We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

El Mirador Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Mirador Restaurant is located near Arenas del Mar's reception area and pool, overlooking Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, and the Pacific Ocean. El Mirador—which means “the viewpoint” in Spanish—has an open air, covered interior dining area and outdoor seating. Along with breathtaking views and gorgeous sunsets, our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner using fresh, local ingredients. Start your day with our complimentary breakfast: fresh fruits, homemade granola, warm muffins and breads, eggs, pancakes and of course, Costa Rican coffee. Our dinner menu includes highlights such as locally caught fish and other delicacies at this authentic full-service Costa Rican restaurant.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went here for dinner based upon the super Tripadvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. Great food and excellent atmosphere. Service was great too. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidVa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    42
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
No
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beat meal in CR and not really close”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had the soapa negra, ceviche trio, steak, and snook. This meal was just about good as any meal I have ever eaten. No real complaints. Service slow but attentive. Really wonderful, glad to have eaten here. Lovely hotel and location.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GET THE SNOOK!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The whole restaurant is in a beautiful resort. The treck down there was an experience in itself, a golf cart had to pick us up and take us up a fairly large hill in the forest to get to the hidden resort/restaurant.

Once we got there, the cocktails were to die for. I was in a group of 6 girls and we all got different types of margaritas. I had jalepeno and mango (just fyi they do not hold back on the liquor).

I got the Snook with coconut milk and it was absolutely amazing. Best meal I had all week. Melted in your mouth. I'm still thinking about it right now. Yum.

In conclusion. Go up a hill on a golf cart. Get the snook. Get dessert. Get a cocktail. It's all great. Just go.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ate here five times over the course of a week-long vacation, so tried nearly everything on the menu between myself and girlfriend. Everything was consistently good...tasty, fresh, perfect portions. Excellent service contributed to good experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented food with friendly service and great daytime views”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the main restaurant of the expensive Arenas del Mar Resort but is open to other diners - and we see from another review, also delivers meals in the area.

As a non- resident diner, the experience begins with a pretty steep downwards road by taxi or car. You then arrive at the resort's first reception area - an attractive covered area, where there is cold water, toilets, and comfortable chairs. Here you wait for a very few minutes for a golf cart and cheerful driver to collect you for the ride down and up through the resort rain forest to the main hotel lobby and restaurant. On your way, the driver may well point out various wildlife to you.

In daytime, the restaurant being at height, offers a view over the Espadilla Bay and towards Manuel Antonio village and national park.

The staff all speak Spanish and English at least, and are very friendly and helpful. The menu is upmarket Costa Rican, with plenty of fish and fruits. The presentation is beautiful, and the service fairly quick. Like many places we ate in Costa Rica, the preferred temperature for food delivery seems to be warm to just off -cold.

It is expensive but definitely a good place for an occasion.

There is also a daytime beach bar and restaurant at the resort's beach lower down, also reached by golf cart or steep walk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mirador Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Mirador Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing