We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location & Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal location & Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Los Altos and were thoroughly delighted in the hotel. It was perfectly located at the top of the hill in the center of everything. The front desk staff were so helpful in coordinating our daily activities and providing directions anywhere we wanted to travel. The pool is large with breathtaking views. The suite was extemely spacious and very clean with a large balcony perfect for taking in the magnificent sunsets. Our massages at the hotel spa could not have been more relaxing. My husband org. complained I booked 80 minute massages but when we were done he asked how it went by so quickly. The hotel restaurant, Korolas, was delicious and the staff were so friendly. The last night, there was live music at Korolas which was the perfect way to end our stay. We can't wait to return with family!

Room Tip: Treetop Ocean View Suite was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We couldn't be more thrilled to read just how perfect your honeymoon vacation at Los Altos was! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It always makes so happy to know that we provided the guest services and amenities to make such momentous occasion so memorable. We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    88
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
278
136
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed with our two college age daughters. When we asked for two additional room keys (cards), the guy at the desk told us that they were running short while waving two cards. Previous to that I had seen a drawer full of cards so apparently we couldn't be trusted to each have a key to our room. The breakfast was ok, self serve buffet style which is great but on our last morning, I saw some folks eating waffles. Apparently they are available but you have to ask for them. They're not advertised anywhere. The path down to the beach is extremely treacherous and the hike back up is a real workout. Not a problem for us but could be for a lot of folks. There is absolutely nothing down at the beach. You're on your own down there. Best part of Los Altos was Cafe Milagro across the street. ps the beds are really hard and the pillows very low quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are certainly sorry that your stay at Los Altos did not meet your expectations, but we are also sorry when Trip Advisor is used by guests to misrepresent their vacation experience.

We of course understand that we cannot offer perfection, but the nearly 200 five star reviews for Los Altos certainly point to a much different Los Altos experience in terms of guest services and quality of amenities. Having discussed the card key incident with our staff we were unable to come to a clear conclusion that this happened as you said. However, we would like to state to future guests that additional card keys are always available upon request.

Unfortunately, you make it seem like we were intentionally hiding the waffles from you at breakfast. This couldn't be further from the truth. We are sorry that you did not take notice of the waffle station during breakfast. Our hope is that if a guest desires something (especially at the restaurant) it is brought to our attention immediately.

Lastly, your wording regarding the path down to our beach unfairly reflects the condition of the path. To say it is extremely treacherous implies that we are negligent in terms of its maintenance, which again, couldn't be further from the truth. Our websites states it, previous guests have stated it, and our concierge states it, the path down can be considered a tough walk down by some and for that we gladly offer a shuttle service down to the beach. Please do not make it seem like we are putting guests in danger.

We understand that your stay was less than a joy, but when we receive reviews such as this our hope is that future guests consider the over 200 other reviews that speak Los Altos' ability to provide a wonderful, relaxing and welcoming vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There were only a few things that kept me from giving this resort a "5" rating (see below).

First the GOOD: The suite was beautiful and spacious - nicest condo I have stayed in! It was beautifully decorated with great air conditioning. Bedrooms comfy and well laid out. Cleaning service everyday and the place kept immaculate. Wish we had stayed longer and we would have gotten groceries and had some meals there! Breakfast served in the restaurant which was a short walk. Food and service mediocre but setting and view amazing! The pool is clean with lots of great seating and drink/limited food service. Great place to watch the sunset with its amazing view! As mentioned by others, beach is quite a rocky steep walk downhill but not bad with the right shoes. It is small but has a gorgeous view. Best to pack lunch/drinks if you plan to spend time. Also nice to have hotel shuttle you back up! Finally, you can walk to a lot of great restaurants and 2 particularly good coffee shops/cafes right across the street!

now the NOT SO GOOD: This place would not be for anyone who has mobility issues as you have to walk up and downhill to pool, breakfast and beach - even a bit of a hill to the main street. None of this a problem if you are mobile though. Service and breakfast not very good - would have rather forgone their breakfast and gone to a café across the street or brought food into the suite. My biggest criticism is around the extra fees we were charged on arrival. We were already paying almost $400/night and when we showed up with 2 teens, we were told we had to pay $75 each per night - so an extra $150 per night! Apparently when you book a 3 bedroom suite they assume its for 2 people and not a family so look out! When I tried to challenge this with info from the website they pointed out other contradictory information from other webpages. End result - we paid an extra $450 because there were four of us. I found the staff unaccommodating and unapologetic in this regard. Took a lot of the shine off of our stay!

Room Tip: Make sure they know if you are more than 2 travelers - especially if you book through Expedia. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Los Altos experience! It's always a pleasure to hear from our guests regarding their stay. We're very happy you enjoyed your accommodations and found the staff to be helpful and attentive. We are certainly proud of our staff for maintaining the highest standard in terms of guest services.

With regard to your comment about guests with mobility issues, we would like to say that we strive to accommodate guests in whatever way possible to ensure seamless movement at our resort. From the direct elevator access to the rooms to the shuttle down to the beach, in our experience, the most important thing for guests is to communicate with us, whether before or during their stay so that we can address any need or issue in a timely manner.

And please let us clarify the matter regarding the extra charge. It seems you feel like we misled you in terms of the additional charge and, of course, this is the last impression we wish to leave. When booking online or over the phone, it is important for guests to accurately indicate the number of guests that will be staying in the condo. Although our condos can accommodate up to 6 guests, we open the rooms depending on number of guests staying. For example, if two guests book the apartment, they will have access to the master bedroom. If four guests book, the master bedroom plus a guest room are open. That said, we do not feel it out of left field to charge an additional fee for an additional room used. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and allowing us to clarify the matter to you and future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse and were overwhelmed by the size of the room, the views and generally by the overall resort. The waiter from our first night remembered all of our names and used them regularly throughout our stay. We regularly saw toucans and sloths during our stay - and felt like we were on our own private beach the times we went down to the ocean. Dennis, in reservations, not only helped is book our excursions but personally escorted us on two of them - his tour through the national park was educational and fun! I'd definitely go back again and while we may not need the penthouse, I may still want it for the private jacuzzi with the ocean views!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLB9774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
So wonderful to read just how amazing your Los Altos stay was. We certainly pride ourselves on providing guests with the finest amenities and unparalleled guest services, and we're thrilled that everything worked out to perfection. We certainly hope to see you on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My boyfriend and I traveled to Costa Rica this past January and stayed for part of our trip (4 nights) at Los Altos. The grounds were beautiful and included a restaurant and a relaxing pool area with a small bar. The rooms themselves were huge (more like a condo than hotel) and very well kept. Our favorite part of our stay by far was the excellent staff at Los Altos. They were friendly, helpful, and made our trip SO memorable!!

At the end of our 4 day stay we didn't want to leave!!!!...I would definitely recommend this place to anyone...couples, families, friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We certainly didn't want you guys to leave! Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, and thank you especially for recommending Los Altos. As you wrote, we definitely feel our spacious accommodations are perfect for guests traveling as a couple, families and friends! We're so happy you enjoyed your Los Altos experience, and we certainly look forward to your next visit to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath condo. It was beautiful and super clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were especially accommodating of my vegan daughter. The restaurant and pool are also beautiful. We saw monkeys on the property. Highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
So thrilled to read just how perfectly everything worked out for you and your family. Thank you for recommending Los Altos, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The staff was personable, friendly, available to assist us with our needs and always greeted us with a smile.

We expected regular hotel rooms but were in awe when the elevator doors opened and we walked into a HUGE modern 3 bedroom 2.5 bath apartment.

The hotel is located inside Manuel Antonio National Park so it's surrounded by animals. We did not have to leave the hotel grounds to see animals. Monkeys were on the trees during breakfast, sloth climbing up the tree in the pool area and plenty of birds flying around.

The apartment was very clean and it was nice to have the kitchen cleaned every day after using it.
We used the kitchen quite a bit since we have 2 young children and we didn't want to eat out all the time. The kitchen is well equipped and all we needed to do was walk 10 minutes to the grocery store and buy food.

The hotel has a gorgeous private beach that is used only by the guests of the hotel. A perfect place to chill and relax without plenty of people around you.

We had an amazing vacation. Thank you to all the staff in Los Altos for making this trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIDsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Yes, our accommodations can certainly come as a big surprise to guests expecting ordinary hotel rooms. Our hope is to provide guests with a true home away from home experience, which is why we are especially proud of the spacious accommodations we provide. Your kind words regarding our staff have definitely been passed along. And just to clarify one particular aspect of your review, Los Altos is located only several minutes away from the National Park, but not within the park itself. However, to be compared to the park is a true honor as our hope is to connect guests to the beautiful and dynamic life of Costa Rican nature. Thank you for taking the time to share your Los Altos experience with future guests, and we absolutely hope to see you and your family on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing