We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Sit in perfect comfort with stunning views all around. By the cool waters edge you'll find peace and tranquility. Take a dip and enjoy the ultimate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Sit in perfect comfort with stunning views all around.
By the cool waters edge you'll find peace and tranquility. Take a dip and enjoy the ultimate
Enjoy the beautiful wood beam structure of the Casa Vista Azul
Like to cook, or have your food cooked for you? This chef style kitchen has it all for your choice.
Elegant style outdoor lap pool with jungle views, enough room for the entire family
This multi level villa ha a gorgeous vantage point over the jungle.
Outdoor villa by the pool, come and truly relax with these wondrous features
Feel at piece in the beautiful vacation home.
This large kitchen is great for preparing meals.
Stay cool at night with ceiling fans to keep the air flowing.
This home has unique features all throughout.
Outdoor view from the 4th floor, to keep an eye on the family by the pool
The whole home is surrounded by flora of many different kinds
Walk down to the pool from your bedroom, to enjoy this outdoor villa
A private double bed sanctuary with air condition and ceiling fans
Sit and relax while outdoor in this pool area, with family on vacation
Enjoying these lounge chairs beautifully decorated, with a cool drink.
Sitting cozy by the waters edge has an appeal to all. Coffee or a cool drink, choice is yours.
Hand carved granite stone is a local décor favorite. All wood has a natural looking feel
Sit and enjoy these ocean views, while overlooking the jungle below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jennalw95
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I would recommend this villa in a heartbeat. Not only does it include a gorgeous view from the open-air living room, but it also has a lovely pool and wildlife all around the area (sometimes the monkeys will even pay you a visit in the living room!). All of the food that Esteban (our cook) was delicious. I cannot praise this place enough!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the animals that came to visit, also having our own personal chef.
Liked least: The wifi didn't owkr for the first couple of days, but then we got it fixed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you! Chef Esteban is a great addition to Vista Azul and we are so pleased you enjoyed his cooking. The monkeys are waiting for your return, see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkentros
ttown
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible vacation rental/awesome view/delicious cuisine!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Spectacular rental property, delicious cuisine by Chef Estaban, fantastic view and comfortable furnishings...what more could you ask for? The lap pool was kept clean. Carmen did a fantastic job keeping the villa clean and tip top. We loved the extra touches
she performed each day,.i.e. towel animals, fresh floral displays, folded clothes that were
left out, candles and beach towels replenished daily. Chef Estaban was a joy! We all gained weight with the delicious foods he created. He served delicious and affordable meals with lovely table decor. What a treat! Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for the kinds words about the villa and staff. We are so glad you and your family had an amazing vacation. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmb 4
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience that will create great memories and rejuvenate the soul”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the best experiences I ever had. The trip was planned for a group of 14 to stay the last week of August,we were there to celebrate two family members birthdays. We actually occupied two villas, the older adult group occupied vista azul which included 9 ppl and the younger adult group occupied dolce vita which had 4 bedrooms. I actually enjoyed staying in a separate villa since we were all young adults. The layout of both villas are manageable, but include a lot of stairs. It is suggested that elderly people or people with health issues be stationed on the second floor which has access to the elevator. Vista Azul has about 4 floors with a pool house. Underneath the pool house there are two nice size bedrooms which fit queen beds or can be turned into double/triple occupancy, Each room in the villa has its own bathroom as well. The master bedroom is on the second floor which is really grand. The master bedroom is on the second floor and fits a king bed and has a bathroom almost the same size. There are two other bedrooms on the third floor Above the bedrooms on the 4th floor is the main dining and sitting area. The dining room sat 14 of us and is an open deck. You have the option of closing curtains to prevent bugs. The area has a very beautiful view of the water. The staff was excellent! The chefs are super friendly and are amazing cooks. The food is not made with a lot of grease like an american food so you actually get to taste real flavor. Fruit is served with every meal and it will keep you full. Ricky the host is outstanding. He is very friendly and helps with any problem you need. I could write a book on how great this place was but all I can say is I had no desire to watch tv when I returned home. I did not want any greasy American food and I actually missed the friendliness of the people of Costa Rica. I am definitely going to return again. The excursions are great, it's a tourist area but not overly crowded or overbearing, you can walk to local supermarket or bar and swim as much as your heart desires.

tips:
Plan excursions from 8a-1pm, it usually rains in the afternoon
Do not leave food out or the garbage can, the monkeys will knock it over lol
Bugspray!!!!! You will have mosquito bites
Tip generously, they deserve it- cabs show up by the time you finish placing the order
If you are bringing children you might need to request a gate to block stairs
It gets dark about 6pm
Bring umbrella
To book the villa per person it costs about 600, but that was because it was 14 of us.
The excursions are priced well - ranges 45-130
Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The trip was planned so that we participated in excursions during the day and still had free time. I enjoyed when everyone sat around the dinner table discussing how much fun they had that day.
Liked least: It rains almost everyday usually in the afternoon.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela G
1 review
“PURA VIDA”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As suggested by Ricky, this amazing vacation started with a timely pickup from the airport in a van that took us to our villa. On the way we were enlighten about the crocodile river area and noted the beautiful scenic views of Costa RIca.
We arrived without incident to the villa and I was stunned by the beauty of the craftsmanship of the molding that surrounded the huge entry doorway. As we entered the view of the ocean, trees and sky was miraculous... I was in PARADISE !!!!!
COSTA RICA ======= PURA VIDA

Of our party that consisted of a total of 14, everyone was satisfied with all services.
Ricky, the concierge greeted us , as we settled into our rooms. His warm smile and professional manner to make us aware he was just a phone call away was reassuring that we had nothing to worry about. At this time and throughout our stay... none of us had any issues that he could not address. Ricky did a walk through explaining everything unhurriedly.

We next met the chefs Marcos and Esteban. These two chefs are artists....who have mastered in blending herbs and spices that awaken the flavors of your foods so well, that the glands in your mouth, not only seriously start salivating, but also will have your palate tickled in delight ...in being satisfied !!! Not only were they great in cooking- but they were a joy to be around as they made me laugh ....." great personalities" !!!

No windows in the main rooms---" No Need" as the weather is perfect !!!! ..... and August was rainy season.... didn't matter !!!

Each bedroom was constructed differently, yet appropriate for each person. It was clean/sanitary, no smells, no bed-bugs. The mattress was clean and firm. The shower, wash basin, toilets, and floors- all sanitary. There were clean towels and supplies daily.

An itinerary, log book, Costa Rica wildlife info book, phone, WiFi , books, magazines,etc.. was available. Any needs -Ricky was available. The next day Jeff the other concierge arrived. Carmen was the house keeper and was timely, and although limited in English as much as I was limited in Spanish, our communication was on point. ' Every day' the entire villa both indoor and outdoor was cleansed. The pool was tended to daily.

I had the pleasure of a massage and it was the BEST !!!!!

VIsta Azul is a setting in a paradise, surrounded by the beauty of a rain-forest jungle, as you are inhabited by the sights and sounds of multiple types of birds, three species of monkeys, some lizards, crickets, geckos, bugs, and more. Captured by the beauty of the flowers, the ocean-view, the sky, the air...... well like Ricky... ..you may end up making Costa Rica your home !!

Hopefully I will keep to my plan and return to Costa Rica, using this service again. As I travel often ( last trip was to Australia), I must say this was one of the most, enjoyable, care-free and with-out a doubt relaxing vacations I have experienced !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to be at ease, living in the jungle, in complete comfort, tranquility,efficiency, and peace
Liked least: Getting used to the few flying bugs @ night..... but even that was no real problem
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, wildlife from your living room and Chef Estaban too”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was the most beautiful rental house I've ever stayed in and likely ever will. We occupied the whole place with teenagers, tweens, their parents and grandparents.
You don't actually have to leave to experience the beauty and wildlife of the area, birds, including humming birds, Toucans, warblers, thrushes, woodpeckers all right in front of you, Green and Black Iguanas, and of course the monkeys and sloths.
We were spoiled with our daily staff, Estaban our chef of 2 meals a day (our choice) was beyond amazing. I HIGHLY recommend engaging him daily, it's well worth it, and infact economical not to mention MUCH more delicious than the local fare. We loved the pool (monkeys and iguanas and birds their too) I would say the top 4 bedrooms were all lovely and differently charming, the 2 under the pool house were great for the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Best family vacation place, beauty, tranquility and private places
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you! So glad you and your family had such a wonderful time and enjoyed Casa Vista Azul and it's staff to the fullest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jr D
1 review
“Over the Top!”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just wrapped up one of our best vacations - EVER. The only thing that beat the hospitality and wonder of Costa Rica was Escape Villa’s cracker jack team. From the short, simple, and straightforward lease to the actual villa itself upon arrival, we could not have asked for anything more. I mean that literally! Ricky was our personalized concierge for our stay. When he said “our wish is his command,” he wasn’t kidding. He and his team (Jeffrey, Chef Esteban and our villa keeper Carmen) were like a magical lamp…you just rub it and they appear to do whatever it takes to make your visit in this wondrous country truly magical.

Staying at Casa Vista Azul is not like going to visit the amazing creatures of the rain forest overlooking the gorgeous bay…the rain forest comes to you!! We fell in love with the families of monkeys that came to the house to say “hola” every single day…along with the huge iguanas that guard the place. Our favorite had to be the gorgeous three-toed sloth that stopped by to bring tranquility to the whole experience. DEFINITELY we’ll be back.
– Jeff D.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa was open on three sides so I would have to say the monkeys that came into the living room every day!
Liked least: The insects are HUGE in Costa Rica!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matth205
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Vista Azul Didn't Disappoint”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We rented Vista Azul for 9 days with a few of our friends (8 total). First of all, the house itself exceeded our expectations (which were based solely on the photos of the property). The house is very vertical, with lots of steps and amazing views from the top living room/kitchen/dining room area. In March 2015, when we were there, we received daily visits (around 4pm or 5pm) from roving monkeys. We could feed them bananas right inside the house! We also had a great view of a family of sloths feeding in the nearby bamboo tree. We nicknamed the iguana by the pool house "Bernice." The pool is enchanting and private with a waterfall. On days it was too warm to sun, it's nice to relax inside the pool house where you still have a great view of the pool area, but where ceiling fans cool you.

Our trip was so fantastic because of the staff at Vista Azul. Ricky was amazing and helped us several times above and beyond the call of duty. Jeff was just a friendly and helpful with cocoanut water for one of our members who took ill during the trip. Our chef was Estaban and his food was amazing! We really enjoyed the tuna he prepared, as well as his breakfast sandwiches and plenty of fresh fruit! Estaban's crab salad was delectable (and addictive!). Estaban worked very well with us as we decided each day what time to eat breakfast and dinner and what our meals would be.

Carmen was our housekeeper and she was very polite and our rooms were kept immaculately.

The whole experience was very nice. The house really feels situated in the 'jungle' with a great view of the ocean. And the location, once you reach the main road, is super convenient -- especially if you want to walk up the hill and grab lunch at Cafe Milagro!

Thanks, Vista Azul, for being such a great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and pool area and close location to other bars, restaurants, etc.
Liked least: Lots of steps!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing