We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent because of the wonderful staff!!”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The owner of this hotel is very lucky with his great staff. Christian Porras is so impressive! Great room, good food, nice view, nice pools but the staff made all the difference. Derek and Jeffrey were also extremely helpful and pleasant. Didn't come across one employee who wasn't above-average.

Thank you all for making the trip to Costa Rica more special!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was the second and last beach destination of Caravan Tour, we think the company save the best for the last, the location makes this hotel so wonderful, when we arrived Caravan had a happy hour for us, what a detail! Great of quality of the cocktails, dinner was buffet same as the other places we stayed with Caravan. The beds were similar to the JW Marriott quality, nice jungle views. We decided to have a night walk in the neighbor after having dinner and it was a nice surprise, there are lot of places to eat and have drinks around the main road. Next morning we visited the park early in the morning, we saw a bunch of wildlife including monkeys, sloths, raccoons and tropical plants. The beach was magical, Fausto told us it is the best beach in Costa Rica and he wasn't wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigmanTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We felt very comfortable staying at this four star hotel overlooking the rainforest of the park, it was recommended by friends that visited it on a tour. We enjoyed so much the idea of the proximity to the national park and saving time in taking a bus or taxi.
Our room in the 3 floor suited us fine with views of the forest, with coffee, my recommendation is to add tea supplies too. My wife and I hall upstairs to the sixth floor which was a surprise, incredible Pacific Ocean view in an intimate atmosphere with a bar and a pool next to it, bravo!
The staff spoke good English and service was ok, I would stay here again for a perfect 1st, 2nd and more visits to Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Maykel and Silvia both are waiters at the restaurant ask for them to take your orders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin75fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This place has a great location, close to the nice beach of the national park. The other beach is public. We stayed on the second floor, nice wood bed, nice bed sheets, high ceiling, and the bathroom was nice. The staff is very friendlym they were always greeting us. We saw a lot of wildlife from the top floor terrace, the ground pool was big and clean. There are lot of beach restaurants close by, but we didnt visit them. We definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amazingdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was one of our last stops on caravan tour..Once we arrived Caravan had set up a happy hour on the top of hotel. We had a great time having cocktails and watching the sunset and viewing the monkeys in the trees. This is truly a jungle location. I awoke next morning at 4am to the sound of monkeys howling, I stepped out on balcony and captured the sound of monkeys on phone. I again went back out at 5am with my friend to play video, and believe it or not the monkeys were coming through the trees following the sound.My friend and I quickly ran back into room.Probably not a smart thing to do, but one of the most exciting ,thrilling adventures.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vitagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This large, modern hotel is in a great spot for the beach and Manuel Antonio park which is literally right outside the front gate. We were greeted with cool drinks and Capuchin monkeys right outside our balcony. Our room was very large with a balcony and a wonderful shower. Breakfast was wonderful. The morning we left, we had to catch a taxi before breakfast was served and the staff was kind enough to pack breakfasts for us. We did buy boxed lunches to take to the park, and I would not recommend doing this. It was $11 for a sandwich and french fries, which seemed expensive to us, and packed into plastic boxes which were not convenient to carry. However, the bread was wonderful so we did enjoy it. Overall, a nice hotel with friendly staff in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This colorful hotel is next to the jungle, Manuel Antonio National Park. The location is superb. You can go out on your balcony and hear the sounds of the jungle and possibly see wildlife. Nice rooms with large shower and good service at the restaurant. I did see a red eyed frog on the hotel property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baxter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,684 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#20 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
942 reviews
1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#8 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £114 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing