We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful details throughout the house and gardens”
other travellers have booked this property
Your beachfront villa awaits!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your beachfront villa awaits!
These are the moments you'll remember forever. This could be you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Your beachfront villa awaits!
These are the moments you'll remember forever.
This could be you!
Location! Location! Location! You're a 1-minute walk to the beach.
The Great Room offers garden views and free flowing conversation.
The Great Room Staircase Leads to the Master Bedroom.
The Master Bedroom has a romantic four poster bed and canopy.
The Master Bath has handpainted sinks, tub, bidet and private garden.
Studio Bedroom Floats Over the Livingroom.
Kitchen view allows you to cook and visit.
Water volleyball anyone?
You don't get visitors like this back home.
All spa services are available on site.
Relax by the pool in this comfy hammock.
A destination wedding doesn't get more romantic than sealing your vows on a tropical beach.
This is your perfect beach front wedding choice.. No shuttling guests because you're on the beach.
This is the perfect location for your beachfront destination wedding.
Couples come from all over the world to get married at the Discovery Beach House.
Manuel Antonio has 25 of the 27 activities available in Costa Rica.
Manuel Antonio National park is a 10-minute beach walk away.
Kayaking.
Canyoning.
Parasailing is just 1 of the 25 activities available in Manuel Antonio.
You Deserve Romantic Walks on the Beach.
Endangered red-backed squirrel monkeys often nest in the rooster palm over the hot tub,
Howler Monkeys are the Loudest Monkey in the World and we have 'em!
Snorkeling.
The Discovery Beach House property is on the natural foraging route of these capuchin monkeys.
This three-toed sloth is a frequent visitor to the Discovery Beach House property.
Two-toed sloths are rarer in Costa Rica than three-toed sloths but can be seen on the property.
Come See our Wildlife!
Wouldn't you rather Be Sipping a Coconut on the Beach?
Enjoy the many tropical flowers in our garden like these sexy pink  heleconias.
Blue Morpho Butterflies are indigenous to Manuel Antonio.
Do you miss your pet when you're on vacation? House mascot Diego loves tummy rubs!
Midnight at your oasis.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZGastroBa...
playa naranjo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful details throughout the house and gardens”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This Oceanfront villa is a dream vacation. Not only are you a couple of hundred feet from the ocean, but a large pool to swim in as well. The private chef and masseuse services (extra) were very inexpensive to make a fantastic vacation, incredible. Book this house for a large family or a small group of your friends. You will not be disappointed!!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. It warms my heart when our guests notice the care we take with our home and surrounding gardens. Having a private chef and a masseuse proves you know how to enjoy a touch of divine decadence! ~ Evelyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlia K
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven on Earth!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Discovery Beach House for a week leading up to our wedding and held our ceremony on the beachfront. It's hard to put into words exactly how perfect the entire week was. The rental is not a house but truly a home. The staff was perfection! Every day, Manuella was there to make sure the place was immaculate, leaving creative and sometime hilarious shaped towel masterpieces on our bed. Her husband, Juan, and the rest of the security/maintenance/ grounds crew were so friendly, making sure we had everything we needed at all times, working tirelessly. And Sabrina! She was absolutely amazing! She met us upon arrival to go through the details of the home, gave us fantastic recommendations of where to eat and shop, and went above and beyond when we needed help. My now mother in law had forgotten her dress for the wedding and Sabrina set us up with specific shops in Quepos to visit for a replacement and even went so far as to offer to set up an appointment for a tailor made dress if we were unable to find one. She made sure to check in on us over the course of our stay and made us feel truly pampered, available for anything we needed. Planning a wedding from a different country is difficult but Sabrina was so attentive via email before we arrived and helped a great deal in planning our excursions before we arrived for my husband and I, as well as our entire family. She also went above and beyond in planning a birthday dinner for my brother in law on the day of our arrival, complete with a homemade meal by Desiree (more on her later) and balloons and tequila. Just wonderful!

Not only is DBH a luxury home but it's setting is stunning. We were there in July in the green season and the beach was never crowded. How amazing to wake up and walk right out the back door to take a relaxing walk on the beach. And if you're not into swimming in the ocean, DBH has a beautiful pool and hot tub.The home is in close walking proximity to everything you may need - including a convenience store, restaurants and the National Park. It was just my husband and I staying there but the home could easily fit 4 more people.

We were lucky enough to hold our wedding ceremony for 35 people out front of the house on the beach. We also hosted a welcome party a few days earlier on the property for all of our guests. The home more than accommodates a party of that size and bigger, inside and out. I can't express how wonderful the staff was in helping us prepare for all of our events! They made them even more special. And the backdrop for the wedding was spectacular at sunset.

Many of our guests booked rentals for the week and they had good experiences as there are many beautiful options in the MA area; however, DBH is far and away the best that I saw.

And then there's Desiree, the chef that we hired for a few days during our stay. She is absolutely AMAZING! Our guests could not stop talking about the delicious food they had at all of our events. If you're lucky enough to stay at DBH, definitely take the opportunity to hire Desiree at the very least for one meal. You will not be disappointed! And not only is she a fantastic chef but she's so friendly and delightful to be around. My only regret is that we didn't have a chance to have more of Desiree's home cooked meals while there!

We had barely left MA before we starting plotting our next visit to DBH. It truly heaven on earth! We left absolutely in love with DBH.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the staff, the beauty of it all!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
You can't imagine how wonderful you make us all feel. That your wedding was perfect is truly what everyone at our Discovery Beach House was striving for. Our staff loved making you happy. I'm glad to hear you'll be coming back, since I was disappointed at not being able to meet you before you left. Thank you for allowing us to pamper you in paradise. We look forward to doing it again! ~ Evelyn & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The Ultimate Costa Rica Experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Discovery Beach house last week with a group of 8 (4 adults/4 kids). This property is fabulous! The house is in perfect condition and is decorated so beautifully with all of the amenities that you could ever need. The pool, hot tub, and grounds are immaculate, and the staff takes excellent care of everything that you need. There is a guard gate, daily maid service, and a concierge (Sabrina). Sabrina was very helpful in booking an excursion, and renting surfboards for us. She can set up taxi service, massages, cooked meals, etc. The house is located directly on the beach. Our family was on the beach surfing every day! We had white face monkeys visiting the backyard every afternoon, a three toed tree sloth hanging from a tree in the front yard, and howler monkeys in the front yard one day. This house is walking distance to local restaurants, shops, and a grocery store. If you are looking for the ultimate Costa Rica experience, the Discovery Beach House will deliver! We will definitely be coming back…..if not moving there one day! Thanks Evelyn and Sabrina!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
We're all so happy that you had such a fabulous time and that you enjoyed our home! I'm thrilled to hear that our policy of "new guests, new house" shows. We strive to keep our home and property in 5-star condition. If something doesn't work, we fix it immediately. It's very gratifying to make our guests happy. We hope you return and let us pamper you again! - Evelyn and David, owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Being recommended to your friends is the ultimate compliment. Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DrTrvl201...
Syracuse, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This villa is AMAZING. It is beautifully decorated and uses the small space perfectly. It is private, quiet, and safe. It is right on the beach, with easy access to the national park, restaurants and bars, and the town. The monkeys swing through the trees on the property. The owners and staff are incredible -- friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We could not have wished for a better villa on this family vacation. You should stay here when you visit Manuel Antonio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the owners and staff, the comfort and beauty
Liked least: Not an applicable question
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. We hope we made you feel like family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3521
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Life is short... Do Costa Rica right the first time!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have been fortunate to travel to quite a few exotic destinations over the years, and our recent stay at Discovery Beach House (DBH) ranks amongst the best ever. The beautiful home, which is one of only a small handful located directly on the beach in Manuel Antonio (M.A.), was beautiful. It was tastefully and uniquely decorated by the owners (Evelyn and David), very comfortable, and felt much more like a home than a rental property. Evelyn and David are fun and engaging people who have lived lives that would make Jack Kerouac envious, and DBH is filled with photos and relics of their life’s travels.

Some of the highlights of our stay included:

DBH LOCATION:
• DBH is located directly on Espadilla Beach, which has been ranked as one of the best in Central America. A short walk in one direction takes you into the restaurant district of M.A., and the other directions takes you to the main beach area and shops.

• The very efficient public bus transport stops in front of DBH, and is a wonderful way to get anywhere in M.A. or Quepos.

• The surrounding jungle is home to three different species of monkeys, plus sloths. And we had daily visits by white-faced and howler monkeys in the lovely yard and pool area at DBH

DBH STAFF:
• The staff at DBH were incredibly kind, discreet and hard-working, and the home & grounds were meticulously maintained.

• The “guard dogs,” Diego and Frieda, were a hit with our two daughters (and they were not a nuisance or bother at all, as they stayed with the 24-hour security/grounds staff most of the time)

• We splurged on hiring Chef Desiree for a couple evening’s meals. We discussed menu items beforehand, and each meal was beautifully prepared and served at DBH – and was delicious.

• We had extensive communications before our trip with our private concierge for DBH, Sabrina Montalto, who promptly responded to all of our (many) questions, as well as making other ancillary arrangements for our trip, including private road transfers, chef arrangements, rafting and horseback tours, etc. She also assisted us extensively during our stay, (including taking our daughters into Quepos on a special trip to have swimsuits made at a local shop named Umara!) The term “concierge” is mostly overrated in today’s society, but in this case, Sabrina was the icing on the cake for a very special family vacation to C.R.

ACTIVITIES:
Sabrina arranged several activities for us in advance (horseback, whitewater rafting, spa services), and all were great fun and absolutely worthwhile. But the unanimous favorite with everyone was the Vacation Buggy Tour (operated by Don Segal) which lasted most of the day and introduced us to the area, culminating at a stunningly-beautiful remote waterfall and lunch in the surrounding mountains. The open-air vehicles are the best way to see the beautiful ecosystem and cover a lot of ground at the same time, and Don was guide/host/interpreter/bartender par excellence!

TIPS & SUGGESTIONS:
• Taxis generally charge “about $10” to get anywhere in M.A., but the public bus service runs every 15 mins or so and charges about .60 cents to get anywhere on the main road in M.A. It is safe and efficient, and takes US currency in addition to local currency. If you are going someplace off the main road, you can either bus/walk combo, or take a taxi.

• Food/drinks are not cheap in M.A., especially after the 23% in taxes and service charges are automatically added to your tab. That said, the service was consistently friendly and unhurried, and we did not have a bad meal at any of the numerous restaurants we visited.

• There are quite a few “beach vendors” on the main beach, selling their local crafts. They are not pushy and are genuinely kind, and they are a good source of inexpensive trinkets & gifts. (and everything is negotiable!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking; Property location; Customer service from Concierge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
We hardly have words to express how much we appreciate you taking the time to write such detailed comments about every aspect of your stay with us. We're so grateful you chose our Discovery Beach House and gave us the opportunity to make it such a memorable vacation. Thank you! Thank you! ~ Evelyn & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House/Pool/Beach (location)
Liked least: Leaving :)
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for the huge compliment! Manuel Antonio has so many lovely choices for places to stay, we're happy you chose our Discovery Beach House for your family vacation. We hope we helped make it a vacation to remember. ~ Evelyn & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing