We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hostel with the worst mattresses I've seen in 3 years or backpacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Faro Beach Hostel
Ranked #16 of 20 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

National Park Backpackers has a nice location, right next to the entrance of the park (though the trade off is that you're further from The beach and supermarket and "town"), but unfortunately that's where the compliments end. The real deal breaker was the mattresses, which are by far the worst I have encountered in 3 years of backpacking in some of the cheapest hostels. I didn't believe the reviews myself, I assumed people were being picky because I personally don't mind foam mattresses. Wow. I think someone has had to TRY to make these mattresses so bad. You could feel evey uneven an gapping board below you, it was miserable. The horrible pillows are easy to deal with but I woke up with such a sore back from the mattresses it made hiking in the national park miserable. And I don't have back problems! It was literally that the mattresses are SO bad. Your sleep will be distrupted further by the fact that you can hear your neighbors Ever whisper, Every word of their conversation like you were there. I guess the walls between the privates are paper thin, i was shocked how well i could hear people a few Doors down. The dorm walls dont even reach the ceiling so theyre just as Bad or worse. The common area is a nice place to meet people but unfortunately not well maintained. There were dirty dishes sitting in the sink for at least 2 days (I checked out after 1 but came back to get my food out of the kitchen). The nightly movie screenings are a good idea but poorly run. For $30 for a private there are much, much better deals to be had. Skip this one, your back and goodnights sleep will thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

The management and staff here at NPBP are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with her stay at our Hostel. However, for the sake of TripAdvisor readers, we feel compelled to reply.
If this particular guest had simply told us about her situation during her stay we would have done everything possible to ensure her stay to be more pleasant…
Allow me to please address each of the points by the guest’s complaints:

Our location: Michelle pointed out very well our great location near the National Park, but I would like also to clarify that we actually are in a walkable distance to the supermarket and beach (about 250mts away only). And I guess most of tourists would rather to be closer to the National Park and its beaches than the town.

Mattresses: We actually have doubled up some of our mattresses and already are going to buy 21 new mattresses so this problem will be hopefully solved very soon. We indeed are very sorry that you had not told us about this, so we could move you to other room with better conditions.

Our walls: Michelle I see that even you just booked one night in a private room, you had the time to look at our dorms… Being the manager for about 8 months ago, I had not heard this before, but I definitely going to check this with our maintenance department and look for a solution.

Our common area and nightly movie: Thank you very much for pointing out that our common area is really nice and the nightly movie is a great idea. Our housekeeping ladies always clean this area all mornings and before they leave at 3pm again, we have signs were clearly says that every guest has to wash their dishes (as every hostel) but a few of them don´t do it, anyway we´ll be taking more care about this from now on.

We take all reviews here on Tripadvisor seriously and strive every day to consider the content each review and make any necessary changes.
For those of you considering a visit to our Hostel, if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that you inform us while you are in the Hostel, as we are more than happy to accommodate you in any way that we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was relaxing & fun. The hostel is great. Nice rooms & beautiful clean pool right outside the door. Food is yummy & reasonably priced. The National Park is only a few yards away & was stunning with loads of animals & butterflies, with beautiful beaches. Every night they play a movie outside in a giant screen. The staff were great & so friendly. I can highly recommend this hostel as a must when visiting Costa Rica!! Would love to go back!!! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Hello Lottipop!
What a brilliant review you have written... We all the staff at NPBP are very happy that you had enjoyed in the most beatiful National Park in Costa Rica which is just 100mts away from us.
A great thanks for recommending our hostel to everybody and we would love also to see you again someday!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is a nice, simple hostel! We stayed in a private room, which was basic (an ok bed, and a little storage space) but clean. The site though is really nice: a pool, a kitchen if you want to cook your own food, and movies at night outside! Would be nice to have a better wifi and more fridges, but it wasn't a problem at all! It is also right next door from the national park and there are many restaurants for all price range in Manuel Antonio, walking distance from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megou_quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thanks to our recent friend from Quebec for such a nice review on this forum.
We are actually improving our wifi connection and our fridge although it´s really big we are considering to put more when we have more people staying.
Welcome back anytime to paradise where our staff will be happy to host you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is an excellent hostel! Super great atmosphere, nice set-up, clean, and the movies at night on the projector was an definite plus. It's just minutes away from the National Park, which is so beautiful- worth spending an afternoon in. As a side note, Manuel Antonio beach was probably the most beautiful beach I've been too.. rainforest meets the ocean with monkeys near by! The restaurant food is good, and there is also a kitchen to do your own cooking too. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Regina,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hostel on this TripAdvisor forum... Our location is just perfect being just some steps away from the georgeous National Park and its nice beaches. Thanks also for pointing out our cleanliness and our different movie played every night by our pool.
You are welcome back anytime.
Diego Elizondo / Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I volunteered with a friend in San Jose, Costa Rica at an orphanage. One weekend we wanted to get away, and a travel guide told us to go to Manuel Antonio and that the best place to stay on a budget was backpackers. Once we finally found it off of the bus (we had to ask some people because we had no idea where we were...) it was awesome. There were a few restaurants and it was only a five minute walk to the beach. Also, it was right next to the national park, which has the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. There was also a restaurant that served breakfast (eggs, rice & beans, a huge fruit plate, and coffee) for super cheap, I wanna say like a dollar? The location itself makes me give backpackers at least 3 stars, but the fact that they had a projection screen playing movies at night, a little food area, and a pool was definitely more than I had expected. I am so glad we chose to go there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meaghann374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

The entire family of NPBP is certainly thrilled with your review here Meaghan! It´s wonderful to know that we fullfill with your expectations. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with others here on this TripAdvisor forum. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Diego Elizondo / Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place was cheap, and pretty clean for a hostel. They sold beer and played movies on a large projector. The people were nice, and the place seemed safe. good place to crash if you want to surf Manuel Antonio, or peep the park. I would go back...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanodeano32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you very much to our recent friend from New Jersey!
Pointing out some of our facilities as: the different movie played every night in the projector, our very friendly staff, the safety in our property and the proximity to the beatiful national park is very much appreciated.
We certainly hope to have you as our guest one more time.
Warm regards,
Diego Elizondo / Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

The staff was very nice and pleasant including the other guests. The food was good and economical giving us no reason to eat anywhere else. The location was very convinient having stores, restaurants, the national park and even the beach very close.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khalidkure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Khalidkure!
We all the staff are truly thrilled that your experience at National Park BackPackers was so wonderful... Thanks for taking notice of our restaurant which offers great food, and indeed the cheapest on the area.
The entire staff of NPBP really enjoyed being able to serve you during your stay, and you say one really good thig for people staying here: we are just some steps away from the amazing Manuel Antonio National Park, beaches, grocery stores, bank, etc.
You are welcome back anytime at Paradise!
Sincerely,
Diego Elizondo
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parador Resort and Spa
Parador Resort and Spa
#10 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
2,505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,604 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park, 300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Hotel Class:1.5 star — El Faro Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing