We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Dream”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Dream”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

My new Husband and I were married August 18th and had no immediate Honeymoon plans. We originally wanted to go to Costa Rica but was fearful to go after tracking weather patterns of rain and thunderstorms in that entire region. Taking a risk, we searched thought BookIt.com and found Hotel San Bada. We ditched our fears and decided to have our Honeymoon. I can't explain in words alone how happy we are to have come. Despite the weather reports we landed on this beautiful country in pure Sunshine. I didn't pre arrange any travel to the hotel, but as soon as I called upon landing the hotel had a driver to us within 30 minutes. The hotel was approximately 4 hrs away, but it was well worth the trip through the country. We made stops along the way and viewed many attractions. It was an excursion within itself:). As we arrived to the gates of Hotel San Bada it was breathtaking. It's a beautiful tropical dream. It felt luxurious yet native. I found out that the hotel is only about 3 years old, and provides all the latest updated facilities. The rooms are clean, the staff is accommodating, and the Food is amazing. It is beautifully decorated and is built literally adjacent to the wildlife park. I felt like I was part of the jungle when looking from the balcony. It has the amazing feel of feeling secluded yet only walking distances to the beaches, bars, and other activities. As far as the rain and thunderstorm predictions....the rain did come but it was brief and passed through quickly. Nothing that would prevent us from enjoying this country to its fullest. I am So glad we made the trip. This is the Honeymoon of our Dreams.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for such wonderful comment!

Thank you so very much for sharing your honeymoon experience, we are thrilled you choose our Resort as your honeymoon destination, so glad that everything had turned out great!
We feel very flattered that you choose us to share your honeymoon with us and allowing us to carter to your every whim.

We love to celebrate our guests Honeymoon, as it gives us the opportunity to create a truly special and unique experience that they will remember for the rest of their lives!
After all, that is what every honeymoon should be... perfect!

Thank you very much also to mention every detail, from the path to get to the hotel until the time of check out. Thank you for taking into account our fabulous food, facilities, and of course our location, which allows to be surrounded by lots of nature, continuity to Manuel Antonio National Park, and proximity to the sea, grocery stores, restaurants and else.

We hope now to be part of your anniversary and so can come and celebrate in our little paradise

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    265
    74
    26
    10
See reviews for
284
296
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We feared that the hotel was too "resort-y," but that was not the case. We stayed three nights and had a very nice time. There is an excellent restaurant and a wonderful rooftop for watching the sun set over the Pacific -- or for taking refuge from the rain. It's an easy walk into town and to the bus stop, and the park entry is right outside the drive. Pacific on one side and jungle on the other. Very nice. Animal life is all around you, so listen for parrots and howler monkeys. Got a couple of small bug bites outside, but we WERE in the jungle, after all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuburnWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest

We are so glad you had such a good time during your stay!

You really enjoy what An Bada is all about excellent service, magnificent environment, wildlife everywhere surrounding you and total relax.

We agree that the views of the Pacific Ocean and rainforests cannot be beat.

You are so lucky that you get to enjoy the wildlife that surrounds us just from your balcony; our location is just amazing like you said... 30 seconds walking from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park!

Hope you can come back soon !

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked Hotel San Bada because of the location. It is quite literally attached to Manuel Antonio. You see into the park while lounging in the pool or gazing from the balcony. You are about 10 steps from the park gate when you're standing at the parking lot entrance so it's one of the few locations where you can enjoy the morning in the park, come nap or swim or eat at your hotel, then return to the park for the afternoon. The staff is friendly and helpful in every respect. You can purchase your park tickets from the hotel (this matters since they only sell a limited number of tickets per day to keep the park from becoming too crowded). The day we arrived the green season was in full swing- complete downpour. The staff was so gracious- offering a towel to dry off, a fresh fruit drink, and suggestions for enjoying the evening despite the rain. We had a wonderful evening even though it wasn't the beach experience we had planned originally. We loved listening to sounds of the rainforest from our back balcony rocking charis- birds and frogs and cicadas amidst the falling rain in the trees. After a hot shower we made an appointment at the spa for a couples massage. I am very picky about my masseuse, and I have to say, I was pleased with the price and blown away by the massage. We ended the evening with a wonderful meal in the hotel restaurant. The food was good, the staff was very attentive and the live music was romantic. The beds were quite comfortable and the room was done in warm tones with simple, elegant linens and carved wood furniture. Everything was clean and I felt completely at ease leaving my valuables in my room. The hotel struck a perfect balance between a modern aesthetic and traditional Costa Rican charm. The pool area was well thought out to combine beauty (gorgeous tropical landscape, waterfalls and the park edging it all in the background) with a pool area that kids would enjoy (bridge and waterslide) while mom and dad have a drink at the swim up bar. The staff was gracious enough to allow us to leave our car (and luggage) in the guarded parking lot and use the pool for the rest of the afternoon after check out. We booked the hotel for the location, but ended up being pleasantly surprised with all the hotel had to offer in addition to the amazing park access. I would happily stay here again, when traveling as a couple, or with family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or higher to fully enjoy the views. The sixth floor has an adults...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecAndJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Alec

Can we thank enough for your review? It feels so pleasant reading it! Thank you

We feel very pleased and happy that you enjoyed everything about our property and our blessed location! We work to make our clients stay memorable, that they can taste the wonders that our hotel has to offer and all the nature that surround us, our staffs warm hospitality and great customer service.

We very much appreciate your comments and for bringing out every detail of our service and property, our beautiful rooms and views, our proximity to the national park, our surroundings full of nature and animals, delicious food at our Congo Restaurant, closeness to the beach. From the other hand our whole staff is great; all of them are always willing to help our customers in everything needed during their stay at Hotel San Bada.

It looks like we succeeded, and filled all of your expectations!

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were the ones responsible for your comfort

It is very motivating to have opinions like this! Thank you

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My fiance' and I stayed at the Hotel San Bada during the first week in August. It was for us one of the best weeks of our lives. Location: About a 2-3 hour drive from the San Jose Airport, the trip to the hotel in itself was a fun journey. We were picked up by an intelligent and friendly San Bada staff member named Shaggy who gave us a great introduction to Costa Rica as we traveled to the hotel. Surrounded on one side by a canopy of gargantuan tropical forrest, and the other a national park full of monkeys, sloths, and pristine beaches, this place can't be beat. About 7 or 8 restaurants located on the road near the beach, all very affordable with great fresh seafood, local cuisine, and touch of comfort food as well. In comparison to resorts like those found on the Yucatan like Cancoon, this region has a charming, personal, and hidden vibe that far surpasses the more popular vacation spots. Now in terms of the hotel: The staff is wonderful!!! Everyone at the desk was gracious in setting up tours and informing us of the best places to visit. The kitchen and bar staff were great. But most of all we had a great time meeting Shaggy! He works for the hotel was our tour guide for the Mulguri Falls Waterfall tour. All I can say is this was the coolest thing I have ever done. Shaggy took us to the countryside where we rode horses, swam and dove into secluded mystical waterfalls, and gave us a peek into the magical world of the Costa Rican farmland. We went on a few other tours which were all wonderful, but the Mulguri Falls was the best, and I think only offered through San Bada? Ok, so onto the room: We got the upgraded room with a jacuzzi in the bath and oceanview. View was great. Not 100% on the water, it was separated by a few big trees, and a road. All we could see were giant trees with wildlife in them, and then the ocean. Room was clean, simple, elegant. Very comfortable king sized bed. Breakfast: Yum Yum Yum. Every morning we were treated to fresh watermelon, papaya, and pineapple. This fruit alone was so delicious and fresh. It also included Costa Rican breakfast which included fried plantains, rice and beans, bacon/sausage, cereal, omelet bar, and fresh squeezed pineapple juice(Double Yum;) Restaurant was superb! The pools were both very comfy and clean. Rooftop pool was great, got to see a clear bright nights sky as well as few shooting stars! Didn't use it much, but the wi-fi internet worked pretty well too. Last but not least, I proposed to my fiance' on the beach just minutes from the hotel and it was sublime! Thank you too everyone at the hotel for being so friendly, charming, and wonderful:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Joshua

What do we have to say after reading your opinion?

Wow.., just many thanks... We have no words to express how grateful we are for such a flattering review about our hotel.

To begin, we will send the message to Shaggy, he will definitely feel very happy to see how his work was so valuable.

Mulguri tour is definitely an experience submerged in mountain fresh air, good tour guides, clean waterfalls with fresh water that comes directly from the mountain, lots of flora and fauna! An experience in which you know the natural wealth.

Also thank you very much for mentioning our delicious breakfast. We always try to have different options to suit the tastes and palates of our guests. Also that they can try some Costa Rican food!

And last but not least, many thanks for choosing us to make us part of your engagement, we are very pleased. We wish you the best in the world on your engagement!

Many thanks again for such beautiful comment!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was a great spot if you're into the beach or want to tour the Manual Antonio park.The grounds were clean and attractive. The hotel doesn't have a big resort type grounds but it's tightly packed into the resort area next to the park so there's not that much room to expand. The hotel is 3 years old so everything's new. The room was simple, attractive, clean and functioned flawlessly. It is a short walk to the beach past several vendors but they weren't harrassing in any way. The beach itself was fantastic, large, clean, great waves, sandy and nearly empty in the rainy season. Our favorite part, since we were traveling with adult children, was the 6th floor adult only pool and bar. It had the most fabulous view, covered so we could sit dry with a drink watching the pouring rain over the jungle and the ocean. Fan-stinking-tastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomunchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your review about your stay with us!

First of all thank you for mentioning our great and blessed location, Thanks to that we have a great view on both sides of the hotel. Also thank you for taking into account our 6th floor ocean view, with views of our beautiful sunsets and landscapes.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our resort, and that you experienced the local areas and our cuisine. We want to provide a remarkable service and experience to our guest

Thanks again

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our family had a wonderful vacation in San Bada. Our room was big enough to accommodate the four of us, we pay extra for an ocean view room on the 5th floor. The room was based on wood decorations and a big tv for our kids. We spent most of our time on the adults only terrace while our kids enjoyed the big family pool with waterslide. The food is DELICIOUS, the best food in the town, try the big seafood plate (big enough for four people). We had plenty of options in the menu, also the breakfast was great, always coffee and fresh fruits served by Michael. The frontdesk staff booked us the zipline tour and the boat sailing (we saw dolphins). San Bada was a great place to host our family vacation. Im sure this was our best option to discover Manual Antonio park and Quepos town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Marita

Thank you very much for such a kind review!

In regards to our facilities and our food, thank you for making a detail description of it. From reading your description, it is very satisfactory to see that we were able to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your stay, our service and product. Our goal is that you feel well attended, and that your needs are met in a friendly and professional manner.

We hope you can visit us in a near future!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I visited Hotel San Bada on a family vacation last week, we came from Arenal volcano and from the moment we arrived we were welcomed with fresh towels and juice drinks. We got a superior room with a private balcony with a beautiful view to the jungle.

The pools are nice and comfortable chairs to relax. There is a wetbar where you can order drinks and they will serve you. Quality drinks at an affordable price.

The staff is well trained and friendly, very diligent, always ready to help you and make you feel like home.

The cleaning staff and room service are excellent.

I am looking forward to return to this resort, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanBada C, Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about our Hotel and the level of service you received, we are so glad that it exceeds your expectations.

We find great joy in knowing that you were able to enjoy the wonderful things that San Bada has to offer and also what makes us so special!

It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is in general and also our facilities.
All of our team, we try to create the best vacation experience for our guest, and spoiled you the best that we can!

It sounds like you and your family had a fabulous time at San Bada!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
969 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Property: Hotel San Bada
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing