We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for the price”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found that the the amenities here were nice, but the location is key to Manuel Antonio. Easy to walk down to the park or catch the bus towards Quepos. The room had good AC and a fridge. Breakfast was pretty basic, but to be expected. We did have a little trouble with our shower due to them performing maintenance on the water line.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    126
    70
    10
    6
See reviews for
102
158
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My kids and I loved this hotel! First you are within walking distance to the local beach there (Playa Espadilla) and Manuel Antonio National Park. The beach alone has so many fun things to do! You are also at a beautiful property that is located near the jungle so you get the added bonus of having monkeys come through in the morning and visit! Well they are of course just looking for an easy meal, but it is still a fun sight to watch. There are 3 types of monkeys in Costa Rica, we saw mostly squirrel monkeys one morning but white faced capuchins are also common in that area. Didn't see any Howler Monkeys they are a bit more shy I think. Stayed there in 2012 - late review I could not choose a date before May 2013!

Staff was great and helpful. Rooms were clean, family friendly place, great value and convenient location to get to anywhere you want! Don't skip the beach it's practically right across the street from the hotel- and you can see monkeys down by the beach if you are lucky!
I would easily stay here again if/when I return!

Room Tip: A room at the top level will provide you a better view of the monkeys should they come visit. We lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is clean with great air con (it was 34 degrees!) The breakfast is basic, but the fruit is fresh and lush. But the best bit is how we walked out of our room at breakfast and one morning there were howler monkeys climbing through the trees in front of us and the other mornings there were howlers and then squirrel monkeys. One was on the branch right by my face! Due to the road works the power went off one morning so the toaster didn't work but I had fruit and pastries which was fine! And as always the coffee was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was comfy. You could here people upstairs moving cases etc but in the night the only noise came from the crickets and bugs outside! So it was good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 2 in the courtyard ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I did a ton of research on the Manuel Antonio area hotels before deciding on the Jungle Beach Hotel and I did not regret my choice one bit. As you pass through Quepos on your way toward the park, you quickly realize that you don't want to stay in town... chain link and barbed wire to protect business... lots of folks just kind of "hanging out" on the streets... not a natural, clean or safe vibe. So, you head through and further down the single road that leads into MA and you immediately start seeing small boutique style hotels on either side of you. If you can afford it, you may want to venture up into the hills where most of the "nicer" more expensive hotels are, but if you are on a budget, you just hope that you choose correctly from what is available. I would definitely recommend that you make reservations before your trip to ensure that you get what you want and I can assure you that if you are looking for a friendly, affordable, clean environment that has GREAT access to EVERYTHING Manuel Antonio then this hotel will not disappoint! It is full of character within the grounds and very close to the canopy trail that the capuchins use at breakfast time and dinner. Take a walk directly across the street to the beach and enjoy the beautiful surf, which is calm enough for swimming. On your way back up to the hotel you are certainly sure to see those silly monkeys playing in the trees overhead... super cool! Breakfast is perfect and fresh... coffee anytime you would like... oh, and AC in the room! For the price and excellent location, you cannot go wrong with this small, comfortable hotel. Have fun!!

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same as far as your view and convenience to the office. You will need to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowwowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Sit on your balcony and watch White-faced Capuchin and Red Squirrel monkeys traverse your field of vision (room #11) through the trees on their way to the blue rope road crossing to the beach. Breakfast wasn't terrible, just basic - open air breakfast included cereal, fruit, toast, peanut butter, pound cake, juice and coffee and ready by 6:00 AM. Rooms appropriately painted with murals of beach scenes. Relatively easy walk of ten minutes along road to beach restaurants and shops. Ten minute or less with shortcut to beach. A couple minutes more to walk to MA Nat'l Park's traffic clogged entrance. Staff helped carry bags, watched for our tour and transport vans. AC, TV and WiFi good. Plenty to watch just from your room's balcony. Lots of monkeys plus Variegated Squirrels. Birds audible but not readily visible due to hotel being under and within tree canopy.

Room Tip: As noted we stayed in Rm. #11, a 2nd floor in a very multi level facility. All rooms "up"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afeddersen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wildlife is the main attraction here - so much so that howler monkeys woke us every hour or two and dumped about a gallon of dung on our rental 4x4 LOL. Great value, big room with 2 doubles (#11) for south of $90 with everything but a pool and hot breakfast. Close to beach, nice staff, great location. Needs better breakfast and lacks a pool unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our March 2014 trip to Costa Rica. This place was one of the best places and best deals we had on our trip. Why Stay Here:

Pro:
- Excellent value for that extremely popular part of Costa Rica.
- The room was clean.
- The AC works very well and cools evenly.
- The whole property was shaded by nice rain forest trees which gave it a very nice environment.
- There is a trail across the street leading to a very secluded beach. It's a bit steep but it is totally worth it.
- The breakfast was a bit light but there was good Costa Rican coffee and lots of good tropical fruit.
- The staff was extremely helpful and courteous.
- Our room was decorated with an attractive mural all the way around which had been hand painted and was quite good.

Con:
- No onsite restaurant but they do serve breakfast.
- No swimming pool.

So in conclusion, when I go back, this is where I am going to stay.

Room Tip: Probably best if you have your own transportation because it is a little outside of town, but, for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaunteringGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Property: Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Address: Main Road | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with 12 rooms featuring tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush jungle that surrounds us make our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler monkeys. We offer free buffet-style breakfast, WiFi, private parking with surveillance, 24 hour access to reception, daily room cleaning, and laundry services. All of our rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe box, hot water, bathroom set, and towels. Additionally, the studio room comes with kitchen appliances. A 5 minute walk from our hotel you have restaurants, supermarkets, shops and other recreational areas. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of activities and tours for people of all fitness levels and ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the tropical jungle and the pristine beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing