We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay, so lucky we found it!”
Review of Jungle Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Villa
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay, so lucky we found it!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

while manuel antonio can get overwhelmingly touristy, the jungle villa is both close enough so that you can be part of the action and secluded enough that if you actually feel like youre in the jungle. The place is extremely animal friendly, and we were lucky enough to be visited by monkeys 3 times during our 1 week stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, and Ad went out of his way to make sure were were comfortable and safe during our entire stay. I sincerely hope I get to come back to manuel antonio and stay At the Jungle villa again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Лиза К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    2
    4
    14
See reviews for
24
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our family stayed there for four nights. This is the second time we visited Costa Rica. I booked this place through airbnb.com and paid it in full (over $110 per night) in advance and was not refundable. It took us over 30min to find this place after we drove (with the exact coordinates on our GPS) there because there is no single sign on the gate. We asked a realtor to locate this place for us.

After check in, Ad took us to the room downstairs. On the way to the room, we were greeted with piles of junk. My 8 year old asked me if we had to stay there. My wife was really upset and accused me why I booked this place. After getting into the room, we smelled the bad odor immediately. The bath rooms were even worse. The towels were torn. Luckily we brought our towels for the beach. So we used our own towels for both indoor and outdoor, never used the towels from the villa. You can see for yourself from the uploaded pictures.

The next day, I checked the property and took some pictures. After seeing the sign (Villa for sale), we know why. Since they are trying to sell property, they don't want to spend a penny and just want to make as much as possible. They do have three pool (two tiny ones and one a little bigger), but my kids refused to swim there since they are too dirty (see photos). During our 4 days there, we didn't see anyone swimming in the pools.

After this unexpected experience, we tried to spend as much time outside this villa (we call it ABANDONED JUNK YARD) as possible. The surrounding national parks and beaches are beautiful and it helped us recover from the initial shock.

I was going to make some suggestions to Ad before I saw the On-Sale sign. If a little more maintenance is done, junk removed and better towels provided, it could be a good place to stay. I am not complaining ants in rooms or mold in the corner because these are expected in a jungle.

On the last day, we did see many monkeys on the property and we consider it a happy ending. I absolutely DO NOT recommend this place to any one unless you want to donate some money for the owner's retirement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureLover2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Every day we asked these guests, like we ask all other guests, whether everything was ok. Robert and his family never had any complaints.
The villa has plenty of towels so just one question had been enough to solve this. Not something you have to wait for till after you leave the villa.

Every guest gets before arrival the website address of our location with aerial pictures, GPS coordinates, Map location and text description how to drive to the villa
from San Jose airport. This is public information and can be found by anyone searching for Jungle Villa location.

Since 1999 we never had any burglary in the villa because we do not have signs!! No other villa in Manuel Antonio can claim this!
But indeed you have to check our location page to find this very privately located villa.....
No other private villa in Manuel Antonio has a 80.000-gallon pool which is cleaned 3 times a day.

Our biggest problem with these guests was the language problem. This family spoke Chinese and only the father and 1 child spoke English very poorly.

It would be very stupid not to maintain a house anymore because it is sold. A well-maintained house sells a lot faster than a non-maintained house!!
And the extra maintenance are easily recovered by a higher selling price.

In short, had the communication with this family been better during their stay, they would have had a much better experience in this unique villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

Cypress, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay here for a few days.we never stay.the rooms smell and the only good thing I could say about it was we had a chance to look at the rooms 1st..and also the owener said he didn't have a dollar to change for his 49.00 a night stay so the price would be an even 50.00.a night.and yes the owner was very rude

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
I can only repeat what guests told me who stayed the past days and 2 more days in the Jungle Villa and who I read this strange review: If you visit Costa Rica for its nature and animals, you will be missing out on a great experience by not staying in the Jungle Villa.
Such a remark has more value for me than the opinion of a few people who only stayed in this beautiful and unique villa for 5 minutes and never stayed here......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just returned from two weeks in Costa Rica, traveling with kids and friends (8 people total). The Jungle Villas was our favorite place. The kids spend every moment we let them in the pools, and the grown-ups enjoyed both swimming and chilling out on the veranda. We made most of our own meals in the open-air kitchen, and when the kids went to sleep we stayed on the veranda and emailed pictures back to our jealous friends.

And then there were the squirrel monkeys! Adorable, endangered, irresistable. They visited nearly every day. There were also sloths, howler monkeys to wake us up in the morning (who needs an alarm?), little lizards and snakes, birds and more birds -- much of what you visit Costa Rica to see, just buzzing around us at every moment.

Ad is a lovely host, always available but never intrusive. We enjoyed every minute at the Villa and are grateful for his hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMaryQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Ad makes his beautiful jungle home a welcoming haven for families, couples, or anyone traveling.
The house has an interesting unique layout that allows for easy mingling or quiet thought. The pools are truly beautiful with 3 levels and a waterfall.
We saw more wildlife in the jungle surrounding the villa than we did while hiking in Manuel Antonio.
Ad, himself, is usually around not bothering anyone but easy to approach. If you ask he can direct to any activity that may interest you. He can tell you where to find hand rolled cigars, a pharmacy with a doctor for a child with swimmers ear, and the best place to get glasses/contacts after you loose them in the surf. A cook an be arranged for you, shopping can be down for you. There is daily maid service and a functional kitchen. Ad will tell you about the 3 grocery stores, 1 for the people that live there and is the least expensive, 1 that is also mostly local but has some nice extras and one that is mainly for tourist and has (at tourist prices) all the comfort foods of home.
The pizza place directly across the street will deliver or you can walk and eat there,the pizza is excellent! El Avion the airplane restaurant is also walking distance, pricey but very good and a must see. We walked to several other place but the there are no sidewalks - be carful

in short every member of our 2 families consistently picked Jungle Villa as the best place we stayed

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Jungle Villa is absolutely gorgeous. The pool is large and was great for the kids in our group. Every view from the hotel is either of jungle or ocean. Monkeys come through the open deck and community kitchen area periodically, which was amazing and fun. The most beautiful place we stayed in Costa Rica. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileymcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This place is horrible! the owner is the rudest most intrusive person I have ever met. I asked prior to booking if he had reliable wifi as My girlfriend and I had to work 2 out of the 6 days. The owner said they have great Internet so we booked. The Internet and the AC didn't work in either our room or our friends room upstairs, so we lost 2 days of work. Also the shower had 5 dirty luffas in it when we checked in. We did not complain or say anything to him. Throughout our trip the owner asked at every chance if we turned off our lights and kept stating how expensive electricity is in Costa Rica, Which got so annoying. There is rust on the lamp and mold on the walls ( I have pics if proof is needed) and we still didn't complain cause we wanted to make the best of our week. On the last night there we started doing laundry and he stormed downstairs drunk yelling and screaming calling us thieves cause we didn't ask him if we can use the machines and repeated over and over pay me now.. Please note the machines were next to our room and we thought we had access and there was no sign stating otherwise. He demanded we pay and insulted us saying he should put a fence around the machine to keep us animals out. Even after we paid the insane fee of $10 for a load of cloths he still came down and took our cloths out of the dryer still wet cause the dryer was on for 30 min. We went home with wet cloths. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay at this place just because of the owner he shows no respect for his guest or staff. He also said to my girlfriend that the best wife is one that cost $40/hour (prostitute). This guy doesn't deserve to live in such a beautiful country. the employees are amazing and very fun to hangout, with they deserve better than an alcoholic owner that produces a hostel environment.
I have uploaded real pics of the place you can judge for your self.
Save you vacation and stay away from this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank momoDMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
As explained very detailed on our website, the beautiful Jungle Villa is located in the tropical part of Costa Rica. During the 7 months rainy season (may thru november) Manuel Antonio gets 12 feet of rain, sometimes 1 inch per hour!

Unlike cities in North America and Europe, the Jungle Villa is not flooded by this large amount of water. The villa is built for this climate. But yes, with 96% humidity in the rainy season you will sometimes see some mold. This is normal in all properties in our area.

Our villa has all-day maid service, not just 1 hour a day. Our maids know exactly where mold will appear and they remove the mold every day. Also, our maids are not offended if you ask them to remove the mold whenever you see it.

Visitors of Costa Rica should be aware they are staying in the country with the highest electricity rates in the World which are increased 20 to 30 percent every year. To force everyone to save as much energy as possible, Costa Rican electricity companies also charge more per KwH if you use more KwH's.

For this reason we have signs in all bedrooms asking to switch off the lights, fans and air-conditioning when leaving the room. It's indeed very annoying for us to see that guests, like this reviewer, have gone to the beach or went on a tour for many hours, and all lights, fans and air-conditioning in their room are still on.

Much to our surprise this reviewer became very angry and upset when we kindly reminded him to respect our house rules and to switch off lights, fans and airco when leaving his room. He became very aggressive and started to shout at our staff and other guests that he found our request very intrusive.

Every day of his entire stay in the Jungle Villa this reviewer worked online for several hours a day. Our staff and other guests can testify this. Since the villa owners bought the villa early 1999, the villa always had the fastest available internet connection in Manuel Antonio. Simply because the villa owners needed 24/7 internet access to monitor their own popular travel websites which are online since early 1995. When internet via satellite became available in Costa Rica, the jungle villa was the first customer. When dedicated DSL connections became available in Manuel Antonio, our villa was again the first customer. For many years the Jungle Villa had 2 or more different internet connections to be sure we always had at least one working internet connection. The longest period the villa had no internet connection at all lasted 2 hours only.

On the last day of this reviewer's stay we were told at 10pm by another guest that our washer and dryer were making noise. We checked and discovered that the reviewer had started to use our washer and dryer without our permission and without any payment. Nowhere we mention on Airbnb that guests can use our washer and dryer. We asked them to switch off the washer and dryer because other guests were sleeping already. We were simply ignored. Then the other guests also asked politely to stop washing and they were ignored too.

Again the reviewer started to shout at our staff and our other guests. He shouted he would write a bad review on Tripadvisor if he could not finish his washing. We didn't want to escalate it and let them finish the washing. They continued washing and drying till after midnight and never paid anything for it. We were simply taken by the brutality and rudeness of these guests. This had never happened to us since we started to rent our villa in 2005.

On the day they left the wife of this reviewer apologized to the staff for the stressful behavior of her husband. She explained he got a burn-out several weeks before and that the burn-out was the reason they went on vacation to Costa Rica. She also apologized to the owner that her husband called him an alcoholic. She told the staff she never saw the owner drinking one drop of alcohol during their entire 6-day stay!
Still the staff and other guests were very relieved when these guests had left. The peace in the unique Jungle Villa had returned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
538 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#35 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#31 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Villa

Property: Jungle Villa
Address: | Pacific Canyon Drive 1, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private rooms in a great villa in Manuel Antonio with ocean and jungle view, visiting monkeys, 3 pools, airconditioning, wifi, cable tv, 4 rooms, 2 staff.Paradise resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio where Ocean, Jungle and Western comfort meet. Truly the Pearl of Manuel Antonio. You love nature, you like to wake up with the sound of the monkeys in the trees around the house and with the smell of fresh coffee. You like to hear the sound of the jungle and its many inhabitants. This is the only villa in Manuel Antonio with 2 full-time staff members in daytime to maintain the villa and pool area and to keep it clean. If you love pure nature, this villa is the perfect place for you. You will never live and sleep closer to Mother Nature than in the great Jungle Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing