We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most Luxurious Vacation Home in Manuel Antonio”
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Plenty of seating for all those dinner parties
This master bedroom has all the elegance and luxury you have been looking for while on vacation
This is the master bathroom with a waterfall shower overlooking the ocean
Outdoor tents for those wedding parties or events
Outdoor poolside views and plenty room for all
Luxurious style bathroom with lots of space
Night life by the pool, this ahs been a popular villa from the very start
Bring the entire family while on vacation and do as this beautiful child is doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rita R
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Luxurious Vacation Home in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For months leading up to our trip, we poured over all of the images of Casa Fantastica available online. Still, we were absolutely blown away when we walked into this spectacular home. The pictures can’t begin to do it justice. The view took my breath away.

The architecture and furnishings are beautiful., the indoor/outdoor living just amazing. Every external wall is either disappearing glass or open to the outside. The jungle literally envelops the entire property. Sloths, squirrel monkeys, white faced capuchins and too many lizards, frogs and birds to mention were frequent companions. Howler monkeys were a constant soundtrack in the background.

My husband and I had first pick of the bedrooms, and chose the lower level master suite, which is accessed through the game room, down a set of stairs behind the pool table, and situated directly beneath the infinity pool. If you have toddlers you should know that there is no hand railing along these stairs.

We chose this room for its privacy and the outdoor bathroom. This was definitely the quietest suite. The bathroom is completely open to the jungle, with a choice of 3 showers, a tub and a very cool concrete double vanity. We definitely had some animal visitors to our open-air bath, including lizards and bats.

Note that there is no view of the ocean from this lower level, as the jungle has grown up significantly since the website photos were taken. Also, our house staff cautioned us to keep the bathroom locked via deadbolt from inside the bedroom for security. This room has its own fridge and bar area, as well as a balcony with a jungle view. We loved the platform bed, and generally found this room very pleasant and comfortable.

Having said that, every bedroom is truly a winner. Each is comfortable, air conditioned, clean and nicely decorated; each has its own advantages. While everyone was allocated a bed, all of the boys camped out in the media room. It was a perfect teen hangout for the week.

A few things to note about Casa Fantastica:

The home is accessed via a VERY STEEP driveway. We loved walking this everyday for exercise, but you should know that some drivers were not willing/able to bring their vehicles down this hill. This was not an issue for our group, but food for thought if you are traveling with anyone having mobility issues.

There is a great sound system with MP3 connection throughout the entire main level. Also, wifi is available but really only strong on the main level and definitely not available in the lower level master.

Security is tight around the property, including a steel gate, electric fence, security patrols and gated neighborhood entrance (closed and monitored at night).

The home is well located near restaurants, groceries, a bank and a couple of cute gift shops, all within a walk (uphill). The town of Quepos is a 5 minute taxi ride down the hill. We did walk down to the beach, but I would not advise this, as it is quite a long way down winding, steep roads with no sidewalks. Taxis are quick, easy and inexpensive.

At the time we visited, there was some minor construction happening on the property. There was a bit of hammering/power tool noise and there were people around the entrance of the home near the main gate each weekday.

I can’t end this review without mentioning the amazing level of service we received throughout our entire experience. From booking with Fernando and Valerie, to grocery and meal planning with Indra, every little detail was attended to prior to our trip. Groceries were in the fridge when we arrived, beds setup to our specifications, and our first meal was on the table.

Our host, Ricky took care of every little need we had, from handling a couple of medical issues, toting us to his favorite souvenir shop, setting up excursions, and pointing us to his favorite pizza joint, he was there at a moment’s notice and made the trip worry-free. And, he’s just a fun and interesting guy.

The highlight of our trip was the amazing cuisine. Stefan, our French chef, along with Areial, his sous chef, presented us with a delicious variety of food, on our schedule and to our specifications. He took care of the most minor details, like prepping the coffee pot for us at night and squeezing fresh limes for our margaritas. Stefan and Aerial did the grocery shopping, prep, cooking and cleanup. What a luxury to not have to worry about food needs for such a large group. Stefan knew what was fresh at the fish market, and made recommendations based on locally available foods. Both gentlemen were professional, highly skilled chefs and I would definitely recommend that you specifically request these two to handle your food needs for the week.

The staff was rounded out by a housekeeping team, which worked efficiently and quietly in the background every day (other than Sunday) to keep the home neat and clean. They washed and replenished the pool towels daily, and handled our personal laundry twice during the week. The pool was maintained daily, although always had a bit of a green tint, but seemed otherwise clean. The hot tub pump was not working during the week we were there, so the temp was the same as the pool.

Our week at Casa Fantastica was truly the most relaxing, pampered and enjoyable vacation we’ve ever had. The home is well staffed, nicely located, private and secure. It is a great place to just hang out or a launching off point for a myriad of cool adventures. I can’t recommend it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, staff, view, architecture, privacy, indoor-outdoor living, animal visits
Liked least: All very minor, but construction noise, broken hot tub, water problem on departure day
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tigger_ki...
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were there at the end of March to celebrate our wedding with close family and friends, and let me tell you, it was a once in a lifetime experience!

The setting couldn't have been more perfect for our special day. The surroundings, the view, the pool, the food, OMG the food, AND the overall architecture of the house make for such a wonderful stay, we would have stayed for another month!

As all of the previous reviews state, Stephane IS the bomb, and we definitely ALL wanted to take him home with us. We had a few people in our group that were pretty picky, and somehow, they ate fish, satay sauces, curry sauces without even blinking an eye. With the all inclusive format, no need to even think about what you want to eat, you just pick the protein and Stephane will take care of cooking you up a meal worthy of a 5 star restaurant.

Ricky also took care of all of our needs quickly and efficiently, the maids were almost always invisible, and you barely noticed the pool guy when he was there. All in all, one couldn't ask for a better vacation rental, anywhere!

Only a few minor negatives. Yes, the house needs an ice machine, ice cube trays couldn't keep up with out drinking :-) The refrigerator in the bar area also couldn't keep up with everything we had in it, and had to use the cinema and the kitchen one to be able to keep all of our drinks cold. The maids also do the laundry, but might need a lesson in not mixing colors, since a few of of us ended up with pink socks and dresses. Lastly, I realize the house doesn't always have as many guests as we had, but for a house that has a 16 guest capacity, having a table big enough to accommodate everyone would be a definite plus. Except for our wedding dinner, we never all could eat at the same table, since the tables only sit 12. It would have been nice to have a few meals where everyone was sitting together as opposed to scattered all over the main floor, but like I said, minor negative.

So if you are considering renting this villa, and like me, have read every single review you could find, stop reading, and just book it! I guarantee you will not be disappointed, and it is most assuredly worth every penny!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Madison, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay, would love to go back!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I was part of a group of 12(family and friends) at Casa Fantastica just last week. The house was cleaned top to bottom by a wonderful maid service. The house itself is gorgeous, and has a wonderful view of the ocean. Ricky, our host, was very prompt in attending to anything we needed help with. There is plenty to do in the area, and the locals were very friendly and helpful. And last but certainly not least…..Chef Stefan cooked meals for us daily, except a couple of times when we ate out. It was literally some of the best food I've eaten in my life. He was very professional and friendly, and I think I miss the meals more than anything! I would not hesitate to come back for another stay at Casa Fantastica!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyaMachad...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We rented Casa Fantastica for a corporate event. An awards trip for the top sales people. We were 12. Everyone really enjoyed the house. THe view is outstanding and the design, the details makes this house a very good lodging option in Manuel Antonio. Chef Stefen did a very good job. All the rooms have floor to ceiling windows and either a view to the ocean or to the jungle. The house is clean, no problems with insects, and service was very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yugeoj
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Home, Great views, Great amenities, Excellent Service from Escape Villas”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My wife and I and 6 couples stayed in Casa Fantastica.
Excellent home. All the amenities you could expect.
Views are excellent. Housecleaning staff outstanding.
Service from Escape Villas very very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, views, amenities
Liked least: Pool was not crystal clear, house needs ice machine,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Fabulous Villa, perfect for family trip”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Everything about Villa Fantastica was truly fantastic--the villa itself with wonderful bedrooms and living spaces, the decks and infinity pool with an incredible view of the ocean, and Chef Stefen along with host Ricky made our stay an amazing experience. Would highly recommend this location for an extended family trip--enough 'private, personal spaces combined with wonderful group and family spaces. Chef Stefen made incredible meals and honored special requests, as well as handled extra shopping needs for our family's babies. Bravo! Maid service also impeccable. TX to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hard to say--all was wonderful: Location, service, personell
Liked least: steep street to reach property, but manageable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan-southern
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing