We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average accommodation, service not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Apartamentos del Backpacker

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Apartamentos del Backpacker
Brisbane
2 reviews
“average accommodation, service not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The mattress looked like it had been bought second-hand from another hotel. There were cockroaches coming out from behind the bed. The windows were just screens and the doors had no screens. There was also construction going on next door.

All this was fine if we had expected very average rooms. But we explained that we weren't comfortable staying there and we'd like our cash refunded that we have just paid. We were told that that wasn't possible, she had already 'run it through' so we couldn't get a refund. We still went somewhere else even if we had to pay twice for that one night's accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MPLS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

This place was def adequate. Private room was pretty big, kitchen was clean (not a lot of utensils, cookware etc) close to super market and short bus ride to Manuel Antonio (50 cents). It is a hostel but not a part one. Breakfast is merely fruit (cut your own), coffee and toast but for the price what can you expect? The wide mouth frog in Quepos is the same price but with a better breakfast. Pool is small, view from top patio is nice (ocean view)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teebz5rubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

The hostel is very well situated, just next to the supermarket, and to the bus stop. The hostel has a good kitchen size , and well clean. Our dorm was ok, just few people can be there, max.6 people, which is nice. It's not a place to make party, but it's easy to meet people and it'squiet by night.
There is a very nice view from the the garden and they have a very big swimming pool.
Breakfast was ok. Not abundant but good (fruit, cookies, toats, juice, coffee, tea ...). During breakfast we saw monkeys and 1 sloths. It's a very nice way to begin a day.
Staff is very efficient they speak at least 4 or 5 languages and are very friendly. They really try to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenwestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We found Los Apartmentos to be adequate. In a location where the accommodations are grossly overpriced, LAdB was reasonable. We stayed in the dorm room which is right on a noisy street. It was so loud that you almost couldn't carry on a conversation in the room if a truck or motorcycle went by. But earplugs made the nights tolerable. The other rooms were better. The view of the ocean is beautiful and we saw some gorgeous birds right outside the window. The pool is clean, but cold. The sheets on the bed were way too small and had to be adjusted several times a night to avoid sleeping on the bare (yucky) mattress. A 2-3 inch cockroach landed on me, in the room. Gross. I disagree that breakfast was adequate. One morning we were there, there was coffee, toast, and a cut-it-yourself pineapple. The next morning, it was make-it-yourself coffee and toast. When we asked for fruit at 8:15, we were told that there had been some, but it was gone. And no, they wouldn't get more. Not good, since breakfast is only 8-9am.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

really cool place! clean fun and really easy to hang out with the other travellers! the staff is really friendly and helpful whatever u need! close to the supermarked and 10 mins by bus from the main beach! i would recommend it and stay there again! HAVE FUN THEN!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FELIXMOR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

This has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. Basilio and Celine are great hosts and by the end of my stay I actually felt I had been staying with friends I already knew. Everything is super clean and tidy and excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrari100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

The staff was very friendly, extremely helpful, and spoke multiple languages. The hostel is conveniently located near restaurants, supermarket, laundromat and a bus stop leading to either Quepos or Manuel Antonio. It is a nice place to socialize with other backpackers. The hostel has a good size kitchen, an outdoor patio and has a locked gate in the evening. Our room had an awesome ceiling fan, which kept us nice and cool. The room windows were able to be opened or closed, but if they were open there were no screens in them. Unfortunately, the refrigerator broken during our stay, there were some electricity problems, a pool was advertised, but it wasn't running yet."Breakfast" was only sliced bread, butter, and jam with coffee and tea every day. Even providing cereal or switching up what to put on the bread would have made a big difference. The rooms could have benefited from thicker drapes for privacy and more hooks to put towels, etc on.
Only one bathroom for up to 8 people was occasionally frustrating. There is no curfew at night, which is nice; however the common room is close to the bedrooms and so were kept up a few nights by people staying up late. Overall, the place has a lot of potential and is run by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Apartamentos del Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Apartamentos del Backpacker

Property: Los Apartamentos del Backpacker
Address: Zona de la Escuela, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Manuel Antonio downtown on the main street (school zone / football field) close to the Supermarket and Liquor Store Super Joseth. Very close from here you will find a bank, drug store, car rental, bars, disco-bars, cafeteria, restaurants, pizzeria, casino and the bus stop is only at 50 mts. The bus will bring you to the beach and to the national park for only $ 0.40 (possibility to go there by walk). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Apartamentos Del Backpacker Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Apartamentos Del Backpacker Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing