We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and Fresh!”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #14 of 100 Restaurants in Manuel Antonio
Price range: US$2 - US$80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, Gaia offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Vegans and vegetarians, this is a special place. We tried and loved the pineapple curry and the mango chutney entrees. Plant-based food is not an afterthought here. We also loved the golf cart ride to the top. I suspect this restaurant also has an incredible view, but we were there at night.

Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you Ann for your wonderful comments on our Vegan and Vegetarian menu options.

We added this about a year ago and it has proven to be a huge success. We are thrilled you got to experience this aspect of our cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 134 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We had breakfast and dinner included in our package from Gaia, but we would have come to La Luna even if we were staying elsewhere. The servers were very polite and accommodating. The food was a diverse spread of local favorites mixes with classic fare. Our favorites were the pancakes, American breakfast, Palm fruit pasta, and tamarin pork ribs. For dessert, I had the churros with ice cream every night. My wife had the lava cake. Everything was delicious and served at the same time. Highly recommended.

Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you so much Ralph for choosing us and for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

We consider ourselves the very best in the local area and it appears you can confirm this.

Thank you again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I honestly don’t understand how the lonely planet can recommend this place. When we got there the dining room was empty so they only had us (group of 6) to serve but the service was very bad. We order 3 starters to share and they only brought 2, not even at the same time (consider one of the 2 was a cold one so not that hard to do, just keep it there and bring it when the other one is ready). Anyway, after we told them I have to say they quickly prepared the missing starter bringing it together with the main courses. Again, they forgot to bring a side we ordered and charged it anyway. So we asked them to remove it and also asked to reduce the service charge that was very high compared to the usual. To compensate the bad service they removed the charge completely, which I appreciated. However I don't think I'll ever go back to La Luna and I suggest you to avoid the place, it's definitely a rip off. Starters were not very good, main courses were ok but not to justify the high price. Credit card are accepted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cecibono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borism1, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

We thank you so much for your kind review, nonetheless, we have talked with all collaborators that had contact with your party the night you came to La Luna.
The results indicate that your party of six ordered two appetizers total and you enjoyed one of them so much that you asked for a third one as a repeat of one of the two previously ordered. As a matter of fact, we did not take off your bill any charges since the invoice does not show it at all and we would be glad to supply it to you upon your request. As a matter of fact, we asked your party at the table if everything was Ok, and your group replied that everything was good and thanked us. Finally, we suggest that you look at the price in the Manuel Antonio Area Restaurants and upon comparison, you should note that although we offer a full service menu, including vegan alternatives and gourmet Costa Rica dishes, La Luna is not only compatible to all other establishments but we offer a full range of prices from filet mignon to different rices. We suggest you look up different menu prices in the Internet and obtain a truly complete comparison; upon closer inspection this analysis should bring you to the conclusion that La Luna is at a lower price level of full restaurants in the town.
We thank you for visiting us and hope very much that you had a great stay at the Bed and Breakfast Selina and the wonderful natural wonders that make for Manuel Antonio a very special place.

Best regards,
Boris V. Marchegiani
Owner
La Luna Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We had several meals at the restaurant since we stayed at Gaia Hotel. The service was excellent! All the waiters, including Marcos, were attentive and accommodating! The food also came out very fast. Our favorite dishes were the fried calamari, Caribbean chicken and rice, and the homemade ice cream. The prices were reasonable. We also had the tapas which were great. Our favorite was the chicken wings. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Thank Nimah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you very much Nimah for posting your 5 star review of our La Luna.

We are so happy you enjoyed our cuisine and service. We hope to see you again and share the wonderful experience once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Ate most of our meals here during our stay at Gaia. Prices are a bit less than in the USA but the service and presentation is much better than what I find at home.

The seating is indoor/outdoor so one night there were some mosquitoes. Otherwise La Luna is perfect for drinks, tapas and drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ZoePepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to share your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

And thank you for your 5 stars. It truly means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing