We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay!”
The outdoor living area is covered and the sun deck is adjacent.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The outdoor living area is covered and the sun deck is adjacent.
The 5-level villa built on a hillside overlooking the ocean. The master bedroom with ocean views from the private balcony where monkeys will visit balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
The outdoor living area is covered and the sun deck is adjacent.
The 5-level villa built on a hillside overlooking the ocean.
The master bedroom with ocean views from the private balcony where monkeys will visit balcony.
Master bath with gorgeous decor and whirlpool tub.
Open-air kitchen and dining room with ocean views
Guest full bath on the main level, one of 6 on the property
View of the ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park from the pool
Beautiful décor of the large master bedroom facing the ocean
Enjoy the ocean breezes underneath the covered sitting area.
Queen bedroom in the casita with en-suite bath
King bedroom on the game/entertainment room level with ocean and jungle views
Master bedroom private balcony with jungle and ocean views. Monkeys come to visit often at the villa
Balcony above the pool and overlooks the Pacific Ocean
Lower-level studio with TV and en-suite bath
The pool and steps leading to the deck all facing the ocean
The top-level crows nest king bedroom has an en-suite bath and incredible ocean view
Game and entertainment room on the 3rd level
Private pool and deck has a BBQ for your group to enjoy a fun place to party
Full bath on the 3rd level with direct access to the king bedroom and game room
Outside view of the guest casita just steps from the main house
The villa is surrounded by a tropical jungle but is close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
1 review
“Quite the experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

If your looking for a relaxing vacation where you are catered to and pampered, this is not the spot for you. It was a nice house, except for the plumbing issues that lasted half of the week. We couldn't use our bathroom and it was quite an inconvenience to have to go to the main house. If you don't speak the language and no one comes to meet the repair men to make sure all is taken care of and there was no follow up from our concierge which was disappointing. Not to mention flooding in your room which what I could only assume was sewer water did not make for a pleasant vacation. We made the best of it and had a great time with friends, definitely a lot of memories were made. It just wasn't what I expected and definitely not relaxing. Not my cup of tea. I'm more of a resort type of person. If your adventurous and like jungle living then you will love it. The people were nice and its a beautiful country but most likely would not go back. Dragging luggage up 52 steps and walking up steep hills to get to the main road is not my idea of vacation.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
So sorry that you have the plumbing problem, seems an avocado pit got down the drain and clogged things up for a moment. Was not sewer water, just gray water from the sinks. Still very unfortunate.

Private home rentals are not like resorts, you do get more privacy but it is a private home, not a hotel. Seems you would not be willing to give as or Costa Rica a second chance but if any others in your group would have them contact me and I am sure we can make things up to them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertkd7...
Abilene, Texas
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We loved staying at casa Samba! The location is great and the staff amazing! We loved Chef Junior and highly recommend him for your stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchilds15...
Bedford, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“House of Adventure”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Casa Samba though showing its age is a nice house with fantastic views and great staff to service the guests.

The pros: centrally located, gated (somewhat), the staff, the views, the wildlife that are daily visitors (numerous monkeys, iguanas, birds). JR is worth the money & is a fantastic chef. Roxie is extremely kind and does a great job of cleaning. Gary (host) was always available & there to assist.

The cons: can be very buggy (lot of mosquitoes there and in MA, but a lot got into our house b/c there are cracks btwn some of the windows, A/C only in BR’s & while it cools MBR, it’s not sufficient if u like sleeping in a cooler room. Walking to the beach is a tough haul from this location, though this isn’t uncommon for villas in Manuel Antonio.

Living with the monkeys that visited the house twice a day was an adventure & our kids while at first were uncomfortable came to enjoy their afternoon visits.

We enjoyed the experience, but it was just that-an adventure & experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi G
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Casa Samba”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Samba this February. The house was beautiful and the view was stunning. Gary made sure we knew where to go for the best beach parking/accommodations. He also booked our zip lining/waterfall repelling tour. The house was well suited and each bedroom was en suite. We had two families staying and always had tons of space. The open air room with the pool table was a favorite and the kids loved dips in the pool daily. We had daily visits from monkeys and sloths and birds galore. Junior the cook really made the vacation for us. Not only was he super friendly (let my daughter help make desert!) but his cooking was unbelievable! I wish I could have taken him home with us!! Roxie kept the house spotless and laundry clean. The trip could not have been better. Truly a paradise!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna G
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were overall disappointed with this property. There were many features that were on the website when I booked that were not true, some examples:
- No security in the day and poor security at night
- A/C in only half the house
- No jacuzzi
- Poor quality mattress in the master room and linens with polyester, ripped towels and chipped plates and mugs
- Musty smells and many bugs entering through the gaps in windows
- Our property manager entered without our permission after we complained
The views were lovely but we will not be back given these issues.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
We apologize that the house was not up to your standards.. The appropriate steps have been taken to correct any issues you mentioned that needed attention. We do feel we correctly described the house in our advertising as partially open-air with air-conditioning only in the bedrooms and this is quite common in this area. However, we do have fully air-conditioned homes available. You should have received a notice of a partial refund for your inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasUble
Gloucester, ON, Canada
1 review
“Very pleasant - great view - great wildlife!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cleaning staff weren't too good at their job - the pool area was often littered with debris from the trees - she only cleaned that once in our week long stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thank you for your review and taking the time to alert us to this situation. The team at Casa Samba works hard to keep the entire villa up to our very high standards so we are surprised to hear of this. We do know that properties in the jungle require constant attention to falling leaves and debris and our Escape Villas staff will strive to be more conscious in the future to keep this area clean for all of our valued guests. Please accept our apologies and we hope that you give us another chance in the future to show we can do better in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APRIL S
Smithfield, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Incredible family vacation”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent 7 days at Casa Samba with our family. It was an incredible experience. The house was amazing and the views were beautiful. The beach was close by and we used the local buses, alot. Our cook Junior was amazing, it was 5 star food every meal we had. We will be going back next year, no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Casa Samba. Junior is the best, we agree! The entire Escape Villas team enjoyed having your group and we are so happy you had a memorable experience in paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing