We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey moon to the moon at La Luna!”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Price range: US$2 - US$80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Me encanta la com idea aqui! The food was so delicious and the drinks were great! The bartender, Joshua, makes the best caipirinhas my husband and I have ever had! Definitely would recommend the coconut crusted Mahi Mahi and the Shrimp Tag :) The service was also very good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sienna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanking our recent guests for their very kind review of our La Luna Restaurant.

We are pleased you choose us and welcome you back once again to our laid back 5 star cuisine without any attitude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 691 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were nervous about bringing our small children to this restaurant. It is gorgeous. Beautiful views, lovely decor, outstanding hotel, etc. It's not a place you'd expect to see children for dinner. However, the wait staff was very accommodating. They made us feel very comfortable and they were great with the kids. They even had a kid's menu to our surprise. Our meals were all outstanding. Everything tasted so fresh. There was also really good live music. If it were just my husband and I, it would have been the perfect place for a romantic date. I'd say this was the best dining experience we had during our stay in Costa Rica. Loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Temara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are thrilled your dining experience with us was outstanding.

We pride ourselves as being a 5 star restaurant without any attitude.....and that certainly appears to have come through on your visit with us.

Children are always welcome in our dining room and we are happy to make them feel very special indeed.

Please come back and see us when once again in the Manuel Antonio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

During our 6-night stay at Gaia, we had all breakfasts, several lunches and 3 dinners at La Luna. Breakfasts and lunches were incredible, but we will focus this review on our dinners. The food and service was the best we experienced during our entire trip. Special thanks to David, who made our dinners and sunset drinks special! (Go early enough before dinner to see the beautiful sunsets from the restaurant's bar area). La Luna is an upscale restaurant, providing a wonderful variety of fish and meats with creative sauces and flavors. Service is very attentive and all food deliveries were coordinated and focused on pleasing the diner. Salads were unique and the appetizers were creative. Our favorite dishes from the extensive menu include the Gorgonzola & Sun-dried tomato tart appetizer, which was such a unique blend of flavors, it is hard to describe. It was so delicious we ordered it on 2 nights. The Honey-Garlic Calamari Salad was the best calamari we ever had. Fresh, not deep-fried tasting, and had an incredible sauce. My wife' s favorite dish was the Plantain & Coconut Crusted Mahi Mahi - the best she's ever had. Other exceptional dishes were the Caribbean Blackened Tuna, Mixed Green Salad, Jumbo Shrimp Tagliatelle, Shrimp Calamari & Chorizo Trio. We had the Chocolate Lava Flow twice; the last night we were there, we declined dessert at another restaurant so we could end our trip with our favorite dessert at Gaia. The Gaia Coffee Drink after dinner was not just delicious, but the presentation was picture-perfect. We should mention that one of our meals was part of our "Romantic Package" and we were provided a choice of several 7-course meals. The restaurant tailored the menu to our preferences. The table setting, complete with rose petals and candles was so romantic. David and John were our private waiters that night and they were fantastic. The 3 other restaurants in the area we went to for dinner were good, but were more casual in atmosphere. When comparing the atmosphere, food, and service to other restaurants in the area, La Luna is in a league of it's own. From a cost comparison, La Luna was not much more costly than the other restaurants where we dined. Surprisingly, we pay more for a fine dining experience at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MojitoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Our recent guests review of our La Luna certainly humbles us.

We take pride in presenting our guests with an experience and not just a place to have dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful dinner for me and my fiancé. The ride up the hill, the breathtaking view, the outstanding service! The sangria was really good - including the fresh mangos and pineapples!

We parked in the lot across the street and walked to the guard stand to get a lift up the hill in the golf cart.

Thank bug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanking our recent guests for taking the time to comment on their wonderful experience at our La Luna Restaurant.

We are pleased that your experience was romantic and that our service was to your liking.

Please come back to see us when again in the Manuel Antonio area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pricey but well worth it. The drive up the hill, the ambience at the restaurant, great live music and an extremely professional wait staff deliver a top-drawer dining experience. And the food doesn't disappoint. We tried all of TripAdvisor's top choices in Manuel Antonio and if you want a special night out, visit La Luna.

Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are so happy your enjoyed our very unique dining experience here at La Luna Restaurant.

We take pride in being the very best in the local area in terms of service, cuisine and atmosphere.....

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing