We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zip line fearlessly upside down if you choose!”

MidWorld Costa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Just 20 minutes from Quepos nestled in over 1,000 acres of river front rainforest land, MidWorld offers: Costa Rica's longest Superman line, measuring in at 1.055 Kilometers! Canopy Tour - includes 9 lines and 14 platforms with breathtaking forest views, 2 rappel lines and a treetop suspension bridge. Spider Free Fall--Manuel Antonio's only guided free fall system. ATV tour - area's only tour with fully-automatic ATV's. Enjoy MidWorld's spectacular scenery without the worry of shifting gears. At 330-350 ccs, we also boast the areas most powerful machines.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Zip line fearlessly upside down if you choose!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our first time in Costa Rica but not our first time to the zip line! This tour company is amazing and private. Situated on the dormer banana plantations of the Unite Fruit Co. That is now a palm oil plantation. The tiny town of Cerros is right in the middle where workers mostly from Nicaragua live and work. The park in in the dense canopy of the forest. You zip off 10 lines with chances to see monkeys, tiger ants, leaf cutter ants, butterflies and wonderful flora and fauna. Our tour guide Luis was wonderful and kept all 11 of us safe happy and entertained not only with knowledge of the area but of himself as well. Our meal was a traditional casados of sea bass rice, plantains veggies and slaw. I would does this trip again and explore the rives and waterfalls.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMEBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    70
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Canopy Ziplining Tour”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Get an adrenaline rush with 10 ziplines and an amazing Costa Rican meal with chicken, rice, beans, salad, and fried plantains afterwards.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzieintheoldpueblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, NH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An easy introduction to zip lining”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I am not much of an outdoorsman, but the staff at MidWorld Costa Rica made it an easy and painless first time zip-lining. As with all my excursions in the Manuel Antonio area, I found the guides to be very friendly and informative. The tour is formally called a "Canopy Tour" and it takes about 45 minutes to get there from Quepos (you go in their van.) The ride is interesting after you get off the main road. You drive through a date palm plantation, a town comprised of plantation workers, and then a teak farm. There is a pleasant, well appointed lodge at the base of the canopy tour where they provide a nice lunch after the activities. The equipment is high quality and well maintained. Once you are hooked up to the line, there is not much you need to know - they cover it all before going up.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daktuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mid-World delivers the thrills in a beautiful environment with deliberate attention to safety”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Mid-World zipline and superman combo was a highlight of our stay in Manuel Antonio. The whole experience from our pick up and drive to the compound to the delicious lunch at the end was well worth the cost. Mid-World boasts attention to safety and we would definitely agree. The double zip lines, heavy duty system of reinforcement at each platform, and well-secured harnesses made us totally relax and enjoy the ride. The ten zip line rides were very exciting, but the superman experience was the big thrill. You are strapped in a prone position like a bird and are really unaware of being harnessed, unlike the regular zip line experience. You really feel like a bird soaring over the forest. Holding arms out like a bird may slow you down a bit and that would be a shame since the fun is flying like superman...faster than a speeding bullet! Hold your arms back by your side and let yourself go. You won't regret it. The only regret is not being able to do it again. The 45 seconds goes by so fast! We took our adult children on this tour, but in our group was a family with a twelve and thirteen year old. They loved the experience too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great Fun, Great Staff...Nuff Said!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My Wife and I just returned from Costa Rica and as we missed ziplining last time we were there it was a must this time! Just happened upon MidWorld's headquarters in Quepos and was greeted with a friendly sales team. The morning of our expedition we were met by Luis who was a wonderful guy. Luis was informative on the way through the Palm plantation and made sure that everyone was engaged from beginning to end. Luis was joined by Freddie a younger guy who like Luis was an experienced zipliner which added to the safety of the tour. The views while zipping were amazing, especially the 350 meter one. The best part was the automatic brake which enables you to experience the line longer and not have to worry about your braking abilities. With the double line, double hook in, and automatic break this must be one of the safest tours around.
After 2 hours of ziplining MidWorld treated us to a wonderful casado which was much more than we expected from the "light lunch" that was advertised. All around this was a fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone wanting to zipline in Costa Rica.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MidWorld Costa Rica also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to MidWorld Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing