We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, friendly, great location”
Review of Los Altos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Altos Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The rooms at los Altos are really the size of apartments--ours was 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths with several balconies and a full kitchen. The hotel is less than 5 years old and so all amenities are clean and modern. Great to have that kind of spaciousness for a family of five...
The staff is very friendly and helpful--I recommend booking all of your tours through them as our ziplining, Manuel Antonio Park hike, river rafting, and catamaran snorkeling all went off without a hitch and the operators were excellent and reputable. Pool is small but really nice and the restaurant has great views and full breakfast included. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant for dinner as there are better and more reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance (Emilio's and Barba Roja in particular are within 2 minutes walk). The beach is a hike down the hill or shuttle ride, but it's nice enough and a fun adventure for the kids--just bring towels and don't expect a lot of amenities; this is common for Costa Rica beaches in this area by the way. Definitely spring to book a room on the upper floors (6 or 7) as the views are more spectacular there. Lower floors are closer to the parking lot in front of the hotel and views are more limited. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher for the best views. You have a full fridge so you can buy wine and beer and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GolfDadBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time share your Los Altos experience with future travelers to Manuel Antonio. It means a lot to us to have our guests relate all aspects of their stay in an honest manner, as we are constantly striving to perfect our guest services and amenities. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the accommodations; our goal in designing our apartments was to certainly provide families with enough space to feel right at home. And yes, our expert staff surely knows their way around the area and it is our pleasure to share our decades worth of insider knowledge with our guests. In terms of amenities by the beach, it's important to say that laws, in the best possible way, in Costa Rica do not readily promote beach front development. However, we try our best to accommodate our guests in terms of anything that might be needed when traveling down to the beach. Thank you for recommending Los Altos, and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were exploring the coast when we found Los Altos. We didn't have reservations, we didn't even know where we were going to stay that night. But, once we stumbled onto this place, we didn't go any farther. After the first night, we booked three more days. The staff were very accommodating, warm and welcoming. The restaurant was off the chart and the surrounding flora and wildlife was unbelievable. We will be back! Thanks to Gary and the crew for a wonderful time in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Serendipity! So happy that you just happened upon us. We love how that can just work out so well sometimes. We are thrilled to read just how inspired you were by your stay with us, especially so that you booked three more days. Your kind words have certainly been passed along to our staff as it's always a pleasure to read that we were able to make yet another guest feel instantly at home. Thank your for your review, and we can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Los Altos Resort and Spa is a luxury getaway in the heart of beautiful Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. The hotel is immaculate with all of the comforts you expect in a 5 star resort experience. The suites are very spacious and well decorated with every special touch considered. The pool overlooks a sweeping landscape and epic ocean sunsets. The resort boasts private beach access to an amazing cove that feels untouched and secluded. There is a new spa and massage space offering relaxation of all kinds. The on-site restaurant has a world class chef and delectably fresh menu as well as a romantic open air atmosphere overlooking the ocean. All of the staff are wonderful and make you feel right at home.

Room Tip: The suites on the west side face the pool and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradokind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Reading your review, it's like we're experiencing Los Altos for the first time ourselves. So wonderful to read that every aspect of your stay was just so perfect. We guess a beautiful experience inspires beautiful words. Your compliments have certainly been passed along to our staff, and we are so happy to have, as you said, made you feel right at home. That is exactly how we'd like our guests to feel, that Los Altos is their home away from home. We know you were just here, but we can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had an amazing stay at Los Altos! The service was amazing, they had a gorgeous view of the rainforest, lots of cool wildlife, a nice pool, calm beach, and very good restaurant. The 5 minuet walk down to the beach is really nice, but if your not up for the walk the staff are happy to drive you down. If you look up into the trees you might be lucky and see a sloth! The complexes are also very nice, they even have elevators that go directly to your apartment. I thought that this was an amazing experience.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are always so grateful when our guests share their insight and experience for others to read. So happy to read just how perfect every aspect of your stay was, and your kind words regarding our staff have certainly been passed along. Was absolutely our pleasure to accommodate you and your family in all aspects of your stay. We hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A well located hotel that offers its guests huge apartments instead of ordinary hotel rooms. While there were only two of us in the huge space, it would be awesome for families or friends to share. Three bedrooms, two and a half baths and a huge living/dining/kitchen room with a balcony overlooking the ocean (all rooms have the same view). Staff were very helpful, booking excursions and hotel reservations as needed. Breakfast was included - only average, but served by very friendly staff. The pool area overlooks the ocean - incredible view. Worth being there to watch the sun set. Fun fact: anyone at the pool as the sun begins to set is given a free cocktail. Also very friendly staff here. Wifi was okay. Usually able to use it in the hotel. Best at the restaurant. Okay gym...we chose to walk the beautiful public Manuel Antonio Beach (located about 5km away - safer to drive than walk) for exercise instead. Several good restaurants nearby. Enjoyed dinner at the hotel too. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time write a review of your stay with us, and especially so for choosing to recommend Los Altos to future travelers to the area. We appreciate any and all feedback, and we are very happy that your overall experience was enjoyable. Also, you're totally right, our accommodations are anything but ordinary, and unlike the other hotels in the area we truly offer our guests that highly personalized home away from home experience. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place was true paradise. The accommodations were wonderful, spacious, clean with beautiful ocean views. The pool was beautiful and offers beautiful sunset views in the evening. The private beach was beautiful too. An excellent choice for families who need more space than a single hotel room can provide. The included breakfast was delicious and the outdoor restaurant was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Paradise, indeed! And you're right, an excellent choice for families. That was certainly our consideration when planning the Los Altos experience, to create a comfortable space with access for guests of all ages. We are so happy that all aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations. Can we say family reunion next year in Manuel Antonio? Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, and we certainly hope to see you and the family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sorry this is late but still remember the wonderful experience! We stayed on the seventh floor in a three bedroom, 2 1/2 bathroom suite. The suite was very spacious and clean. The views were incredible! The surrounding landscape and animals were cool. We enjoyed watching the monkeys jumping around in the trees. The facilities and staff were great! The front desk can arrange any tour that you want. The resort is in a good location. We rented a car but you can easily take a taxi to various places to eat or go to the Manuel Antonio National Park.
I would come back to this resort in a flash!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at Los Altos Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Please, no need to apologize. We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their Los Altos experience with future travelers to the area. Plus, it's never too late to relive an unforgettable vacation to Manuel Antonio. That said, we are very grateful that you took the time to write a review of your stay with us, and we are thrilled to read just how wonderful the experience was. We are especially happy that you had a chance to watch the monkeys jumping around in the trees. Trust us, that sight never gets old; always so fascinating to witness the dynamic wildlife of Costa Rica right before your eyes. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#13 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Altos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Altos Resort

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: £242 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Altos Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort Private Reserve & Beach is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Los Altos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing