We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coco Beach(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Verde Mar(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vela Bar(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Espadilla(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villabosque(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karahe Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Playa Espadilla(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn On The Park(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Faro Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Verde(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
163
142
76
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
142
76
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeysnational parkshort walk to the beachfresh fruitair conditioningcosta ricaac worksbreakfast areawatermelonpublic beachstayed here for nightsfree breakfastmini fridgeroad noisetwo double bedsevery morningwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Costa Rica. My Brother lives in Atenas, but my family took a drive to Manuel Antonio to go to the "must see park". After looking at about 6 hotels, we decided to check this one out. We couldn't be happier that we did. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated, with large beds. The bathroom has a very nice shower area. There are several levels at this hotel, and you feel like you are in a treehouse, Most of the rooms have a very nice balcony to sit out on, the hotel is completely encircled by trees, including mangos and others that hold all the right food to attract monkeys. Upon check in, we already had small capuchon monkeys playing in the trees, and allowed us to get very close to them as they played. Around 5am, we awoke to the loud call of the large black howler monkeys, we all sat on the deck, as well as other visitors, and watched as howlers, and white faced monkeys ate in the trees, the babies got very playful and were swinging and playing all around us on the roof and on the balcony, literally feet from us. The monkeys were around for several hours, so we could enjoy the view while having a free breakfast of fresh fruit, coiffee cake and fresh coffee from the office. There were also several large iguanas in the trees as well. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. When I visit again soon, I will definately stay at this hotel, it is only a short walk to town. If you really don't need a pool, and want to see the monkeys, don't pass this one by.

Room Tip: ask for a room high up with a balcony if possible, to be near the edges of the trees and roof where the babies like to play.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

It's nice to hear all of the wonderful comments about the location, the staff, the rooms and the monkeys! It is so fun to sit on the balcony and watch the monkeys play while enjoying the free breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh coffee or tea, toast and coffeecake. Sounds like you will be back to Costa Rica often so we will definitely see you again. Thank you for choosing us! We really do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and we absolutely loved it, its not as expensive as other places in Manuel, rooms are spacious and very clean. We sat on the porch and almost every afternoon we saw a huge family of squirrel monkeys coming by. Location is awesome, 5 minute walk to the beach, We never rented a car,during the day we walked to the beach, in the evening we took taxis to go to the restaurants, leaving us the option to drink. The hotel booked the Manuel Antonio tour with a guy named Freddy, who was awesome. Breakfast is light but sufficient for a couple of hours. The market is about a 5 minute walk downhill. The park is about 10 minute walk. The beach 2 minute walk.... Great place.

Room Tip: Higher floors...best view of the monkeys
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

So happy you saw the monkeys and glad you enjoyed your stay here at Jungle Beach Hotel. We are definitely in a very convenient location for many things....the beach, the market, restaurants, and the national park. And we can help you arrange your tours for no additional cost. Thank you for staying with us and hope you come back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a great hotel in that it is very close to Manuel Antonio for spending a couple of days really getting to know the park. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are comfy. It is a shame the place doesn't have a pool though the Playa Espadilla is so close. There is a lack of decent restaurants in the area but it is fantastic being able to walk to the park easily. The main downside of the hotel is the breakfast which is very mediocre consisting of dry bread to toast, unfresh fruit and instant coffee and milk. It's a shame as this lets it down. The staff were pretty helpful though and there is a small fridge in the rooms for keeping drinks etc.

Room Tip: I would chose a room looking over the trees so that you can watch the visiting monkeys
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous_31NJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Glad you liked the hotel and the national park. We do try to keep it very clean and friendly. We do not have a restaurant at the moment, so we are unable to offer big hot breakfasts, but we make fresh coffee (not instant) every morning, we have white and wheat bread for toasting, some type of sweet bread, hot tea and we cut fresh fruit every morning, all at no extra charge. We just want to offer our guests a little something to start their day, however we will be experimenting with some other items to see what the response is. There are a number of decent restaurants within walking distance (some are even very good). Please ask us for recommendations. We are also very close to the bus stop for anyone who does not have a car and would like to go a little further away to try other restaurants. There are many excellent restaurants in Manuel Antonio. We are working on plans for a swimming pool in the future and hope you can come back sometime to see the changes we are making!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here and were pretty disappointed. It is a fairly low-end hotel in a good location. We left one night early and stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn 3 hours away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owenfamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We are a small, family owned boutique hotel near the beach and certainly do not wish to compare ourselves with a Hilton hotel in the city. We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Not sure exactly why you were not happy, but we are always open to suggestions and often implement the changes that our clients request. We have had hundreds of guests come through our hotel so far this year who have been very happy with the hotel especially in regard to the service, cleanliness and location. Perhaps is was just not the kind of hotel you were looking for. In any case, we hope you had a nice vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at Jungle Beach Hotel for 2 nights in mid-March 2012 with 3 friends. The room had 2 queen beds, great size bathroom, air conditioner, and in-room safe (awesome!). No bugs got in the room - this was a very pleasant surprise. I was expecting something to fly in somehow!

The concierge/staff were very helpful with booking a tour for us and suggestions for where to eat. Also, we arrived a few hours before check-in time but JBH let us check in early.

We didn't get to see any monkeys or sloths on the grounds, but saw some chickens in the morning!!!

Location: We were able to walk to and from the National Park/public beach from the hotel within a few minutes.

I highly recommend JBH and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulioSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Looks like the monkeys have taken a detour lately, but they will be back. Apparently the chickens and a big giant turkey have been visiting us instead! Not as tropical, but kind of funny. Yes, the beach and national park are very close, as are restaurants, bars and shopping. Thank you for the recommendation and hope you can return again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews