We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playitas Absolutely aces the atmosphere category!”

Playitas Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Costa Rican, Fast food
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Playitas Absolutely aces the atmosphere category!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

So excited, just heard my most favorite ever beachside restaurant/ bar is extending their hours! Playitas is perfect! Superb atmosphere, great staff, service and delectable food too! Enjoyed so much we headed their every chance we could! At end of meal they even set out your lounges, already knowing your favorite beverage to accompany the siesta after lunch or early dinner. Perfect place to eat and play!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lcowhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    14
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I am starting a travel consulting business and visited the hotel for a tour a few days prior and was impressed by the eco-friendly efforts and approach. I was also impressed with the very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Ariel, specifically took me around and explained all about the eco-friendly approach the hotel takes. The following day I went back to "explore" the Playitas Restaurant and was not disappointed. We parked outside the hotel, were immediately greeted by the friendly reception assistant and immediately picked up by one of their golf carts. Greeted very friendly by the driver and taken down to the beach restaurant. Again, there we were greeted by friendly staff and were seated on a table on the beach itself. Our order was taken immediately and the food arrived fast. I ordered the chicken fajita wrap and it was delicious, fresh tasting and unbelievable burst of flavors in my mouth. My daughter had a grilled chicken breast with fries which was also fresh and delicious. The staff was attentive and very friendly at all times. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because although we were asked to move because the table was needed by hotel guests, it took a very long time to get our bill. Having been asked to move did not really bother us, we were finished eating and just enjoying the view and we understood hotel guests have priority but we asked for the bill several times within at least 25 minutes before we finally just got up and went to pay the bill at the cashier so we could leave. Besides this small flaw, I would definitely recommend the restaurant. The food is great, staff is friendly, and you can't beat the setting....you are sitting under a canopy of trees with a gorgeous view of the beach and a delicious breeze flowing through.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babydtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad service, overpriced, pretentious”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant three times for lunch and each time we spent more than $ 150 for two persons. Why three times? Because the beach is gorgeous, the setting of the beach restaurant is unique and they have good food. However, the service is slow, the portions small and absolutely overpriced. The first time we came by climbing the rocks over the beach, but at high tide we could not return the same way. They did not want to let us exit through the hotel, since we were not hotel guests! It is a public beach by the way. The second visit we reserved a table for lunch, spend over $ 200 for two but we had to give up our seats for hotel guests, who had priority. The way they handled it was rude. Since it is the best beach and restaurant in Manueline Antonio, we gave it a last try today. The service was very slow, one table of three people left after 50 minutes waiting before they received the starters, we ha a decent lunch, but we ad to ask three times for the check and 20 minutes to check out, we got told it was so busy today......
The beach used to be a gay beach and is still frequented by many gay and lesbian people, that all behave correctly. But you notice a strong anti gay and homophobic attitude by the hotel and restaurant; it is not gay friendly at all.
The hotel behaves as if they own the beach, but it us completely public, and they should allow access to everyone, which the do not. Non hotel guests are not very welcome! Our next visit to Manueline Antonio we will not go here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank minvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Playitas Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear
Thank you for your comments on your visit to our restaurant. It seems like you were in the same group as the previous reviewer and we would like to also apologize to you about the slow service you had received that day. We would just like to make clear that we are a very tolerant and open minded operation and in no way discriminate against anybody based on race, age, gender or sexual preferences. All beaches in Costa Rica are public and we happily share the space with locals and they are always welcome to use our restaurant. We provide security, life guard and sanitary facilities not only for our guests, but for anybody at the beach. We wish you all the best for the new year and hope you visit Manuel Antonio again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“terrible slow service, overpriced”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

This is a review about the beach front restaurant. The beach it is playitas, is the nicest beach in Manuel Antonio. You can only easily access this beach via the hotel. The food is good however very overpriced. The staff is very arrogant and does not treat you with the level of respect the prices call for. They do not have enough beds for the beach for all their clients. The staff is generally not welcoming. When we complained about the service, there was no manager on duty available. The table behind us left after having had waited more than 45m. They abuse their location to milk people dry. Lots of American families with children so not ideal if you want peace and quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederiminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Playitas Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear
Thank you for taking the time to review our Beachfront restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the service you received was slow. The past days between Christmas and the New Year have been very busy and in addition to our hotel guests, we had quite a few visitors from other hotels like you. That stretched out capabilities a bit and resulted in slower than normal service and also a bit of a shortage of beach beds. We apologize that none of our managers was available that day to attend your complaint. This was due to a scheduling conflict and we will make sure that that will not happen again in the future. Today, all is back to normal and we are able to provide the service and quality that we are known for romantic couples and families from different countries around the world. We wish you a happy new year. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous locale but mediocre food”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Beautiful beach location can't be beat, but the food was just so-so. My husband got the veggie rolls and poki bowl and was very disappointed. Poki bowl was unbearably salty. I got the ceviche which was very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaFromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Playitas Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Diana,

Thank you for your review of your lunch. You are right, the location can’t be beat. But we are not happy to hear that the Tuna Poki did not live up to your expectations. At least we got the ceviche right. We will make a big effort to improve our food at Playitas and hope you have a chance to come back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playitas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playitas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing