 degree view and the sounds of the jungle. Wildlife is literally right in front of you, every day - from the house, and on walks around the neighborhood, we saw three kinds of monkeys, sloths, reptiles, birds, frogs, bats, etc. It is rare to find a rental home that really has everything you need - well stocked, and very close to restaurants, activities, and the towns of Quepos and Manuel Antonio. It is located in Tulemar, which gives you access to a private beach and multiple pools (if the private one at the house isn't beautiful enough for you). And the service is impeccable - Mauricio is there for your every need, and the rest of the staff are helpful, kind, fun, and very respectful of your privacy and space. We have stayed here twice, and cannot wait to return again. Cannot recommend this home more highly!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury, service, and amazing view!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2013
Hi Tonya....thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.....we really enjoyed having you and your friends with us.....again.....and look forward to your next stay!

Dave and Mauricio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J R
Fresno, California
1 review
“Dream Vacation at Casa de Frutas”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

From the moment we walked through the front doors of this gorgeous
Casa we were blown away with its beauty! Open to the spectacular
views of the lovely jungle and ocean, you feel like you are one with
nature immediately. The furnishings and decor are top notch, with the
most beautiful array of fresh flowers throughout the whole house. The
staff and all workers were so very kind and very efficient, making us
feel very welcome. Plenty of lovely bedrooms to fit multiple families
in one house. A huge master bedroom with a private bathroom, and two
large bedrooms downstairs with their own bathrooms and kitchens.
Perfectly located between Quepos and Manual Antonio, with a variety
of nice restaurants we could walk to. Our own pool with a huge
cabana area to lounge around on, and a private beach easy to walk to.
Also many other swimming pools available to us to use. Definitely
the nicest place we've ever stayed. The most fantastic vacation we've
ever had!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We loved having you and your friends with us at Casa de Frutas and hope to have you back again!

Dave Houck
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieV147
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Casa de Frutas is just as dreamy the third time as the first!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Words and photos do not describe this awesome vacation villa in Tulemar.
Dave and Mauricio and the staff see to our every need. Always friendly, helpful and there to help us have a fabulous vacation.
This is our third stay at this Balinese style villa and I can't wait until we book our fourth. It's located in the beautiful Tulemar area with private trails, beaches, and monkeys galore! There is so much to do in Costa Rica but we have a hard time tearing ourselves away from Casa de Frutas.
I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Casa de Frutas is open air and there's nothing like waking up to the view.
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2012
Hi Angie....thanks for taking the time to post a review......we loved having you and your friends with us again......and we'll be ready when you decide to return!

Dave Houck
Casa de Frutas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing