We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
other traveller has booked this property
Your beachfront villa awaits!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your beachfront villa awaits!
These are the moments you'll remember forever. This could be you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Your beachfront villa awaits!
These are the moments you'll remember forever.
This could be you!
Location! Location! Location! You're a 1-minute walk to the beach.
The Great Room offers garden views and free flowing conversation.
The Great Room Staircase Leads to the Master Bedroom.
The Master Bedroom has a romantic four poster bed and canopy.
The Master Bath has handpainted sinks, tub, bidet and private garden.
Studio Bedroom Floats Over the Livingroom.
Kitchen view allows you to cook and visit.
Water volleyball anyone?
You don't get visitors like this back home.
All spa services are available on site.
Relax by the pool in this comfy hammock.
A destination wedding doesn't get more romantic than sealing your vows on a tropical beach.
This is your perfect beach front wedding choice.. No shuttling guests because you're on the beach.
This is the perfect location for your beachfront destination wedding.
Couples come from all over the world to get married at the Discovery Beach House.
Manuel Antonio has 25 of the 27 activities available in Costa Rica.
Manuel Antonio National park is a 10-minute beach walk away.
Kayaking.
Canyoning.
Parasailing is just 1 of the 25 activities available in Manuel Antonio.
You Deserve Romantic Walks on the Beach.
Endangered red-backed squirrel monkeys often nest in the rooster palm over the hot tub,
Howler Monkeys are the Loudest Monkey in the World and we have 'em!
Snorkeling.
The Discovery Beach House property is on the natural foraging route of these capuchin monkeys.
This three-toed sloth is a frequent visitor to the Discovery Beach House property.
Two-toed sloths are rarer in Costa Rica than three-toed sloths but can be seen on the property.
Come See our Wildlife!
Wouldn't you rather Be Sipping a Coconut on the Beach?
Enjoy the many tropical flowers in our garden like these sexy pink  heleconias.
Blue Morpho Butterflies are indigenous to Manuel Antonio.
Do you miss your pet when you're on vacation? House mascot Diego loves tummy rubs!
Midnight at your oasis.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dana M
1 review
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed at the Discovery Beach House for one week in Jan. 2018. It was hands down the best vacation we have taken. Half of our family is from Costa Rica, however, have never experienced a trip like this in beautiful Manuel Antonio. Discovery Beach House is in the perfect location - directly on the beach, minutes from Manuel Antonio National Park, restaurants, shopping, and activities.

The staff at Discovery are hands down the nicest people we have met and truly made our stay comfortable and more fun! Sabrina is the sweetest person - she ensured we were all set for our trip prior to getting there and was always on hand to answer questions and book excursions for us. Manuela made sure the house was clean and our laundry was done as well as the guys Cesar and Roberto. We loved getting to know them all and had tears in our eyes saying goodbye to them! They felt like family.

We also had our wedding at Discovery. It is the PERFECT location for small - intimate weddings. Directly on the beach and under the stars. It was the wedding we always dreamed of.

Thank you to every at Discovery Beach House who made this trip a trip of a lifetime!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Dear Dana,
The highest compliment a guest can give us is to leave with tears of joy for the fun you had and tears of regret for having to leave. It means we fulfilled our promise to pamper you in paradise, make you feel like family, and to give you a vacation of a lifetime. I'll forward your kind words to our staff. I know they will bring huge smiles to their faces. We're proud of them for making you and your family so happy on your special tropical beach wedding day and throughout your stay. Thank you so much. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger W
Wayzata, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful Vacation! No Complaints!”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful week here after Christmas. Sabrina, Manuela, Caesar and Juan we're very kind, fun and took wonderful care of the property. The location, beachside, was so much fun. We spent long hours swimming in the pool, boogieboarding and jumping in the waves. Sabrina hooked us up with some terrific tours and couldn't have been more helpful! We'd love to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
"We'd love to return," are such sweet words to our ears. We love giving our guests unforgettable vacations, and our staff enjoys helping create special moments for you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Paradise awaits,
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family Christmas in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Perfection! First, our flights got delayed and we arrived late at night rather than in the early afternoon. Sabrina ensured our transportation from the airport was easy and welcomed us at the Discovery Beach House at 1:00 a.m.! The next day we woke up to find ourselves in a truly unique setting. The house is beautifully decorated with artwork, pictures, and decor from the owners world travels. Each bedroom is beautifully and comfortably decorated. A safe is located upstairs to secure any valuables. Robes, soaps, shampoos, plenty of bath and beach towels found in the house. Our daughter stayed in the tree house room and loved it. You are literally sleeping at the same level as the tree canopy and it's the perfect spot to view the wildlife. The second floor bedroom has a huge balcony and table which is a perfect spot to sip coffee and take in the beauty. The kitchen is fully stocked with every modern appliance for those who enjoy cooking on vacation. The housekeeper Maneula was so sweet. She kept the place looking amazing and did our laundry every day. The pool/grounds keeper Roberto and Caesar were great. The pool is tended to several times a day and is spotless. They had the jacuzzi ready every day whenever we told them what time we planned to use it. The grounds of the home are kept pristine and it's obvious what a great relationship the owners have with the staff because they care for everything as if it were their own home. We saw iguanas, Jesus Christ lizards, sloths, monkeys, birds at the house and could not believe we had the joy of staying here! The beach can be seen from the house and we spent our free days going from beach to pool. The waves are great and it's a good spot to boogie board and surf. It's an easy walk down the beach to reach a few local shops including a store that has pretty much anything you need from coffee, milk, eggs, etc. Sabrina was amazing and planned excellent tours for our family. Our favorite was with Vacation Buggy Waterfall and Jungle Tour with Luis. Swimming in the waterfalls and hiking into the jungle crossing the suspension bridge was thrilling. You must do this tour! It followed with a delicious lunch at a family operated restaurant. We hired Chef Javier and Kathy two nights and they prepared a delicious meal for our family. They did a good job of catering to our 7 year old boys tastes as well as our older daughter and the adults. We did the Mangrove Estuary Boat tour and the guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. Sabrina went above and beyond by assisting us with securing medical supplies that we needed unexpectedly and delivered them to the house so we could continue to enjoy our vacation. We had a wonderful Christmas in Costa Rica and will definitely come back to the Discovery Beach House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
We're so happy your stay with us was "perfection!" Our staff puts a lot of love into everything they do and we're glad it shows. We look forward to your return visit, so we can pamper you again.

Paradise awaits!
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Njoys12
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Feels like home, perfect for wedding”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I stayed at this house in July and our vacation could not have been better. The house truly feels like a home in paradise and the staff made us feel so welcome there. The house has everything you need from a fully stocked kitchen (with coffee beans and fruit!) to towels, bedding, TV, Wifi, you name it. (But FYI do not throw anything in the toilets, because of the septic system, instead there are trash cans in each bathroom. We got used to this quickly though and it wasn't a problem)

The house is gorgeously decorated with unique touches from Evelyn's travels that you won't find anywhere else. But most importantly it was comfortable for my family of all ages ranging from children ages 1 and 5 to adults in their 60s. This is one of the few houses on the beach in Manuel Antonio and the beach and the ocean is right outside your backyard. I thought this was even better and much safer for the little kids; no scary drops from the hills and no traveling to get to the beach. Just wake up and go. Our family enjoyed waking up, making breakfast and casually heading to the beach, then back to the pool and hot tub. Can't beat that! One day we had a troupe of monkeys come by and we watched them play in the trees and on the fences. The staff Sabrina, Manuela, and the gardeners/security were so friendly and made us feel safe and taken care of. Sabrina the concierge even helped us order pizza in Spanish one night! And I can't forget Evelyn's dogs Diego and Freda who are so tame and friendly.

We were there for vacation but also for my wedding! We held the ceremony on the beach and reception on the patio in back of the house. If you're thinking of a unique, intimate place to get married I highly recommend doing it here. It was truly a unique experience to see all the vendors come to the house and prepare for your wedding right in front of your eyes. The best part was seeing the food being made that day in the kitchen and grill outside. Chef Desiree was amazing and I highly recommend her to cook for you even if you're not getting married there! We were eating leftovers for days afterwards.

All in all this was an unforgettable experience and we can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Your kind words are unforgettable. So many brides dream of a fabulous destination wedding and we're so pleased we made yours come true. We hope to see you and your family again at your new home-away-from-home.

Paradise awaits!
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoySantaM...
Santa Monica
1 review
“Paradise on the beach”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I just returned two days ago from our fantastic trip to Costa Rica with our son, daughter-in-law, and two grandsons, ages 7 and 10. The lovely tropical landscaping and the beach directly out the back garden gate made the Discovery Beach house our own personal paradise during our family's one week stay (and we would happily have stayed there forever)! It was such a treat to watch the wildlife that visited our yard - the iguanas sunning themselves by the pool, the monkeys playing in the trees, the sloths hanging from the tree in our driveway, and more. In addition to the beatiful beach, the pool and roomy hot tub were greatly enjoyed by all, as were all the comforts of the spacious, exquisitely decorated (with pieces and photos from the owners' fascinating travels) house. The household and grounds staff, Manuela, Juan, and all, did a wonderful job, as did the concierge, Sabrina, making our stay extremely comfortable and easy. Evelyn and David, thank you for sharing your spectacular house with us!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Sharing our home with your multi-generational family was a special treat since all of our staff are family and enjoy treating you like family. From our family to yours - thank you for choosing the Discovery Beach House and know that you are always welcome back.

Paradise awaits!
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bokemi201...
Warren, Michigan
1 review
“Five Stars For Discovery Beach House!”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here in mid February and had an awesome experience. Everything was clean and well kept, the staff were excellent and the location was perfect. You can see and hear the ocean from the house, stars at night are amazing and monkeys swing through the trees each morning while you enjoy delicious Costa Rican coffee on your private balcony. Can't wait to go back and highly recommend it to others!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Our guests shine like stars in our memory. We can't wait for you to come back. We'll keep the porch light on, the coffee hot, and the monkeys on alert. Thank you for kind words.

Paradise awaits!
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulreich...
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful vacation home”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We just got back from Discovery Beach House and are having serious withdrawals. The house could not have been better. The location on the beach is perfect and the staff is absolutely wonderful. Sabrina was great in helping us plan our vacation and taking care of any needs we had while there. The staff (Manuela, Cesar and Julio) were great and felt like part of our family. We loved getting to see the dogs, Diego and Frida every day. They were one of the highlights for the kids. I would highly recommend Discovery Beach House to anyone and I hope we are able to return down the road. Pure Vida!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2017
We have several guests that return every year and that is a huge compliment to our staff. At first we wondered how our guests would respond to having our dogs there but they miss their pets and having Diego and Frida around to pet seems to make our guests happy.

Thank you.
Evelyn & David
Homeowners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing