We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jungle Villa
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

There is no customer service at this property. The rooms are worn and smell of mildew (more than just being close to the jungle) and many of the fixtures are in disrepair. The mattresses are poor quality and thin. There is no maid service and our request to have a toilet repaired was not addressed.
There are monkeys and monkey poop (sidewalks). The "boys" as the owner refers to them arrive whenever they suspect there is food. At first the monkeys are cute and interesting; but after a few minutes, they can be annoying. A/C is available but at an additional charge.
Best part of the stay was leaving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOB134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
This is the second review of the same 5 persons (3 adults and 2 teenager boys) who already wrote a review below. They stayed 2 nights in the over sized 1050 square feet Jungle Suite which has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and 3 toilets.
As their review title suggests they were tired of travelling.
The jungle villa was their last stay before they returned to Oregon from San Jose Airport.


Unfortunately they had not much time to enjoy the beautiful Jungle Villa.
The first night they arrived late, the second day they went to the park and beach which they also reviewed as terrible, and after just 2 nights they left at 7am for their return flight.
Tired of all impressions in beautiful Costa Rica.


If they had spent more time in Manuel Antonio and the Jungle Villa they would have enjoyed the beauty of this area with many different animals and lush vegetation. The Jungle Villa is a very relaxed place where everything is possible and almost everything allowed.
It is a real pity this group was too tired to see all the beauty and tranquility around them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
20
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I like to leave positive and honest reviews, so I'll start with the positive and honest:
* The owner Ad responded quickly to our request
* only 3 km to Manuel Antonio National Park
* unique, spacious, open-air lobby with lots of space to hang out
* open kitchen in the lobby is great for social cooking
* large, multi-level pool area
* secluded, but easy access to restaurants and attractions
* nice view of the ocean through the jungle
* the long chain of connected rooms in the basement could accommodate a large group of friends together

And now for the just honest part:
* The glass shower had a large triangular hole with exposed broken glass; when I told Ad, he said, "but it has plastic on it," which it didn't. He never did anything to fix or cover the jagged glass.
* Late at night we found one of our toilets wouldn't flush. When I mentioned this in the morning, Ad said I should have said something when we checked in and also, "toilets always need to be adjusted." I said it was the broken chain that needed repair. He said "but it was fixed 4 months ago." He finally relented, saying he'd have it fixed. When we returned after our day's activities, Ad claimed he didn't know about it (or the broken glass). Then when we reminded him we'd mentioned it already, he claimed he couldn't have it fixed because we had taken the key. Only one key? And in fact, our son had been in the room the entire afternoon, so all he had to do was knock.
* Our musty basement rooms had no cross ventilation, so AC was the only way to get fresh air. As advertised, he charged us $10/day extra, then claimed we used it too much. We used it only at night and when my son stayed in to rest - his room had absolutely no windows, making the AC a necessity.
* One of the beds in the basement had metal bars for a base and such a thin, worn foam mattress that you could feel the bars through your back. Ad claimed he'd get another mattress, but did nothing, and then got irate because we stacked a second thin foam mattress from another bed on top to try to make it comfortable.

What we didn't even bother to mention to Ad because he was so unresponsive to our main concerns:
* the towels were thin and worn out, with frayed edges and stains
* the pool water was cloudy and murky – we didn't want to use it
* the musty basement rooms look onto a covered porch used to dry laundry

After all of this, when we returned the key, Ad complained because the small, old plastic tag had broken off (we found it). He was more concerned about that 3 cm tag than the broken glass, toilet, bed, etc.

Ad is leaving Costa Rica and the villa is for sale. Hopefully someone will buy it and turn it back into a restaurant, which is what it was designed for. It'd be an awesome restaurant. For the price, you can definitely find better!

Room Tip: We did not see the room off the lobby/veranda, but the basement rooms were musty and lacked any cros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0undth3W0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
This reviewer stayed with 5 persons (3 adults and 2 teenager boys) in the over sized 1050 square feet Jungle Suite which has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and 3 toilets.


The first day of their 2-day stay they noticed the staff that 1 toilet was not flushing anymore.
We advised the reviewer to use one of the other 2 toilets till the 3rd toilet was repaired.
Unfortunately they did not leave the only keys at the reception as requested but took the keys all day to the beach.
Which did not give us the opportunity to repair the toilet immediately.


We ask all guests in person and by signs to turn off the lights, fans and air conditioning whenever they go to the beach or on a tour.
But this basic house rule was simply ignored by these guests. The air conditioning was running 24/7. Our staff politely asked the reviewer once to support our simple house rules.


Every bathroom has plenty of towels and if there are not enough towels ask any staff member for more towels. The Jungle Villa has 24/7 staff present.


Typical for this reviewer and her family was that whenever 20 or so squirrel monkeys (mono titis) visited the Jungle Villa, they kept playing on their mobile devices.
They hardly noticed the monkeys at all. For all groups who stay in the Jungle Villa any visit by the monkeys is a highlight.
Cameras are pulled and many photos are taken.


After the reviewer returned home from Costa Rica we were informed that our 3 pools were murky, whatever this is.
But other guests stayed in the villa the same days as this reviewer and they used the pools daily several hours a day.


Musty bedrooms is the summit of this review. The rain forest or jungle starts 10 feet from the villa.
Below the villa hundreds of trees produce fresh oxygen which is blown by a soft ocean breeze into the villa's living area and its bedrooms.
Each and every bedroom has sliding windows which can be opened for fresh air.
The jungle has a typical smell, what else can you expect in this environment, but the air in the villa is fresh and a lot healthier than Los Angeles smog.


Since we started to rent out the Jungle Villa as a vacation rental 9 years ago over ten thousand guests stayed in the unique Jungle Villa.
Our Costa Rica staff is already 9 years with us and is very relaxed, very pura vida.
In 9 years they had many different experiences with our guests.
Putting 2 mattresses on top of each other is the least our staff worries about...


We don't claim our villa to be the most luxury vacation rental in Manuel Antonio, but it is definitely one of the most relaxing and
comfortable villas where almost everything is allowed and possible. 60% of our guests are repeat guests who love nature and appreciate the tranquillity
of this beautiful villa hidden in the jungle of Manuel Antonio.



Our 4 staff members try to please all Jungle Villa guests as much as possible.
But this reviewer and her family were impossible to please 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you have the opportunity to stay at Jungle Villa please do so. Ad is a very knowledgeable and friendly landlord and the location is great. 4 of us ladies in our early to mid twenties stayed in the large room and found it very comfortable and peaceful. It's a beautiful and relaxing space. Ad was very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Lauren, it was a real pleasure to host you and your friends. Your group was always optimistic, fun, active and full of humor. Communicating with your group went smooth and perfect. Visit the Jungle Villa whenever you return to Costa Rica. We will stay in contact online. I wish you and the others all the best in your careers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

First I'd like to say that we really enjoyed our stay here. This was our second time to Costa Rica but our first in the Manuel Antonio area. We came for the holidays with our kids ages 23, 22, 19 and 18.
We celebrated two birthdays while here as well as Christmas. We enjoyed the area and the house. It was definitely in the "jungle" and we had so much fun the with monkeys everyday. It really is a nature house so if you are looking for Ritz accomodations it really isn't the place for you. We enjoyed hanging out on the verandas and the pool area. We were walking distance to many restaurants (even though we did a lot of our own cooking) and the sport bar was right across the street. We were over there quite a bit. We used the bus for getting to the beach area which was very close by.
We would go back if we travel this area again...enjoyed being outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

while manuel antonio can get overwhelmingly touristy, the jungle villa is both close enough so that you can be part of the action and secluded enough that if you actually feel like youre in the jungle. The place is extremely animal friendly, and we were lucky enough to be visited by monkeys 3 times during our 1 week stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, and Ad went out of his way to make sure were were comfortable and safe during our entire stay. I sincerely hope I get to come back to manuel antonio and stay At the Jungle villa again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Лиза К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our family stayed there for four nights. This is the second time we visited Costa Rica. I booked this place through airbnb.com and paid it in full (over $110 per night) in advance and was not refundable. It took us over 30min to find this place after we drove (with the exact coordinates on our GPS) there because there is no single sign on the gate. We asked a realtor to locate this place for us.

After check in, Ad took us to the room downstairs. On the way to the room, we were greeted with piles of junk. My 8 year old asked me if we had to stay there. My wife was really upset and accused me why I booked this place. After getting into the room, we smelled the bad odor immediately. The bath rooms were even worse. The towels were torn. Luckily we brought our towels for the beach. So we used our own towels for both indoor and outdoor, never used the towels from the villa. You can see for yourself from the uploaded pictures.

The next day, I checked the property and took some pictures. After seeing the sign (Villa for sale), we know why. Since they are trying to sell property, they don't want to spend a penny and just want to make as much as possible. They do have three pool (two tiny ones and one a little bigger), but my kids refused to swim there since they are too dirty (see photos). During our 4 days there, we didn't see anyone swimming in the pools.

After this unexpected experience, we tried to spend as much time outside this villa (we call it ABANDONED JUNK YARD) as possible. The surrounding national parks and beaches are beautiful and it helped us recover from the initial shock.

I was going to make some suggestions to Ad before I saw the On-Sale sign. If a little more maintenance is done, junk removed and better towels provided, it could be a good place to stay. I am not complaining ants in rooms or mold in the corner because these are expected in a jungle.

On the last day, we did see many monkeys on the property and we consider it a happy ending. I absolutely DO NOT recommend this place to any one unless you want to donate some money for the owner's retirement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureLover2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Every day we asked these guests, like we ask all other guests, whether everything was ok. Robert and his family never had any complaints.
The villa has plenty of towels so just one question had been enough to solve this. Not something you have to wait for till after you leave the villa.

Every guest gets before arrival the website address of our location with aerial pictures, GPS coordinates, Map location and text description how to drive to the villa
from San Jose airport. This is public information and can be found by anyone searching for Jungle Villa location.

Since 1999 we never had any burglary in the villa because we do not have signs!! No other villa in Manuel Antonio can claim this!
But indeed you have to check our location page to find this very privately located villa.....
No other private villa in Manuel Antonio has a 80.000-gallon pool which is cleaned 3 times a day.

Our biggest problem with these guests was the language problem. This family spoke Chinese and only the father and 1 child spoke English very poorly.

It would be very stupid not to maintain a house anymore because it is sold. A well-maintained house sells a lot faster than a non-maintained house!!
And the extra maintenance are easily recovered by a higher selling price.

In short, had the communication with this family been better during their stay, they would have had a much better experience in this unique villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay here for a few days.we never stay.the rooms smell and the only good thing I could say about it was we had a chance to look at the rooms 1st..and also the owener said he didn't have a dollar to change for his 49.00 a night stay so the price would be an even 50.00.a night.and yes the owner was very rude

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
I can only repeat what guests told me who stayed the past days and 2 more days in the Jungle Villa and who I read this strange review: If you visit Costa Rica for its nature and animals, you will be missing out on a great experience by not staying in the Jungle Villa.
Such a remark has more value for me than the opinion of a few people who only stayed in this beautiful and unique villa for 5 minutes and never stayed here......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manuel Antonio National Park
0.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
#6 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MyCasa's B&B
MyCasa's B&B
#3 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Q' Tuanis
Hostel Q' Tuanis
#9 of 26 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Flor Blanca
Hotel Flor Blanca
#4 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Villa

Property: Jungle Villa
Address: | Pacific Canyon Drive 1, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private rooms in a great villa in Manuel Antonio with ocean and jungle view, visiting monkeys, 3 pools, airconditioning, wifi, cable tv, 4 rooms, 2 staff.Paradise resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio where Ocean, Jungle and Western comfort meet. Truly the Pearl of Manuel Antonio. You love nature, you like to wake up with the sound of the monkeys in the trees around the house and with the smell of fresh coffee. You like to hear the sound of the jungle and its many inhabitants. This is the only villa in Manuel Antonio with 2 full-time staff members in daytime to maintain the villa and pool area and to keep it clean. If you love pure nature, this villa is the perfect place for you. You will never live and sleep closer to Mother Nature than in the great Jungle Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing