We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Paradise”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
56 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denise C
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We traveled to Casa Vista Azul for our sons wedding. The website doesn't do it justice! It far exceeded our expectations. The house was beautiful, it was immaculate! For a party of 10 people we had plenty of room!
From the daily monkey, sloth & toucan visits to Chef Marco spoiling us daily with his delicious cuisine. Ricky & Valarie were at our beck and call for anything we needed. We could not find one negative thing to say about our stay, except for the fact that we had to leave! We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our son & daughter in laws wedding!
Jack & Denise Fore

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Pictures will never do this house justice! From the moment the front door opened my jaw dropped and the wow factor continued the entire week of our stay. Ricky and Valerie were great in helping us arrange day trips and responding to questions. Chef Marco was the hero this trip! We originally only booked him for 2 days however, after our he cooked us breakfast and dinner we quickly booked him for the remaining days of our trip and he made amazing meals nightly and even arranged to get us a birthday cake! Additionally, the maid service was outstanding as well, there's something to be said about coming home to a clean house on a daily basis while on vacation.

Our group of 10 were there for my wedding and again the house, our wedding planner, and staff blew our mind. We had monkeys, birds, and butterflies during the ceremony. This paradise was better than expected!! Hopeful to book this house in the future!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review. And we agree...Marcos is a hero! With all the accolades he receives we're actually considering getting him a cape soon!

We're so happy to hear that your trip and your wedding day met all of your expectations. We wish you health and happiness always and hope that you do join us here again one day - Costa Rica is an amazing place to celebrate life events.

Best Wishes from the Escape Villas team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Adventure not to be missed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were six couples that have traveled together many times. We opened the front door of Costa Azul and the Wows never stopped for 10 days. Ten days of Chef Estefan cooking us two meals a day of delicious food, what could be better on a vacation?

Costa Azul is like living in a tree house with the bonus of two wonderful housekeepers that clean every inch of it daily, and did I mention they do your laundry too.

The local activities setup for us were terrific. The sport fishing with Luna Tours for Sailfish was top notch and for the record we caught six Sailfish. The Canopy Ride with MidWorld is run so professional and in spite of the pouring rain while Zip Lining we had a great time.

All in all, the country, the house and the activities were fabulous. I am telling all my friends and family that this is not a trip to be missed if you are the adventuress type! We are already talking about going back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the house
Liked least: No window screens in the Pool House Bathrooms and the access road to the house is terrible
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandabear...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House and staff were wonderful! Beautiful location and view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful house with 5 king bedrooms! Daily visits from sloths, white face monkeys,and howler monkeys. We had great meals from chef Harold and wife Jessica. Free Salsa lessons were wonderful too! Cant wait to go back!
2 teenagers and 9 adults including my 87 year old mom!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: View and open air and all the king beds
Liked least: Not enough time to enjoy the property!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globetrot...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Totally Awesome in Every Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Thank you to Ricky Johnson and Valerie with Escape Villas.com, Chefs Harold and Jessica for unforgettable meals, Carmen and Raquel for keeping the house spotless and quickly becoming part of the family, and to Tony, our salsa instructor! These services were all arranged by Ricky Johnson and Valerie as part of the rental benefits. The home is surrounded by natural tropical forest and highly manicured grounds. The view was spectacular...we found it difficult to leave the house during the day! Groceries, shopping, great restaurants, and the National park are minutes away. We were so pleased with the private arrangement of each room. You need not go further to see wildlife! Tiny titi monkeys, tropical birds, and sloths are in view from the deck. Even though we have been to Manuel Antonio 3 times before, this house made it the best trip ever!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view, privacy, and security
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longwood florida
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Thank you! We're happy you all had a great time. It's an honor to be your "best family vacation...ever"! Hope to host you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
prmlone
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing 50th Birthday Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have traveled many places and this would be one of my top 3 vacations. First, the people that were on the trip was a mix of my girlfriend, family, and my extended group of friends that have been family to me. They made my birthday celebration special and memorable. Second, the country and the people. They were nice and embodied spirit of "Pura Vida".

Last but not least was the house. The pictures do not do it justice as the view is spectacular. (I suggested to the property manger Ricky that the pictures on their website.) After the bumpy drive to the the house I walked up to this beautiful oversized door and naturally landscaped deck. I entered this open air dining and living area that offers this amazing ocean view. As everyone arrived the reaction was the same... wow! We spent most of our time hanging out in the dining/living area when not out on tours enjoying the company. The natural, open-air setting and fantastic view could not be beat - it was very cool.

The bedrooms were very nice and each with its' own unique style and view. Listening to the rain and the jungle sounds was a great way to go to sleep. We watched the parade of monkeys between 3p - 5p, our resident sloths in the tree outside the poolhouse, and the variety of birds and bugs - all good.

We hired a chef and glad we did. Chef Marco became part of the group giving some people nicknames. We put music in the kitchen so he can party with us while cooking and was completely into it. We had 2 meals - breakfast and dinner. I would recommend spending the money for the chef service.

The house staff were unobtrusive and most of the time you did not know they were there until you returned from a tour and your room was cleaned. Laundry service was provided which was a nice perk.

The only negative was the elevator was out of order and not fixed on our trip. This would have been helpful for the one person with a bad knee. We had to change room assignments and for the rest of us, it forced us to climb the stairs which wasn't bad at all.

The cost was affordable in comparison to staying at a hotel. I would go back to Costa rica and rent a villa from Escape Villas. It was the best way for me to spend my 50th birthday.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The open air dining/living area; chef marco, the size of the house to allow people to do their own thing without being on top of each other
Liked least: elevator did not work
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2013
Happy Birthday! Thanks so much for choosing Casa Vista Azul for your special day. We're happy that you found the house to be the perfect gathering spot for your group that came to celebrate you. And, it sounds like you had some other visitors - our monkeys and sloths are famous for crashing the party! We will be sure to share your sentiments with Chef Marco and staff as well. Birthdays come once a year...maybe we'll see you again next year.

Thank you,
Escape Villas and Vista Azul

PS
The elevator is being fixed...as we speak. Thanks for the report.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
1 8776291312
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing