We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2012 and 2013 and we are heading back to Jungle Beach Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Ranked #1 of 17 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“January 2012 and 2013 and we are heading back to Jungle Beach Hotel”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We first discovered this hotel in 2012 and returned in 2013 and I am now making reservations for 2014. I felt totally safe leaving our things in this room while at the beach. The rooms are painted with the most remarkable murals. The bathrooms are perfect. I love sitting out side our room and watching the Howler monkeys in the trees. The rooms are back off the road enough we didn't have to hear the traffic. The breakfast is just enough and the walk into the tourist area or the beach is so enjoyable. I can't wait to get there again. My favorite place in Costa Rica, after 6 vacations.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    129
    71
    11
    7
See reviews for
109
159
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Well over all it was ok, basic continental breakfast with good strawberry Tea Bags.
Rooms are Ok, Funny smell (probably because of the season) but over all was good: went around town hotel hunting and these rooms were fairly good compared to neighbor hotels & the Jungle feeling when you walk out of the room was nice.
Price was perfect until we were 1 hr late for the check out and they charged us half of the full price of the room (didn't see that coming) .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielasuarez208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It is probably one of the closest Hotels to the Beach in Manuel Antonio. The room was air conditioned and they had those big shower heads that simulate rainfall. They serve a continental breakfast outside in the mornings. I walked out of my room one morning to find an Iguana staring at me and Howler monkeys fighting in the trees above.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It seems after reading other reviews, that they have made some improvements. The rooms nice and spacy and are cleaned daily, breakfast had some more options, although still no full continental or anything. The spot is great, because of the monkeys that pass by daily and it is so close to the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Great spot to stay if you don't want to spent to much money on a hotel (we didn't care for pool, computers and other stuff we already have at home)

Room Tip: room on the top floor facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjoenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

My experience at the Jungle Beach Hotel was a mixed bag. It's the second hotel I've tried to Manuel Antonio. I'll start with the positives:
-minutes away from the beach by foot
-close to souvenir shops and walkable distance to restaurants
-great viewing place for monkeys and iguanas
-fairly spacious room and bathroom
-cleaned regularly
-breakfast included
-friendly staff

Negatives:
-expensive for what's offered. It cost about $30 more than the previous hotel I tried in MA but didn't offer a full breakfast or pool.
-no computers for guests to use
-no cell phone reception in this area. Obviously this has more to do with the location. Something to consider if you need to make calls.
-rooms a bit musty

Overall, I felt a bit disappointed. I didn't come to MA to stay in a hotel but for the price, I'd like to see a pool, full breakfast and maybe coffee offered throughout the day to guests. I'll probably check out a different place next time I'm in MA.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryClark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Jungle Beach Hotel from February 20-24. We loved the character of Jungle Beach, the murals and the large room. We saw 3 species of monkeys while sitting on the verandah - squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys. The squirrel monkeys came through quickly one afternoon, a whole troop of them with mothers and babies on their backs. There is a rope over the road to help the monkeys get across and we think that is what they were aiming for. We also heard and saw howler monkeys - one day at least 15 stayed up in the tall trees overhead for the entire day, mostly sleeping but the young ones were more active. I just laid on my back on the ground and watched them for part of the day. So entertaining!

Another morning the white-faced monkeys came by while eating breakfast and created quite a stir. I only saw 2 monkeys in the park and both of these were by the bathroom. Take a walk down to the public beach and head away from Manuel Antonio, there are some large rock formations and a very peaceful area to walk and/or swim in. I was a bit disappointed in the park, I hiked all through it but the beaches near the exit were definitely beautiful and private. However, it's a long walk to get to them.

Great location - would highly recommend Jungle Beach Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here recently, the stay was good overall.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The location of the hotel is excellent and is about 5 minutes walk from the public beach, 10 minutes to restaurants and 15 minutes to the national park. The hotel is one of the last properties on the road away from the beach before the road gets extremely steep and very difficult to walk further.

The rooms are good and clean overall, however there is a strong smell of mould in the rooms as other reviewers have commented on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Property: Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Address: Main Road | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with 12 rooms featuring tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush jungle that surrounds us make our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler monkeys. We offer free buffet-style breakfast, WiFi, private parking with surveillance, 24 hour access to reception, daily room cleaning, and laundry services. All of our rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe box, hot water, bathroom set, and towels. Additionally, the studio room comes with kitchen appliances. A 5 minute walk from our hotel you have restaurants, supermarkets, shops and other recreational areas. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of activities and tours for people of all fitness levels and ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the tropical jungle and the pristine beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing